We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, friendly, nice food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Southend

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenient, friendly, nice food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before an early flight from the airport which is 4 mins walk away. The restaurant has excellent views and a good menu if a bit pricey. You can also get a bar menu which may be more economical. All the staff were friendly, efficient and well turned out. Our room was comfy but the aircon was very noisy, and you can't open the window. Still. Due to convenient location I would definitely stay here again

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank T5campervanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for rating and leaving comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about our staff being friendly, efficient and well turned out. We are pleased you think the food is good and apologise about the aircon noise you experienced, Toshiba have been to the hotel this week and have resolved the random issues we were experiencing. We look forward to you visiting again in the future.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    249
    75
    33
    21
See reviews for
143
237
33
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here yesterday (22nd February) and really enjoyed our stay. Rooms were lovely, and the restaurant and the food was lovely. Lady at check in was polite and friendly, and even printed our restaurant voucher off which we forgot to bring with us which was greatly appreciated. (I believe her name was Mina so please pass on our thanks to her)

We also loved the great views of the airport and runway with the restaurant being on floor 5. Managed to get the room for the night for £47 which we thought was great value and hotel parking only £5 per day.

We will be looking to come back again at some point in the future whether it be just to have a meal in the fabulous restaurant or stay here if we had a flight to catch the following day.

Thanks Holiday Inn Southend for a lovely stay and hopefully we will back soon!.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_P1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We are delighted you had an excellent stay and thank you for leaving a review. I will be delighted to pass on your thanks to Mina who was polite, friendly and helped you with printing. We look forward to you visiting us again soon and enjoying some lovely food again.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here August 2013 - sole purpose we had an early flight next day. We checked in about 8pm the night before. Room was spacious, clean and beds were comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our wake up call was perfect at 4am, a swift checkout followed and a five minute walk later we were checking in for our flight. So convenient we have already booked for the night before this summer's flight! Thank you Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMAW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for leaving a 5 star rating based on your recent experience. We are delighted you had a comfortable stay, friendly and helpful staff and so convenient you have already booked to come again. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This is one of those hotels where everything looks the same indoors, regardless of where you stay at with this brand. It is a good place to sleep, if you have to do something in town. Tip: avoid getting a room with the horrible seaside view and walking at night as Southend is a very problematic city.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay and recommending us as a good place to sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

So handy for Southend airport ,dining a pleasure ,all in all an excellent experience..Our second visit and not our last! No queuing at airport,if coming by train straight into departure lounge.Hotel 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Try to eat at hotel ,roof top restaurant gives fabulous views and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for leaving a review from your recent visit. We are delighted that you think we are so handy and that dining is a pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We used this hotel as we were leaving Southend Airport on an early flight the next day. We booked a room and car park space all in, the price was brilliant. The hotel is in a great location, a 2 min walk to the terminal and the hotel itself is completely sound proofed so you are not disturbed by aircraft noise. The hotel bar on the 5th floor is a great spot for children (or adults) to view the runway, planes and for any Eddie Stobart fans!! Superb rooms, great staff simply brilliant hotel, a must if travelling from Southend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JameskKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for leaving such a glowing review from your recent experience with us. We are delighted you think we are just a simply brilliant hotel and great staff. We look forward to you visiting again in the future.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here on Saturday the 15th February 14....we booked weeks in advance and book 5 rooms.

When we arrived at 3pm our room wasn't ready, we were part of a group on 11, the gentlemen on reception said it would be another 30mins and offered us a free drink which I see them offer to other people which is a nice gesture but we were in a group and we should had offered all a drink as they would have been waiting for us while we had a drink.....very short sighted ...the beds were very uncomfortable and dipped in the middle not good ....but the view of the airport was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norfolkhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for completing a review about your recent stay with us. I apologise that your room was not ready when you arrived, we cannot always account for the previous nights residents checking out on time to allow us to return all of our bedrooms by 2 o'clock and pleased the team offered you a drink whilst waiting. I am sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable and as a relatively new hotel, this is not what you would expect from a new bed. I will be following this up with our suppliers to investigate.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Property: Holiday Inn Southend
Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing