We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal”
Review of Camelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camelia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Having just stayed for one night i am writing to compliment this small and very friendly hotel, we could not find fault with anything during our short but very nice stay. Food at the breakfast was very nice the room albeit facing the car park was also very cosy, and the staff were efficient and polite we would and might well stay here for longer when the weather gets better hope to see you all at the camelia later in the year
Mick.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

lovely quiet suite £98 well spent sep lounge with balcony n bay window overlooking sea if it wasnt raining and windy it would be perfect. very private like a flat sep entrance n parking at rear. dining table .42 inch tv perf picture. we had room D will come again brekie in morn cant wait

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelsurfer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Just had the one night at Camelia Hotel visiting friends in area,really pleasantly surprised great value for money Room clean and bed very comfortable a little noise from others as they make way to rooms but on the whole back from road and no traffic noise at all. We were in annexe and so had to come out of main door to cross small access road to get to main building, but not to big a deal unless raining. Staff friendly and very helpful and after a good nights sleep the breakfast was first class, one of the best breakfasts I have had and we have had a few in some of the larger chains. Porridge, fresh fruit and a full English with all good quality produce. Would deffo stay again if I was back in the area. We did look at the larger chains in Southend but boy did we make the right choice on this occasion .

Room Tip: Main building if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budeastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just had family lunch at the Camelia Hotel, Southend on Sea. Excellent experience. Good menu - husband was in seventh heaven because roast leg of lamb was on the menu - excellent selection of veg. to accompany our meal and all served piping hot. Good choice of vegetarian meals. Service was professional and friendly. Even though it was Mothers' Day we were not rushed - all in all a good choice. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just stayed one night whilst visiting family living 10 minutes walk away. Clean, modern warm and friendly, and with breakfast included, good value for money, Take notice big chain hotel .Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night booked on line through booking.com last minute. Booked a king size room expecting king size bed hair dryer and big room. Disappointed when entered room bed was more a queen size double although clean and tidy. Furniture was not quality and walls were so thin you could hear next door going to toilet.
Staff were friendly service was excellent but attractions need you to be able walk long distance to find them.

Overall I would not return and that's a shame really as the staff were great Rooms a shame

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrtNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

I have stopped here for 3 weeks due to work and will be here another week, the staff are so friendly and accommodate anything, food is fantastic value and the bar is on hand for a quick drink.
Rooms are spotless and a good size, WIFI is available free and flat screen HD TV with plenty of channels.
Location is right on the sea front and only a small walk to attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,740 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,279 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
864 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#7 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £62 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run Boutique hotel situated right on the seafront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Camelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing