We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We attended a wedding at this hotel and were so impressed with the quality of the rooms, the food was lovely and the staff could not do enough for you, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would not hesitate to return.

Nigel and Kelly.....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We strive to be the best hotel in the area, so your kind comments are a great reflection of the excellent guest experiences we aim to deliver. We hope to have you back again soon,
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

stayed here on a reward points night last night , whilst hitting southend casino with friends (!) , Hotel is great and the rooms are superb .. but service not consistent throughout the hotel , poor bar staff on the fifth floor and delayed check in as the BBC had stayed the night before and all checked out late .

Seems like a big wedding venue which meant for us that the downstairs lobby bar was closed off .

would stay again , if the price was right .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brasero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and your room. I am sorry to hear that your bar service experience was not done efficiently and that you had a delayed check in due to potentially late check outs. We will of course ensure that this is looked into. The downstairs bar is only open to private functions.
Kind regards
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I am a regular user of Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express

The hotel is Southend, located at the airport is far better then any other I have stayed at. I know this is a new generation hotel but the rest of the group now have a lot to live up to.

The facilities in the room were excellent including a large LCD TV, The lighting in the room was very well designed, bathroom has a two head shower system and full size bath.

I did not use the restaurant in the evening, but had breakfast the service was excellent with eggs cooked to perfection on order.

I would not hesitate to stay at this location again

Room Tip: Room 205 was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We strive to be the best hotel in the area, so your kind comments are a great reflection of the excellent guest experiences we aim to deliver. We hope to have you back again soon,
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Used hotel on Saturday 21st September for 1 night stay prior to early morning flight the following morning. The £129 overnight rate plus 8 days parking was reasonable value.
On arrival, the hotel car park was full and we were forced to park in the overspill area which was still secure and proved to be so during our week away.
The early morning walk to the terminal was poorly lit and a bit off putting. No dropped kerb to facilitate the wheeling of suitcases and the whole experience did not hang together that well. That said, the hotel was modern, clean and the staff on reception both knowledgable and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments about the hotel and staff. We hope to have you back again soon,
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn at the start of our first trip from Southend Airport due to an early morning check-in and my dislike of circumventing the M25 with a deadline....

The whole experience was extremely easy and a relaxing start to our week away. A Stay&Park package made financial sense to add to the ease of access offered by the close proximity of hotel to terminal.

We did not sample the restaurant as all we wanted was a snack - BIG mistake to visit the McDonalds next door - truly awful.....

Room Tip: Plan to take any meals in the hotel or go further afield......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We strive to be the best hotel in the area, so your kind comments are a great reflection of the excellent guest experiences we aim to deliver. We hope to have you back again soon,
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed Saturday and Sunday night to attend a family wedding nearby. From the moment we walked into the hotel we were very impressed with the décor and cleanliness. All the staff that we came into contact with were very pleasant and professional. Our room on the second was very smart and spotlessly clean, with a view of the airport. Although the aircraft were quite close at times we were not disturbed by noise at all. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the rooftop bar with a drink watching the comings and goings on the runway. Breakfast was also served on this floor, with lots of choice including a very good quality cooked breakfast with freshly cooked eggs if desired. Although the restaurant was busy when we were there, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. If we can find another excuse to visit Southend we would definitely stay at the Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayledales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a good stay, and greatly appreciate all of your kind comments. We strive to be the best hotel in the area, so your kind comments are a great reflection of the excellent guest experiences we aim to deliver. We hope to have you back again soon,
Kind regards,
Vicky Graves
HR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after a late flight from Venice. Hotel only a 3 minute walk from Southend Airport and railway station. Very friendly man on reception gave me lots of information. We was in room 234 and it was very spacious with a lovely comfortable king side bed. However, in the bathroom there was only two towels and one of them had lipstick on so the room could not have been checked beforehand. I called reception and there were clean towels delivered within 2 minutes. Lovely bar on 5th floor with stunning views over Southend Airport. Friendly bar staff too. The restaurant is just behind the bar where we had breakfast the following morning. Oh dear. They had a good selection but unfortunately the entire breakfast was cold. The only thing hot was the toast which you did yourself in a 19th century style toaster which seemed to take for ever. The tea complemented the food as that was cold too. You have a few problems to sort out there, don't you? It is a lovely hotel but let down by the problems I have described.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spacemonkey1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. I'm sorry your breakfast experience failed to meet your expectations. We want to improve in the service that we offer so we will reflect on your comments made. Thank you for your other kind comments, I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future,
Kind regards
Rohit Singh
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,279 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
667 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,740 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £53 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing