We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating”
Review of Camelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camelia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very accomodating”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We held a function at the Camelia plus we booked a number of rooms for those who did not want to travel back after my Father's special birthday. The venue for private functions is ideal and the space is a good size. The staff were friendly and willing to accomodate our wishes and plan of action for the event. If I had to criticise anything it would be that I would have brought in another member of staff to support the day and ensure things like the toast were delivered more promptly as the bar had to be manned and it was not possible to support my plan and serve at the same time. It was not a huge issue as we worked around it however, it was this that prevented a 100% perfect score.

The room was very comfortable and we were very happy following a good nights sleep. The only issue I have during summer months is that there is a lot of heat build up where opening a window did not help regulate/reduce the temperature. During coller days, this would not be a problem and did not spoil what was a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: I would refrain from a ground floor room on the side of the building as drunk guests did wake us up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitpaulessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    113
    43
    18
    10
See reviews for
97
205
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We booked a one night stay with dinner and breakfast for our wedding anniversary and you couldn't fault anything! The food was delicious and the room very comfy and clean, staff were friendly and the price was very reasonable too. We also visited the ocean beach bar located across the road which was also lovely! Thank you camelia we had a very enjoyable relaxing stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed here for one night when I was on business in the area. I got an upgrade for the single room I booked to a double at the front of the hotel, which being on the Esplanade, looked out to sea. My room was quite compact with a very compact ensuite. Nevertheless, everything was clean and tidy and very acceptable. In theory I had a balcony through the door on to it was locked and neither of the keys I had opened the door. I expect the hotel management closed off the access due to smokers lounging out there for a crafty fag making the place look like a doss house. There was however a large casement window which opened fully . Whilst this window gave welcome ventilation on a warm night, I wonder what it would be like on an autumn evening when you would need some ventilation but not necessarly a strong gale blowing in off the sea? I think the window could do with a bit of modification to allow it to be opened and fixed in increments. One minor niggle... the toilet seat was disconnected from the bowl so kept on falling on the floor with a clatter with the least encouragement!
I ate my evening meal in house and found it to be of good quality and well presented by a friendly lady. Breakfast followed in a similar manner.
There was a free public car park at the rear of the hotel, at least part of which was covered by the hotel's CCTV. The car park looked a bit rough on first impression, with a lunar landscape of humps, bumps and holes but it was well used by posher cars than mine.
Seafront was just across the road so very convenient for an evening stroll after consumption of grub and drink.
In summary, a hotel I'd return to if in the area.

Room Tip: It goes without saying I suppose but go for the front to get the good view out to sea. There was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoggyDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had the pleasure of spending four nights in this lovely hotel with great hosts. We stayed in a super king suite annex situated on the top floor with a lovely balcony and superb views over the estuary. The suite had a seperate lounge area with two comfy sofas, a flat screen tv and double doors on to the balcony.
The bedroom also had its own flat screen tv and water bed which was a very different experience. The bathroom had a bath and a shower which was very nice.
All the rooms were spotlessly clean, I would say that it's well worth the extra money to upgrade to one of the suites.
If this wasn't enough, what impressed me the most were the staff who couldn't do enough to make our stay truly special.
We also ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was very good, much better than the local restaurants which we also tried during our stay. Our breakfast every morning was also first class with a great selection from a full english to fresh fruits, cereal and yoghurts.
I would definately recomend this hotel for short breaks!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 307traceyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is an excellent hotel, with very friendly staff. It is small enough to be intimate, ideal for a romantic weekend. Our room was clean, modern and we had a small living room which gave us lots of room. We really enjoyed our stay here and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I had a great week in the Camelia, great to have a beachside hotel with ample car parking, staff are genuinely pleased to see you arrive. My room was upgraded which is always a good start and what a gorgeous room it was, views over the estuary, very nicely decorated and probably the cleanest room I have stayed in for a long while. There is a pleasant bar downstairs with a good stock for it's size and the evening meals are really good. Breakfast was excellent, summer berry compote is fantastic. It all comes at a price though, but i'm worth it!

Room Tip: Get a view over the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Found Hotel staff to be very pleasant and have no complaints about the room or meals. Hotel was very clean and tidy. Had a lovely Sunday midday meal and would recommend it if staying at the hotel. Lots of choice for breakfast and all cooked to a high standard. Well located over looking the Estuary and ample parking off road.

Room Tip: Sea view added attraction
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Property: Camelia Hotel
Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run Boutique hotel situated right on the seafront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Camelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing