We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“''Best Hotel Me & My Girlfriend Has Ever Stayed In''” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Southend

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“''Best Hotel Me & My Girlfriend Has Ever Stayed In''”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Me and My Girlfriend have stayed In loads of Hotels and Guest Houses, We reckon this place is the best we have ever stayed In. We booked online which was so easy to do and check In was quick and easy. The staff here are very friendly and go out of the way to make you feel welcome, they are chatty and very pleasant. We stayed In room 214, Our Bedroom was so lovely, our bed was massive and the room was very clean and stylish, the bathroom was gorgeous with nice lighting. The whole hotel was modern and stylish, very clean. This place is flawless...the bar with the airport runway views are breath taking, also the hotel is very soundproof you can't here a thing. We had a wonderful stay here, I'd love to stay here again In the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernExplorerHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We strive to be the best hotel in the area, so your wonderful comments are a great reflection of the excellent guest experiences we aim to deliver.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    237
    70
    33
    20
See reviews for
134
226
32
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed in this hotel Saturday 10th of August and what a extremely wonderful experience. I had booked two room to be interconnecting and this was guaranteed unlike some other Holiday Inn hotels which is subject to availability. The first class service from check in was remarkable, the front desk guys Naz and Mina where really informative and helpful and would like to thank them for there help.

I also had Dinner and Breakfast in the hotel and Antonie a french waiter was remarkable as well as Bobbi who couldn't do enough to help us and would like to thank Rohit. Everybody was very welcoming to my family and myself. I totally felt at ease in the rooftop restaurant which was decorated to a really high standard.

The room was really clean, modern and fresh and the views of the airport made my children even more happy but for me it was even better with the sound proofing which didn't let any noise in from the airport. The kids loved the views of the airplanes and helicopters landing and taking off.

The hotel was about 5 minutes by car from the beach and what a magnificent atmosphere.

Room Tip: Airport view if you have kids they will love the planes and helicopters taking off and landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alshameri_Taiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We will ensure your comments are shared with the team.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel was contemporary and tidy. The room was a decent size and was clean and modern. The ensuite was well appointed with a good, powerful shower and a large bath. Our room was at the front, overlooking the car park; not the most inspiring view but to be expected considering the location. The hotel is literally yards from Southend Airport (the restaurant actually overlooks the runway) and yet we never heard a plane land or take off for the whole weekend which was impressive. It is also close to the train station which will take you into town within minutes, should you wish to go.

We ate at the restaurant on one night; I had cheese soufflé, steak and ale pie and pana cotta washed down with the house red and they were all excellent. Our waitress was attentive and very friendly (I have forgotten her name but she was about 8 months pregnant).

I did have a couple of criticisms of the hotel; we had to pay £5 a day for the parking which I thought could have been included in the fairly substantial room rate (it's not like its a city centre location). Also, we ordered room service late one night; when it arrived, I asked for the bill to be charged to our room which was agreed by the staff member. However, some time later (as I said it was already late) we received a phone call which woke our baby, saying that our food could not be charged to our room and needed to be paid in cash, followed by a knock at the door to collect it. Firstly, I'm not sure what would have happened if we hadn't had the cash?? And secondly, surely it could have waited until the morning??

Otherwise, our stay was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Smith_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our friendly service and your room. I am sorry to hear that the room service experience was not done efficiently and that your party was woken up. We will of course ensure that this is looked into. With regards to the parking, it is very common for Airport hotels to charge now and this also helps ensure that spaces are reserved for guests only.
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The Food was good, The service was very hit and miss, we had to ask for several items more than once, I would not recommend this resturant to any of my friends. For such a nice venue, its a pity, the resturant cant provide the service. Ive had better service at the local Cavery.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I'm sorry the experience failed to meet your expectations and our usual standards and that you had a lengthy wait at times, we want to improve in the service that we offer so we will reflect on your comments. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Southend is not one of the great holiday destinations of the world, and Southend airport not one of the great travel hubs of the UK. So why somebody built a hotel this good here I don't know, but they did. The rooms are awesome both in terms of space & décor, the staff are wonderful and even if you're not using the airport (which is literally a stone's throw away) or the Liverpool St rail line (bring 2 stones) the A127 is close.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 401. It's directly under the bar upstairs & you hear servers walking bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed over one night as we had a wedding nearby and the hotel just about did the job fine. The bed was very soft but I liked that. Very clean room with all freeview channels. However, when we got to breakfast there was one waitress running back and forth topping up all the hot items but they were being topped up by such small amount, by the time she returned with the next one the previous had run out. I did feel sorry for her, as there should have been more than one person doing this. The pastries were very hard/stale and the coffee was horrendous, the worst I have ever had, it poured out in a slightly thick texture. I am convinced it was made with poor instant granules in a huge pot with the wrong amount of water. In a hotel it should always be filter coffee. The final outrage is that normally I believe that guests have to pay for parking. This I think is disgusting and never should be allowed especially if you are paying these sorts of prices to stay over night. As I said in the title, we had a reduction as part of a wedding party but if I had paid full price I would have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and amenities. We are always striving to provide the best service, however sometimes if all guests come at once to breakfast it is not possible to manage the portions sizes as we offer a help yourself buffet. The coffee provided is freshly brewed Lavazza Filter coffee, so I apologise this was not to your liking, however we will review the coffee the process. With regards to the parking, it is very common for Airport hotels to charge now and this also helps ensure that spaces are reserved for guests only.
We hope to have you back as a guest again in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Side
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

A spanking new hotel right on the airport at Southend...
Service was excellent from start to finish, the breakfast was absolutely first class as was the dining lounge with panoramic views of the great little airport.
There was a pleasant bar to have an evening drink in and the room really was spotless. Shower was very good and bathroom generally very well appointed.
The bedlinen was spot-on, and all in all absolutely no complaints, just compliments, well done Holiday Inn

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the airport if you like planes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabberjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#2 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Property: Holiday Inn Southend
Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southend 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing