We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to Fault”
Review of Camelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camelia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Difficult to Fault”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

One night stay in a suite with great views of the estuary. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room nicely furnished and very clean. Free wi-fi. Busy road outside but the noise not obtrusive. Breakfast plentiful and well cooked. Car parking near and free!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_HBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    113
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
99
214
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

i booked a room by telephone. The lady was extremly helpful and friendly. when we got to the hotel we found out that we had been upgraded from a room to an apartment. The apartment was lovely and had a sea view and a terrace.
The breakfast the next morning was excellent and taken in a brightly lit room. The whole experience was great and will use the hotel in future when we come to visit our friends.
Their website was really good in deciding what types of rooms there are, with good descriptions and photos

Room Tip: Their website was really good in deciding what types of rooms there are, with good descriptions and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceandKarl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel twice with work and both times I have been impressed on all accounts. Staff are very helpful, rooms are nicely furnished and clean, the sea views are lovely and the food is very good. I forgot my charger the first time I stayed and the receptionist managed to locate an iPhone charger to lend me! This time I ordered a steak on room service and it was very good. I'd highly recommend this hotel for a seaside break.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We will be making regular trips to Southend over the next six months due to family circumstances and we booked because of the good reviews, however, this place is average at best. The first time we booked, we did it over the phone only to find that on arrival, they had no record of this! Fortunately, they did have another room in the 'house' next door but would only give us this more expensive room for one night at the previously agreed lower rate. Thought this was poor service. The room was very spacious with kitchenette, however, the blinds did not open properly and some were broken, so we could not make the most of the sea view. The carpets are cream and very badly stained. The sofa had a colapsed arm - overall a bit shabby - we did mention these quibbles to reception - afterall, unless they are told, these things can be overlooked (trying to give them the benefit of the doubt here). The bathroom and bedding were spotless. We ate in the restuarant that night, the food was reasonably good value and not bad, however, the waitresses were dragging tables together and chatting loudly whilst setting up for breakfast the next day - this spoilt it. The next morning we arrived at the self service buffet breakfast - no plates, no condiments, and no sausages! We waited around trying to attract the attention of the dining room staff, but despite observing us standing there, no one came to our attention. The breakfast, whilst well cooked, is very basic and no choice of eggs other than scrambled. That said, we booked again for another stay. Unfortunately, it appeared that our previous comments about the room had not been addressed. Tatty, bent metal blinds....and dirty carpet. Come on guys, if you are gonna have a cream carpet, at least make sure it is clean. Same problems at breakfast - no plates or condiments, slow service and we had to help ourselves to coffee as there was only one poor girl working. For £120 a night, we were expecting a bit more - afterall cleanliness, service and blinds that are fit for purpose should be a basic? The positives are that there is parking at the rear of the hotel, staff are friendly, and for us, the location is good but overall a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jules875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Took our kids here for a short break over half-term. The hotel was extremely clean and comfortable. The staff were soooooo friendly. Breakfast was excellent and the hotel bar a real bonus. I have promised my kids we will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LV-Supa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just outside centre of southend at Thorpe Bay on the sea front road, perfect distance away from hustle of the town.
Myself and my husband have stayed here a lot. Staff wonderful and very helpful. Food in restaurant excellent.
We stayed a week ago with friends for my husbands birthday and we were unfortunately put in a very small room at the back of the hotel on the top floor. Not good.... Shower was not a power shower so just trickled out and at one point the shower head dropped onto my husbands head, which was very painful. No bath in the room, which I like so was disappointed with that. After informing the hotel that we did not like the room on our return yesterday for a little more money we had a lovely upgrade with a sea view. It was perfect.
Don't be put off by my review with the room on the top floor, just pay a bit more and ask for a sea view room they are great. We will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Ignore swimming pool and fitness centre, they don't have either!!!!! Front rooms with sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bojBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here at the end of April, easy to find, with ample car parking at the rear, and only a 15-20 minute stroll in to Southend Town Centre. Went to check in and were given a free upgrade to a seeview suite in the annex next door room D. We were very impressed, had a 3 piece suite, dining table and chairs and a large bedroom with a king size bedroom at the back, so no road noise! The breakfast was buffet style, so you could pick and choose what you wanted, the food was very tasty. My only complaint would be the mattress on the bed, these was a huge indentation in the mattress which made it very uncomfortable to sleep in, I would say it's one of the worst nights sleep I've ever had, could do with investing in a new mattress. Apart from that an excellent hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,443 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,160 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
744 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Property: Camelia Hotel
Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run Boutique hotel situated right on the seafront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Camelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing