We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful! Staff were rude and the food was overpriced and tasted disgusting!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Churchill's Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Churchill's Bar
Ranked #17 of 37 Nightlife in Southend-on-Sea
Attraction details
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful! Staff were rude and the food was overpriced and tasted disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I went here one afternoon with my friend for lunch. We both ordered salads and asked if we could have them without lamb, the waitress was rude and said the chef doesn't like changing the menu. The meal took about 40 minutes to arrive, and one of the salads came with lamb and the other without! We both ordered the same so not sure how they could get that wrong! We wasn't asked how our meal was (considering we both ate less than half) or if we enjoyed it when we finished. The meal itself was awful, the chicken was frozen and dry and the salad was tiny considering it was £8.95! We then waited another 20 minutes for our plates to be cleared and then another for the bill, which by then we went to the bar and got it ourself. Our waitress was rude and unhelpful and VERY slow. I would not recommend this place and definitely won't be going back. What a complete waste of money! Either hire more staff or don't open for lunch in the week.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkertw133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wrong meals”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

two meals came up as ordered but the other two were incorrect, we were told by the supervisor that these were the meals ordered and if we wanted to place another order we would have to pay for those as well We pointed out that the order was not confirmed by the waitress but she said it was [untrue again] why would we order and then say it was wrong?we were then asked to leave, unbelievable, the customer always wright? not here, beware, and make sure your orders are confirmed

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always Going back for More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Me and my family use churchills as a main lunch spot when we want something lovely & good value to eat. We own a tastecard which churchills do take when you book a table.
We always have good service and can never fault the food! A recommendation would be the club sandwich! I was very sad to see when they changed the menu they took my favourite thing off of it (steak and cheese ciabatta) Other than that, I Can't fault it. We always go for a drink there in the garden in the summer.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

we have had a couple of lunches there and found food quiet good service ok .
but they have this embarassing point of coming up before your food is served and saying
"would you like any extra sauces" wihch i feel is telling people the food is dry and tasteless and will require enhancement.
this is embarrassing for the staff and customers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 10bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish and Polite but bad food service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I went here with my grandmother and we ordered our drinks first which took about 10 minutes for them to come. after the waitress asked us what we would want to eat and we placed our orders. she diid warn us that the food might take a little bit longer then usual but we were fine about that. after about 30 minutes of waiting we got at little impaient and when it had been 45 minutes a waitresss came over to us to say that the order had not been placed and that we would be given the meals on the house. we politley smiled and said thankyou. after that the meals showed up in about 5 minutes and we were very pleased. when my grandmother went to pay to manager said that all the deinks and food was free for us because of the wait. seeing as i had a pint of diet come and my grandma had 2 glasses of rose we were glad to have saved ourselves £30 so i highly recommend this restaurent to anyone looking for a nice clean restaurent that is good value and there is always happy staff there to please you!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Callum1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Churchill's Bar also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Hadleigh, Southend-on-Sea
Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Churchill's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing