We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My mother recently visited the Uk and stayed at the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The dining room very luxurious, with a great view overlooking the airport and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. I went there twice a day to collect her and drop her off and was treated like a special guest myself. They made her 8 day stay very comfortable indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenhockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed on a Sun night as we were seeing family.

The initial front of house service was fantastic. The person dealing with us polite, smart in appearance and gave us all the detail we would need (plus more) for our stay

We ate in the restaurant where the food was well priced, fantastically presented & tasted very good indeed. I did have a small problem which was dealt with immediately, with the required paperwork done after our meal

The room was very comfortable, clean and well decorated.

The customer service we experienced was one of the best we have ever had, and we have stayed in some very expensive places

We will be coming back here again & hope our next visit is just as enjoyable

Thank you to the staff for ur fantastic levels of customer service

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted you had a very good stay and giving us a 5 star rating. I will be sure to share your comments about the front desk and the restaurant with the teams and especially proud that despite a problem in the restaurant the team dealt with it promptly and professionally. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Regards
steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed there recently as attending a family wedding nearby. I booked well in advance and so got a very good deal. I was delighted with the standard of the accomodation, very spacious and very new and comfortable. Fast check in. The staff on the reception was very friendly and professional. Good car park facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Ian T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted you think so highly of us and that you enjoyed your stay, the staff are great and the room cleanliness immaculate. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards

Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here twice in one week as we flew from southend airport to Barcelona to see the gran prix,both times our stay was great staff were very friendly and the rooms were lovely and clean.we had food in the bar and room service and both were good,if we fly from southend again we would stop here,thanks holiday inn and staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosiebooSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear rosieboosolihull,

Thank you for a stunning 5 star review. It is so great to have such a lovely comment on each and every aspect of our hotel.

We appreciate your comments and looking forward to welcoming you again.

kind regards

Rohit Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is well appointed for the airport ,just a short walk away.Our room was comfortable and very clean.The receptionist was the hotel's best asset as she was very professional and helpful.The bar and restaurant have great views over the airport. The only negative comment I can make is regarding the buffet style breakfast which needs improving with freshly cooked food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Steve D,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We are delighted with your comments and that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the airport views from your room.
I am sorry to know that your breakfast experience wasn't good. I am little confused with your comment on fresh food, all our hot food is cooked freshly along with fresh danish pastry.

Kind regards
Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a new hotel, with the emphasis on quick stop over guests. I had an execuitive room, unfortunately the first room I was given on the first floor over look McDonalds, nice ! The next room on the fourth floor over looked the car park and was baddly layed out and cramped. The third and final room I was given again on the fouth floor over looked the airport and was very nice. As I was staying for the full week the room offered everything I needed but you had to ask to have the mini bar stocked ( minor inconvenience). Parking was good and the wifi had good coverage. Mini gym was good, the bar is small but good views and the resturant had a nice menu. Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear DevonAde,

I was happy to learn that you have had a good stay minus room moves. The hotel is very convenient for onward travel for airport related business. I am really sorry about room moves but room with airport view are available on request. Unfortunately after our investigation, we have noticed that there was no such kind of request made on your booking but I am pleased to know that our reception team has located room with airport view for you.
Our full English or continental breakfast offers great variety of over 50 items on the all you can eat buffet and it is hugely popular with our clients.

kind regards

Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay before a flyng to Barcelona. Great room and facilities, clean and fresh, great sleep, perfect location for Southend Airpotrt which is a wee gem. Bar has a great view....

I`m affraid the resturaunt servcie was very poor and food was nothing great. This is all that let the side down. Will stay again but won`t be eating here.....Sort the restaurant and this would have been a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryWiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear GerryWiley,

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay and restaurant experience. This was indeed our busiest night in the restaurant and would like to apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. Your comments regarding the food have been noted and we will work hard to improve the food and service particularly when we are so busy.

regards

Rohit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,233 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,641 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
134 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £63 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing