We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop before travelling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stop before travelling”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week as a park and stay deal to leave the car in the car park whilst abroad. Really impressed with the cleanliness, modern decor, and quiet night sleep. The cost was £85 for a night stay and 4 days parking which is great, makes flying much much more stress free.

The hotel is literally a 4 minute walk from the airport, all in all it was about 20 minutes from leaving the hotel to being checked in and passed security at Southend airport! There is a mcdonalds right outside too if you need some food.

Would stay again if I am taking a flight from this airport!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear SG222,

Thank you for leaving such a impressive 5 star review from your recent experience with us. We are delighted you think we are just a simply brilliant hotel and so close to airport. As mentioned, we do have great park and stay deals and feel free to contact us directly for the best deal. We look forward to you visiting again in the future.

Regards

Rohit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    264
    80
    35
    23
See reviews for
158
251
35
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is in an excellent location if you are wanting to fly out from there and is fairly new. DO NOT however stay in rooms anywhere near 136 if you are there on a Saturday. They are directly over the party venue and we had a singer and loud music until midnight. This was followed a couple of hours later by party revellers coming back. It was then followed by doors being knocked and shouts of "Get up" early in the morning for people taking flights, this was more acceptable as we were in an airport hotel, so not a good nights sleep on Saturday but Friday was very good as it was quiet.

Room Tip: as I said in my review do not stay in rooms on first floor with numbers near to 136 (our room) on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Jane706,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in relation to your recent visit to the hotel.

I was of course very sorry to learn that you had been inconvenienced as a result of the DJ from wedding party. Whilst we do inform our guest during check in that music is playing tonight, our attempt to do so was failed because you were staying from a night prior.
It is disappointing to see that you didn’t have a good night sleep because of all the reason mentioned. We can’t control our guest action always but we have duty of care for our guest hence if the issue was brought to the attention to Night manager, we would have rectified it for you.

I can assure you that all feedback is taken extremely seriously and all concerns are discussed with the management team to ensure improvements are made.

Thank you again for your comments.

Rohit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We came here for one night easter monday on a good offer with breakfast king room.lovely bed,and choice of firm or soft pillows.Hotel only 18.months old.my otherhalf used mini gym and said very good.The roof top bar and restaurent great views over airport,I had a Baileys on ice to end the evening,then a great night sleep.Only 2-3 miles from sea front,so a good base.we also had a good meal at New Indya only amile way,where you can take a nice bottle of wine in,so to sum up we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: overlooking airport is nice floors 3/4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberley066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear kimberley066,

Thank you for leaving comments regarding your recent stay and such a high rating. We are delighted you find our rooms and amenities are of good standard and that the restaurant & bar is a wow factor not just for the views but the customer service too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Rohit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel whilst on business on a number of occasions and was very happy with the overall experience.

The reception staff were polite, friendly and efficient and the hotel manager was on hand at check in with a welcome drink. The hotel itself is almost brand new so the rooms I had were surprisingly large, nicely decorated and all of the amenities were working perfectly.

Breakfast is a buffet arrangement with a good selection of hot & cold items, juices & cereals. The breakfast team were warm & friendly if somewhat over stretched at times.

The cost of evening meals in hotels never ceases to amaze me and for that reason I had a number of meals outside of the hotel, including some in the next door McDonald's. On the occasions I did eat in the hotel the food was passable but nothing special for the price but the service couldn't be faulted with friendly and courteous staff. I'd recommend saying how you would like a burger cooked to avoid a rare lump of meat arriving on your plate - it was fine once cooked properly .

Hotel food & drink prices are a particular bugbear of mine so do bear in mind McDonald's is literally next door and you could save yourself a fortune on hot & cold drinks, burgers & snacks - I've got to say I'm really impressed with McDonald's coffee these days too.

There is plenty of parking space at the hotel, although some of the bays are a bit tight which leads a number being wasted & it is disappointing that yet another hotel has gone down the road of charging guests to park - it really should be included in the rate.

Overall though, a very nice, comfortable, modern hotel with friendly staff and free WiFi access which I'd happily recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_J43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Alex_J43,

Thank you so much for your feedback and wonderful comments. I am glad you enjoyed breakfast and your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about our staff being friendly, efficient.

Thank you for leaving a 4 star review.

Rohit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We spoke to An Indian staff member at Southend hoilday inn over the phone as the room was no capable of accommodating 2 adults so he explained over the phone we could have an extra room free of charge (after asking if we were skinny or obiest and if that was why we couldn't fit!).

Arriving at the hotel at check in the guy we spoke to over the phone became very rude and threatening saying we had to pay £50 for a room. In the end another staff member on shift was understanding and we got the free room.

On the way up to the room the Indian man we spoke to gave a very threatening look to 17 year old girl. Which made her feel uncomfortable.

I don't normally complain but it was the worst service I have ever had. I am in shock!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmiiH96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear AmiiH96,

Whenever a guest books a bedroom in our hotel, it is our overall aim to ensure that they have a safe and comfortable stay. There are occasions when our staff take pre-emptive measures in the effort to ensure comfort and this is one of these occasions. The staff member mentioned did make contact, knowing that comfort can be affected when four adults share one family bedroom. After examining the facts, it appears that the main cause of the complaint was a misunderstanding surrounding the bedroom charges and how the guests deposit would be utilised to pay for the second room. Our family bedrooms are capable of accommodating four adults, but from experience the guests who book always appreciate the effort we make in facilitating them a second bedroom when availability allows.

The staff member is one of our longest servicing team members and regularly receives very positive feedback, about his customer service skills and exemplary customer care.

We as a hotel appreciate all forms of feedback whether they are positive or negative and this allows us to make positive steps to improve customer care.

Thank you for your review.
Rohit Singh
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was in Southend on Sea for business and tend to always use either IHG or Marriot. Last night's choice was based purely on location so I arrived at this hotel without particularly high expectations.

Rooms are spotless, staff are all friendly and helpful and the restaurant is a tremendous surprise.

When I checked in I was asked whether I wished to reserve a table for dinner - I was so glad I did! The fifth floor of the hotel is the bar and restaurant. It boasts commanding views over the adjacent Southend airport. Wow!

Food was a good standard an the service first rate. Should your travels take you to Southend-on-Sea I would recommend the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chestertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Chestertripper,

Thanks for your post.
It is great you thought our views were phenomenal and It’s also nice that your dinner in 1935 was outstanding as well as breakfast the next morning.
I’ve shared your kind comments with the Restaurant & Bar team who were thrilled to know just how impressed you were.
Thanks for recommending us; we’re looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Rohit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed overnight on 9th April. The staff were all very pleasant and the room overlooking the airport was lovely and quiet. The views from the restaurant are superb and so was the breakfast. On check in my 7 year old granddaughter was involved in a conversation with the gentleman in reception as she was carrying a disney soft toy reindeer 'Sven' . An absolute magical moment when we returned to the room later to find Sven had been given a carrot. Thank you for making a little girl's stay one that she hasn't stopped talking about !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWilliams1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear LWilliams1006


Thanks for your post. I am delighted to read how caring the team was and how well they looked after you and specially your young daughter during your stay at the Holiday Inn. At Holiday inn we believe in going Extra mile and aim to create WOW experience and clearly reception team had nailed it. Team was so thrilled to read your lovely review.
I’m sure another relaxing break will soon be in order and we look forward to meeting the newest addition to your family.

Kind regards,
Rohit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,201 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
298 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,546 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Property: Holiday Inn Southend
Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing