We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and two sons stayed here for one night as we were visiting the funfair at the sea front.
Overall it was a lovely stay the hotel is quite stunning and the 1935 roof top bar is impressive, we had a nice view from our room to the airport and runways which our 4 year old found extremely exciting! It was surprisingly quiet too.
The room was compact and nicely decorated and comfortable, my only issue was there was a lot of dust but apart from that it was good.
Breakfast was ok, not as much choice compared to other Holiday Inns we have stayed in, my only grumble is that the sausages were full of gristle and I have to say were the worst sausages I have ever had in my life!!!
Would we stay in this hotel again?? probably :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the airport view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We strive to be the best hotel in the area, so your wonderful comments are a great reflection of the excellent guest experiences we aim to deliver. I will pass on your comments to Housekeeping about the dust and to the Kitchen about the sausages so we can address these issues ASAP.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Everything about this hotel is perfect. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the rooms are of excellient quality and the food is amazing. It is also in a very good location for Southend and is only a 10 minute drive to the front. I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Worst Holiday Inn stay in over 20 years ! I've used Holiday Inns around the UK and the world for over 20 yrs and I have to say my 2 night stay here over the Bank Holiday is the worst ever !
Arrived Saturday to be greeted with the Restaurant being out of action due to the weather and only a reduced food offer was available, reduced was an understatement, so we elected to have sum room service, the food was minimal, only just warm and we waited an hour for the privilege.
Breakfast in the overcrowded, understaffed restaurant wasn't much better, our order for tea and coffee arriving long after we had finished the food and after 2 reminders.
To get out of the, car park is an adventure in itself, the barriers need a fortnights notice to work, and god forbid if you loose a ticket ! bizarrely the car park is run by the Airport so the hotel have no means of getting you out the place without begging the airport and exchanging £5 !!! Whilst you are blissfully left stranded whilst the transaction takes place.
Breakfast this morning was equally an ordeal, not so busy so we thought great ! Then it started, hot buffet had nothing on it , we waited and waited , a simple coffee and lemon tea order was delivered as tea an tea. After playing ' hunt the waiter' they returned with the order and promptly elected tp upturn a mug of hot tea all over my wife !! At that point we left the Restaurant in disgust.
Feeling we had reasonable grounds to complain I went to front desk, only to be kept the best part of an hour to see the duty manager, who , at best was unhelpful and unwilling to acknowledge they had a problem, and after asking him 8 times for the General Managers number and being refused, saying he was on holiday and only contactable in extreme circumstances.
What was interesting was that 3 of the parties checking out at that time all had had cause to complain ! What does that tell you !,

At that point we left, we left fully intending to take the matter up with the relevancy owners later.

Yes it's new , but the staff quality and customer care just isn't there, quite frankly they don't care !

A special Bank Holiday experience thoroughly ruined ! It's the worst Holiday Inn experience we have ever had

Room Tip: We had 301, supposed to an Exec room, not cheap, Had to repair the toilet, wouldn't fill !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I understand that you have raised your concerns with our Duty Manager on site at the time of your stay and also via email direct to the hotel. As you have been advised, our General Manager, Steve Brazil will contact you directly once he has returned from annual leave.
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed 22/08/13
The Hotel is very modern, on arrival the guy on reception is telling you so much infomation you just can not take it all in.
Our room was very nice but it was booked as a family room and the put you up bed was not made or bed linen or towels for our daughter so we had to ask!
We was on the third floor and the whole time we stayed there was empty glass bottles outside various rooms surely the guy who made up our put you up bed would of seen these!
If you arive in the breakfast at a busy time dont bother.We was put on a table right in the middle of everything, we was knocked pushed and had peoples rear ends pushing against us as they decided to have a chat.
The bacon and hash brown was cold,black pudding hard,Sausage disgusting,Scrambled egg was a watery mess,The Baked beans was good though.
If anyone is thinking of staying at this hotel have a look behind the houses oposisite as im sure you could park there free instead of having to pay the five pound parking charge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I'm sorry the experience failed to meet your expectations with regards to the breakfast . We want to improve in the service that we offer and are looking at the breakfast standards and have now issued a schedule on display of the busier times at breakfast. With regards to the parking, it is very common for Airport hotels to charge now and this also helps ensure that spaces are reserved for guests only. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The food is very variable. One chef serves excellent food. The others are poor..

Likewise the service is very variable.

Having cleaned ask you to move your feet as you eat breakfast is the worse experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I'm sorry the experience failed to meet your expectations and our usual standards. The Housekeeping team have been spoken to, so I apologise that your breakfast was interrupted by our staff.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here 16th August to 20 th August ,a couple days break coming from Ireland ,couldn't believe how close hotel was to southend airport ,on arrival the staff at reception couldn't have been any nicer to us , and so helpful , we had a lovely room 235 on 2nd floor and your looking over the airport ,which was fabulous ,room was cleaned every day to perfection , food menu is very good , the bar is small but nice , breakfast is only 9,99cheaper is booked in advance , and 13.95 if u forgot to like us , on our last day out flight wasn't till afternoon ,and they kindly offered extra hour in the room , southend is a beautiful town ,and having a hotel like this is a credit to it ,it's just 10 mins on bus into the shops , and bus stop is right opposite hotel ,we will definitely return ,

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kehoewexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We strive to be the best hotel in the area, so your wonderful comments are a great reflection of the excellent guest experiences we aim to deliver.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed one night in a superior room. The room was spotless with a huge bathroom and oversized bath tub which was very welcoming. The rooms are soundproof, so you get a great view of the airport runway but with none of the noise you might expect. As we were travelling as part of a large group, we had reserved the sectioned off dining area in the main restaurant for breakfast. When we arrived at breakfast this had been forgotten, but it was quickly rectified and places were laid up. The cooked breakfast was very good, and there seemed to be a variety of other options too.
Theresa on reservations was excellent, and dealt with our bookings efficiently. My only real gripe is that other members of our party had trouble booking as part of our block booking when they spoke to other members of the reservations team - and that making phone bookings are a bit of a pain as they can only be made during office hours Mon-Fri, which I thought was a bit odd for such a big chain hotel.
Nevertheless, if I had need to stay in the area again I would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank cheekybabymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We strive to be the best hotel in the area, so your comments on the block booking will be reviewed for the future.
We hope to have you back as a guest in the future.
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,254 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
653 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
321 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £62 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing