We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southend
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Mixed feeling”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here with my 10 year old for a weekend away. I booked one of the executive rooms. I was given a room on the first floor, room 101. No no no. Firstly if you are claustrophobic this a room to avoid because there are no windows and you can hardly see through the opaque glass so you feel truly boxed in. To make matters worse the fridge was leaking and there was a puddle of water... The carpet was stained and it was dusty in the room. Good thing is I was offered a new executive room on the 4th floor with a good view and it was clean. So thank you for that. But what baffles me is... Why give a guest a bad room when you have good rooms available? It's nonesensical. Then i forgot our tooth brush so called front desk and was told they'd ran out! oh well i suppose i am to blame for that one. but it would have been nice if they had some lying about somewhere. I was very pleased with everything else. Good customer service and the food at the restaurant was good. There was one petite blonde lady in a white top and black trousers at the restaurant in the evening who lacked a smile and basic decorum to be honest. Whilst we were being seated by the waitress she told the waitress to tell me kids eat for free as though we were invisible and she said it quite haughtily without batting an eyelid to look at us although we were stood right next to her. Needless to say I enjoyed my time and all other staff were pleasant. I will recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maraleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Maraleese,
Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Southend Hotel following your most recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our customer service and especially the personalized service that we are so proud to deliver to all our guests. The team will be very pleased to hear your very kind comments about the excellent service you received.

We truly appreciate all forms of guest feedback, and it is only through constructive comments such as yours that we can really improve and enhance the overall guests’ experience. I would like to acknowledge some of the concerns that you had during your stay with us and assure you that this has been addressed to the highest level.
Thank you for your recommendation and looking forward to welcoming you in near future.
Kind regards
Rohit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    259
    75
    35
    22
See reviews for
152
241
34
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very clean, very quiet very friendly staff.

Excellent quality rooms, great nights sleep.

Good quality breakfast.

Right next to the airport - no point using it if you want to be close to the town centre.

Staff prepared to serve you at the bar all through the night.

You use again without hesitation.

Free Wi-Fi for as many devices as you like.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Awordy,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimenting 5 star review following your most recent stay with us at y Inn Southend Hotel. I am absolutely thrilled to hear that the team looked after you so well and it is through such wonderful reviews that motivates us to further enhance our service levels and continue creating memorable experiences for our guests. The team will indeed be very pleased to hear your very kind words. Our priority / club member receives free internet in IHG properties.
Kind regards
Rohit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Went to Southend with my wife and 6 year old grandson to visit "Adventure Island" and found Holiday Inn did a package with entry and ride wrist bands included.I was just expecting a good standard basic hotel, but Holiday Inn was superb good size rooms,clean,great view over airport,friendly staff, excellent restaurant and food.I would recomend to anyon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking airport make good viewing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 61Sue07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear 61Sue07,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a wonderful review. I am so pleased to read that you have rated our hotel much more than just basic hotel. We are the 2nd best Holiday Inn in UK and we do pride ourselves in a great customer service.
Thank you for your recommendation.
Kind regards
Rohit Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

OK, I know the one I reviewed a week ago at Stansted Airport was a Holiday Inn Express but the difference was simply remarkable.
I have stayed here overnight a couple of times before and always had a great experience.
Staff at reception are friendly and efficient.
Our Executive Leisure room was spacious and pristine. The king sized bed and selection of pillows were very comfortable leading to a good sleep.
The bathroom was modern, well designed and has a powerful shower.
Plenty of wardrobe space, a safe, tea / coffee facilities and an ironing board and iron, comfortable armchair, decent desk / workspace, plenty of electrical sockets and all lights can be controlled from the bed.
Despite overlooking the airport there is no discernible aircraft noise.

Room Tip: The ones facing the airport obviously have the more interesting view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear 1DNG,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a extensive review from your recent stay. We are delighted you rated us so highly and pleased you thought the staff were friendly and efficient and that you slept amazingly in a comfortable bed which had a good selection of pillows.
I was so delighted to hear that Our Executive Leisure room was spacious and pristine. We look forward to you visiting again in the future.

Regards
Rohit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel was A!.We went with our grandson to take him to Adventure Island and the Holiday Inn had a package,I was not expecting the hotel to be as good as it was.. Food was far better than average ,the breakfast was good quality.Would recommend hotel to anyone

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Geoff G,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted you had a very good stay and giving us a 5 star rating and while reading your comment on us being more than average, we are proud to announce that we are the 2nd best Holiday Inn whole UK. I will be sure to share your comments with team and will look forward to welcoming you in near future.
Regards
Rohit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night and had room service. The room was really nice and clean, modern and had everything you needed. We had room service which did take a while to be delivered but was very nice once it arrived, albeit a little on the expensive side.

I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magga_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Magga_james,
Thank you for your great 5 star review in regards to your recent stay. Team at Holiday inn really appreciates your lovely comments. Sorry you had to wait for a bit for your room service.
Looking forward to welcoming you in near future.
Regards
Rohit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were upgraded to an executive room on 4th floor. Great room with views over the airport. 6 planes took off in the morning and we didn't notice any noise from 4 of them and only faintly heard the other 2 as we were watching! So have to say the double glazing works well. We didn't hear any noise from the restaurant at breakfast and we were in the room until 10am. What was very noticeable was how good and quiet the airconditioning was - normally I have to switch it off because of the noise. Bath had two showers above it and night/mood lighting. 6 of us ate in the restaurant and got a table with a view. It was very busy and there was also a wedding on the ground floor but we didn't have to wait too long for service, the girls that served us were professional and friendly and the main courses were all great. All the deserts (apart from Rossi's icecream) were awful which was a disappointment. Plenty of parking but don't see why if you are staying in the hotel you should have to pay £5 a night - though would happily pay for park & ride. Its a short walk to the airport and the railway station for trains to Southend Victoria or London Liverpool Street. For those partial to a McDonalds there is a 24 hr one opposite and if you walk up either of the roads across the roundabout there is a small papershop/stores down one road and a coop down the other if you have forgotten anything (there are no shops in the airport). Will no doubt stay again when visiting friends and family in that area.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade to the 4th floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear AmandaScotland,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in relation to your recent visit to the hotel.

Firstly I was so pleased to know that you had lovely dinner minus desserts and great service. We have a state of the art soundproofing to avoid any aircraft noise in room. I was of course very sorry to learn that were saddened by the car park charges and would have like it to be free. But I must inform you that none of the hotel located near airport gives free car park but we do offer the best rate of £5.00 instead of £13.00 per night.
We appreciate your comments and looking forward to welcoming you again.
Regards
Rohit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
589 reviews
3.2 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
128 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Property: Holiday Inn Southend
Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Southend 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay excited……The spectacular Holiday Inn Southend opened on 01st October 2012 !Stay relaxed……The hotel is the latest addition to the Holiday Inn portfolio and has 129 air conditioned bedrooms and features 27 executive rooms and 4 King superior rooms.Stay unique……In a first for Holiday Inn in the UK, the five-storey hotel also houses a fully sound-proofed rooftop bar and restaurant (1935 Rooftop Restaurant & Bar) offering spectacular views of London Southend airport and surrounding Essex countryside. The restaurant is open every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner (open to non residents also), and the bar if open for coffee and range of beverages from 10am - 11pm daily.Stay connected……Holiday Inn Southend will also offer a variety of conference and banqueting facilities, plus a choice of meeting rooms for up to 140 people and is within 40 minutes of central London.Stay devoted…..Choose Holiday Inn Southend for your Essex wedding venue, with flexible facilities we can help make it a day to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing