We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The breakfast was a disgrace to the brand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I have stayed in many Holiday Inns. I have written good reviews about them, and generally this one wasn't too bad either, except we had paid around £90 for bed and breakfast and a nights car parking, and only the car parking didn't have a major problem.
Check-in was smooth and amiable, the hotel and the room was clean. We had booked a double room for 2 adults and found the sofa bed had been made up for some reason so that had to be dismantled before we had somewhere to sit. As a sofa it was fine, as a bed there was no support to the mattress. The double bed was no better. The mattress wasn't just soft, it had given way. It needs throwing out. That's the one in room 311 if anyone in the management wants to know.
It was not a good nights sleep, I finally managed it by sleeping with the "firm" pillows filling the hollow in the mattress.
In the morning we looked forward to breakfast. The restaurant has great views and we were warmly greeted by a young Portugese waiter called Fabio who explained that because of the number of guests in the hotel breakfast would be cooked to order. This is a hotel guests dream breakfast - cooked fresh for you by the chef. The bacon was dried out and overcooked on one side but almost raw on the other. The black pudding had only been cooked on one side, the tomato was burnt on the cut surface and raw beneath the skin, the sausages overcooked on top and undercooked underneath. The mushrooms were so greasy that as they cooled a translucent glaze of congealed fat stuck them to the plate. The hash browns were perfect but my poached egg was solid and my companions "fried egg, sunny side up" was raw beneath a wafer thin layer of cooked white. He sent it back and got one easy over instead, complete with burnt edges.
If you are thinking of having a cold breakfast instead look at the state of the breakfast bar. The cheese is curling at the edges, as are the slices of sausage - perhaps that why they are labelled as cheese. The compote was a slush floating in its own defrost water.
One person in kitchen uniform did make a brief appearance to look at the food. I expected the Big Body Squad to be filming it.
We were asked at the desk if we had enjoyed the stay, and we answered that we did not. The staff took our details because there was no manager available. They even apologised for the £5 car parking fee saying Holiday Inn didn't own the car park. Perhaps thats why there was nothing wrong with it.
The advertised room rate, with parking, and wi-fi will cost someone nearly £200 a night. That is a disgrace.

Room Tip: The mattress is 311 last night was dreadful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vic9921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for leaving a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and would like to apologise for the shortcomings you experienced.

We have received a few comments about mattresses being soft and have met with the bed manufacturer last week. Following our investigation we have learned that in all bar one comment about the bed the divan is not firm enough and this will be rectified soon and in one case the mattress had failed and a replacement is being sent. The sofa beds are there for family rooms and designed for children up to the age of 13.

I have discussed the comments and photos about breakfast with the Head Chef and he to would like to pass on his apology for the quality of the breakfast served. This is not our usual standard - indeed you can read just a few reviews recently complimenting our breakfast. We will work with the kitchen team to improve the consistency of our offering.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Firstly, a great big thank you to everyone involved with our stay.
Holly was a star! Sorted the lot and then welcomed us with a free bottle of wine for Lynne's birthday.
Executive room was superb and silly bits worked, thanks
Birthday table was laid and staff never stopped fussing, the birthday cake was fantastic.
Restaurant deserves large thank you!!
Cool afternoon with cocktails and rest before the big bash.
Champagne flowing at reception for Ball, meal was fine and company great on table.
Dance floor and disco room was good fun, DJ worked well and everybody danced and sang!
A New year well and truly enjoyed.
Would recommend to all
Thanks again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for leaving a review regarding your New Years Eve stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your birthday and had a great new year. We hope to see you again next year.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Spent a few days in London flew back to Jersey from Southend spent the night at Holiday Inn, what an amazing hotel. great location next to airport and train station, 1 hour to liverpool street .Got an amazing deal on line direct with holiday inn ,56 pounds for myself and my daughter, paid £10 for breakfast , my daughter ate free. I could not fault the hotel, the rooms are very big, the bathrooms clean and modern, and big. The restaurant is on the 5th floor overlooking the airport. best breakfast had in a hotel, no powdered scrabbled egg, all eggs cooked fresh to order.huge choice of cereal, fresh fruit . Has a gym which we did not use. Would certainly use this hotel again when using southend. Prob good to book in advance man checking in next to me paid £94 room only for the night . i did have to pay in advance

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank your for leaving a review regarding your recent stay. We are delighted you thought the hotel was amazing from the bedroom to the 1935 Rooftop Restaurant and Bar. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Another excellent stay at his hotel. its so convenient right next to the station and airport. Reception staff are very welcoming and helpful and I was recognised as a PCR elite member and given vouchers for a free drink at the bar.
Rooms are fine clean and tidy and spacious enough and having Sky Sports 1 on the tv was a bonus, haven't had this at other HI hotels.
Bar area is the great feature of this hotel, spacious modern and overlooking the airport. The restaurant food was excellent there was a good selection of dishes and reasonably priced.
Breakfast is the usual buffet fare but with a good twist with freshly cooked eggs to order another touch you do not see at other HI hotels.
Would recommend the hotel and will be looking forward to my next visit on my return to Essex.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinshrimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. We are very proud that you have rated us 5 stars and great compliments regarding many aspects of your stay. We are delighted that you think our rooms are fine and the restaurant excellent. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have stayed in this Holiday Inn Southend Airport twice now, in as many weeks. I am a platinum IGH member and I was immediately recognised for my loyalty level. The desk staff are always extremely friendly and welcoming, asking about my journey to the hotel from Wales and making me feel like a genuinely wanted customer. I have been upgraded to an executive room on both occasions which was very kind of them. The rooms are well appointed, large and spotless. I have stayed at Crowne Plaza's (the next level up in the IHG chain) less nice. Although conveniently next door to the airport, the soundproofing is excellent, I didn't hear a single plane. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom very clean and good facilities. There is a mini bar that can be stocked on request, but I used it for soft drinks purchased at reception. I ordered room service on one visit and it was extremely cheap - a fruit salad for just two pounds and on another visit I had breakfast which was good, wholesome and again cheap. I will be staying on many future occasions and look forward to it. For ten pounds I can even bring my dog and walk him in the nearby park. Parking is five pounds but you can come and go as many times in 24 hours. Wifi was free as a platinum member and reasonably fast. I have no complaints, it was an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get better views of the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Nial67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your review from your recent visit. We are delighted that you love our hotel and you enjoy staying with us. We are aiming to be good value for money and are really happy you think we are and we are one of the relatively few hotels which welcome pets. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Only stayed 1 night, found all the staff friendly and helpful, receptionist explained fully and answered my questions clearly. Room very comfortable, clean and modern. Mini gym was great in the morning, and finally breakfast, a warm welcome very clean facilities, good selection of food and a overall nice view of Southend Airport. Would highly recommend to anybody, will definitely re-visit.

Room Tip: they have a selection of rooms that over look the airport, Gym is on the 1st floor, restaurant on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keetchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your stay on Christmas Day and the 5 star review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the 1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar. Thank you for recommending us to anybody wishing to stay in Southend. Wishing you a Happy New Year.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Took a party of 30 here for the party night and we all had a really enjoyable time. The room was beautifully decorated, the food good and the staff very pleasant and helpful. The disco played the sort of music that everyone could dance to and a good time was had by all till midnight. Stayed the night at the hotel, comfortable quiet room with airport views and good selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresamac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for writing about your recent experience at one of our Party Nights and the stay overnight. We were thrilled to learn that you had a great time, good food and a quiet, comfortable room. We hope to see you again next year and would like to wish you a Happy New Year.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,263 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
656 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
324 reviews
3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £54 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing