We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As airport hotels go...........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“As airport hotels go...........”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a new hotel, with the emphasis on quick stop over guests. I had an execuitive room, unfortunately the first room I was given on the first floor over look McDonalds, nice ! The next room on the fourth floor over looked the car park and was baddly layed out and cramped. The third and final room I was given again on the fouth floor over looked the airport and was very nice. As I was staying for the full week the room offered everything I needed but you had to ask to have the mini bar stocked ( minor inconvenience). Parking was good and the wifi had good coverage. Mini gym was good, the bar is small but good views and the resturant had a nice menu. Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn buffet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear DevonAde,

I was happy to learn that you have had a good stay minus room moves. The hotel is very convenient for onward travel for airport related business. I am really sorry about room moves but room with airport view are available on request. Unfortunately after our investigation, we have noticed that there was no such kind of request made on your booking but I am pleased to know that our reception team has located room with airport view for you.
Our full English or continental breakfast offers great variety of over 50 items on the all you can eat buffet and it is hugely popular with our clients.

kind regards

Rohit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    264
    80
    35
    23
See reviews for
157
251
35
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay before a flyng to Barcelona. Great room and facilities, clean and fresh, great sleep, perfect location for Southend Airpotrt which is a wee gem. Bar has a great view....

I`m affraid the resturaunt servcie was very poor and food was nothing great. This is all that let the side down. Will stay again but won`t be eating here.....Sort the restaurant and this would have been a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryWiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear GerryWiley,

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay and restaurant experience. This was indeed our busiest night in the restaurant and would like to apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. Your comments regarding the food have been noted and we will work hard to improve the food and service particularly when we are so busy.

regards

Rohit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night when attending business function nearby. Nice, modern hotel with well appointed bedrooms. However what made our stay particularly good was the high standard of service from the staff throughout - especially Lucia in the restaurant serving breakfast and Katie on the front desk at check out. We both travel regularly all over the world and it's rare to see such exceptional service and management.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BrambleStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear BrambleStar,

Thank you for leaving such a impressive 5 star review from your recent experience with us. We are delighted you think we provide top class customer service in our hotel.
I am so pleased to know that Lucia and Katie has gone extra miles and have created WOW factor for you. I will definitely share your comments with an appreciation letter to them from management.

We look forward to you visiting again in the future.

Regards

Rohit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited this hotel for a friends surprise birthday before flying off on a cheap break. Much to our pleasure the superior room was perfect the rooms are spacious well decorated and the bed was a dream. The restaurant food was well presented, tasty and surprisingly good and varied menu. staff were friendly pleasant and approachable. This hotel and restaurant definitely exceeded my expectations of a holiday inn.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunsia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Tunsia2012,

I was delighted to learn that you have had a great stay. The hotel is very convenient for onward travel for airport related business. I will be sure to feed this back to the team as it means so much to the staff to hear such great praise about food and service.

regards

Rohit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Partner and I stayed here this weekend. Very clean but noisy air-con unit which did disrupt sleep. Only got one biscuit (tiny) and one towel. What's that about?! I would recommend a visit only to see the biscuit size. Seeing is believing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear AmyLaurel,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I would like to apologize for the shortcoming during your stay. Each room is provided with one biscuit and towel per person, please rest assured, I have spoken to our head housekeeper about the same.

We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.

regards

Rohit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a wedding reception here and stayed for 1 night, really clean, lovely hotel, breakfast really nice, good quality bedding a excellent range of pillows, good size family rooms which were spotless. Restaurant excellent too. Would be excellent if travelling to and from southend airport literally over looks airport but cannot hear planes when in hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear hobby b,

Thank you for a stunning 5 star review. It is so great to have such a lovely comment on each and every aspect of our hotel.

We appreciate your comments and looking forward to welcoming you again.

kind regards

Rohit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel last week as a park and stay deal to leave the car in the car park whilst abroad. Really impressed with the cleanliness, modern decor, and quiet night sleep. The cost was £85 for a night stay and 4 days parking which is great, makes flying much much more stress free.

The hotel is literally a 4 minute walk from the airport, all in all it was about 20 minutes from leaving the hotel to being checked in and passed security at Southend airport! There is a mcdonalds right outside too if you need some food.

Would stay again if I am taking a flight from this airport!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear SG222,

Thank you for leaving such a impressive 5 star review from your recent experience with us. We are delighted you think we are just a simply brilliant hotel and so close to airport. As mentioned, we do have great park and stay deals and feel free to contact us directly for the best deal. We look forward to you visiting again in the future.

Regards

Rohit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,198 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
296 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,540 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Property: Holiday Inn Southend
Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing