We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value for money, great breakfast and ideal location”
Review of Camelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camelia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Bray-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money, great breakfast and ideal location”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed for one night last Saturday, my friend was having a party close by and it was ideal for one night. We paid £76 the entry level room fee and I was suprised to be given a rather nice seafront room for that, was a shame that the balcony door was locked and apparently had no key! though I am guessing that previous guests had abused this feature! The room was small but spotless and have everything you need for an overnight stay.
The hotel is pretty much opposite Ocean Beach Bar which is good for a drink in the sun, we had dinner at the nearby Roslin Hotel that was fantastic! we originally wanted to stay at Roslins but am really glad we coudn't get in as they were booked - the rooms there are around £120, so all the more money for Champagne!
To be honest we checked in went straight out then did not return to the hotel until 4am so it served our needs on that basis, everything was clean, the linens good and a comfy bed so can't complain!
Breakfast again was a suprise, I've been at far fancier hotels that do a worse breakfast, the even fried some eggs up as my friend didn't fancy the scrambled! All seemed like pretty decent quality produce too.
Everyone from the lady on reception to the staff at breakfast we encountered were pleasant and helpful. If I need to return to Southend again I would stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the seafront entry level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maniacnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    113
    43
    18
    10
See reviews for
97
205
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The Camelia is right on the sea front and a good location for both Southend and Thorpe Bay. It is a rather old-fashioned and 'tired' looking hotel although it was clean and well equipped. The rooms are a good size but only a few have sea views. The hotel mentions that there is a large car park at the rear but this is just a piece of rough ground and after the recent heavy rain, a bit of a nightmare to negotiate.

We had booked this room four months ago and requested a cot which they confirmed would be available. However there was no cot in our room and it took 2 or 3 visits to reception to finally get one.

The breakfast was, like most other aspects of the Camelia, decidely average - all pre-cooked and left on warming hobs. Having said that the waitresses were very helpful and looked after our party well.

We only stayed one night and on reflection, nearly £100 for b & b was not particularly good value. No real complaints but as my title suggests - just average.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrivenham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

.....a lovely spot and convenient for seafront , town and restaurants.
We had small room at top of hotel with low sloping ceilings and like others before us were disturbed by a private party! More so noisy guests than music.
It was very impersonal with a weak welcome (when we were asked to pay before seeing room!); on departure we rang the bell to say goodbye and a member of staff shouted from the dining room (which was nice and a VG breakfast) "leave the key on the desk". Not a thank you or hope to see you again.
A shame because it has so much potential.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shonsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The communal areas were very nice and quite modern.
Our room was clean but quite dated . Other rooms may have been better, but the room we had was at the top of the house, it was small and had a dormer window in the bathroom and in the bedroom. The bedroom roof part of the dormer made it difficult to get into or get out of bed without hitting my head. In the bathroom again the roof part of the dormer restricted the use of the handheld shower and had we been a little taller than our 5'-8" it would have been impossible.
The bathroom also had a drain smell, which we alleviated by leaving the light/extractor on all the time.
The breakfast was quite good, although the 'full English' did not have the selection that you would expect to be available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without restricted head space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexduet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

On the the face of it the Camelia looks a very nice place to stay and the food, from past experience, has been lovely. However this latest experience has left us absolutely disgusted!

Having recommended the Camelia for a relative to stay we were very pleased to hear that she received a FREE upgraded room! However, little did we know that the night she was staying, the Camelia were hosting a 30th birthday party with very loud music, which we were not advised of at time of booking the room or upon arrival. The Camelia claimed that the reason for this was because our relative was staying on the top floor of the hotel and therefore her floor did not need to be told because they apparently wouldn't hear the noise from up there! This is not the case at all, maybe the owners should try and get a nights sleep up there whilst there is a big party with very loud music in full swing, with lots of people with a few too many drinks hanging around being very rowdy.

However, the party eventually came to a end, the music had stopped and it was time for all the party goers to retire to their rooms for the night.

Now this resulted in a very drunk guest banging on doors and then falling asleep in the hallway against our relative's door. The whole experience leaving our relative very frightened and with no sleep! There is no night porter and it was gone 3 am by the time the owners wife was able to attend the situation and get the guest back in his room!

In the morning our relative was so frightened and tired she felt unable to stay for breakfast and checked out immediately

She was offered a £20 refund for bed and breakfast with the receptionist say that she should have dialed reception from the phone in her room. However, not once when checking in was she told how to do this. In fact she was only informed that the reception was NOT manned 24/7. Apparently there was a book in her room detailing how to contact reception however this was not seen.

Upon discussing the situation with the owners wife, I was advised very abruptly that the hotel has NO responsibility towards its guests and she proceeded to complain about being called out in the middle of the night to come and deal with the situation when she was fast asleep! She felt that £20 off the room and breakfast was more then sufficient as a GOOD WILL guesture as our relative had received a free upgrade (which was never requested). On reflection i wonder if she was given a "free" upgrade because the hotel knew they should of informed our relative about the noisy rowdy night ahead?

When asked if a full refund would of been more sufficient after leaving a pensioner lady very frightened and intimidated, I was told yet again that they hold no responsibility to other guests and there behavior, even though it was the Camelia who hosted the party and probably made a fortune in alcohol sales. They seem to have washed their hands of the consequences!
The owners wife claimed that at the end of the day they are running a business!
To us this seems to be at the cost of customer service!!

Oh and the furniture in the room was dusty and the welcome received wasn't particularly friendly..But thats just us being picky!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clare670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Business trip to essex. Booked in the hotel, which I have stayed in before, but never put in a report. The hotel is right on the sea front. The rooms are comfy & very clean. Mine was a sea view. Good TV selection in the room. Had evening dinner in the resteraunt. Very good value, very well cooked & presented ( really enjoyed). the fuuly cooked english was also as goos as the evening meal. The staff are very accomodating, pleasant & helpfull. I used to stay a little further down the street, but the hotel has priced them selves out of the general business market & also lost character. I will now always stay here as it is, i believe very hard to beat in this area.Only problem is that if too many people get to know, then I May have difficulty in getting a goos deal

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bozateam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Second stay to the Camelia and was not dissapointed, Dinner was great, service excellent and the hotel was spotless they have refurbished again since my last trip.

I cannot reccomend it highly enough!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beebeeBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Property: Camelia Hotel
Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run Boutique hotel situated right on the seafront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Camelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing