We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for overnight stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel for overnight stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

As budget hotels go, this is a good one. Great location, plenty of parking (£5 additional charge), modern, clean rooms, comfy bed. Good value for money. Hair dryer, tea/coffee, valuables safe, wardrobe and decent mirrors & lighting. Would absolutely recommend for an overnight stop-over for the airport.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for leaving a review fom your recent stay and reccommending us so strongly. We are delighted you found the hotel clean, comfortable and value for money. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    249
    75
    34
    21
See reviews for
146
238
33
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on 22 Feb 2014 in one of the Executive rooms on the fourth floor. Check-in was efficient and extremely friendly (receptionist was Mina). The room was new, clean and very well appointed, with complimentary tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water, biscuits, Kit Kats in the room and complimentary toiletries also included. The room had a great view of the airport and was very well sound proofed - no aircraft noise. The bathroom was well appointed and we loved the green lighting. The staff in the bar were very friendly and helpful as were the staff at breakfast. Check out (Steven) was equally friendly and efficient. Wi-fi was fast and free for us as gold level loyalty members. We needed help from reception on 2 occasions and each time our difficulty was resolved quickly, easily and helpfully. Breakfast was adequate; we hate having to make toast ourselves as it is so time consuming but then again this has to be balanced against the overall price of our stay. The only negaives to our stay were that the double bed felt quite small and was definitely too soft for our taste, poor quality pillows (neither of the 2 choices we had were particularly comfortable), average bedlinens and a problem with the safe which meant we were unable to use it overnight.
All in all a good value stay in a nice hotel and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRuss_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for leaving such a detailed review of your recent stay. We are delighted you thought the staff were friendly and helpful, the stay was good value for money in a nice hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 7 nights on business. Very comfortable and very good service. Some of the rooms have views of the airport and planes, which was more interesting than the view of the car park on the other side.

The hotel is located close to the airport railway station and there is a McDonalds next door if you don't fancy paying the prices for the food, particularly breakfast which is around £13.00 per person. All in all a good hotel and I will be staying here again next time I am in Southend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewgScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for leaving a 4 star review about your recent stay. We are delighted you found the hotel very comfortable and provided very good service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here on 22 February 2014. Room had stained walls, when mentioned to reception staff organised a cleaning attempt. Air conditioning was noisy and kept coming on when switched off. Had very disturbed night's sleep. Positives very close to airport and train station. Staff were helpful. Gym looked good but didn't use. Liked bar overlooking airport. Didn't eat in hotel but tables set out nicely.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234GlasgowGal50l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay. I would like to apologise for the stain on the wall and the disturbed nights sleep. Toshiba engineers have this week been to the hotel to resolve the random noise issues we have recently experienced by changing some of the system settings. Thank you for your comment regarding our helpful staff, gym and the view over the airport.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting our daughter. We had a room upgrade no extra charge!! on the 3rd floor overlooking the airport. The whole experience was excellent the reception staff, restaurant staff & housekeeping staff were efficient, polite & friendly. Even our dog had a lovely warm welcome. Towels etc in the room were replenish every day. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyK352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for rating us so highly from your recent stay. We are delighted you found our staff excellent, friendly, polite & friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the night before an early flight from the airport which is 4 mins walk away. The restaurant has excellent views and a good menu if a bit pricey. You can also get a bar menu which may be more economical. All the staff were friendly, efficient and well turned out. Our room was comfy but the aircon was very noisy, and you can't open the window. Still. Due to convenient location I would definitely stay here again

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank T5campervanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for rating and leaving comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your comments about our staff being friendly, efficient and well turned out. We are pleased you think the food is good and apologise about the aircon noise you experienced, Toshiba have been to the hotel this week and have resolved the random issues we were experiencing. We look forward to you visiting again in the future.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here yesterday (22nd February) and really enjoyed our stay. Rooms were lovely, and the restaurant and the food was lovely. Lady at check in was polite and friendly, and even printed our restaurant voucher off which we forgot to bring with us which was greatly appreciated. (I believe her name was Mina so please pass on our thanks to her)

We also loved the great views of the airport and runway with the restaurant being on floor 5. Managed to get the room for the night for £47 which we thought was great value and hotel parking only £5 per day.

We will be looking to come back again at some point in the future whether it be just to have a meal in the fabulous restaurant or stay here if we had a flight to catch the following day.

Thanks Holiday Inn Southend for a lovely stay and hopefully we will back soon!.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_P1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We are delighted you had an excellent stay and thank you for leaving a review. I will be delighted to pass on your thanks to Mina who was polite, friendly and helped you with printing. We look forward to you visiting us again soon and enjoying some lovely food again.

Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Property: Holiday Inn Southend
Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing