We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Camelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camelia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Had a lovely stay here. Location is good, scenery was fab. Rooms are tastefully decorated and absolutely spotless. I was very surprised at how clean the room was. It was faultless and I am very very particular ! They were cleaned every day, fresh towels etc. The staff were always around, they were very proffessional yet relaxed and always smiling.
The price was just right for the accommodation. I have two suggestions from my stay here- outside has a beautiful decked area on one side but not for those who smoke. On the other side is one table with 2 chairs where you can smoke, this is right outside the dining room. I felt a bit uncomfortable especially when the dining room was being used, I understand that the decking may become damaged with inconsiderate people putting their cigarettes on the floor, but not all people are like that. I feel there could be a way around that. There are tasteful looking ashtrays with lids around these days. Perhaps allocate 2/3 of these of the outside tables in the decking area ??
Breakfast is good not too much that you waste food served promptly in beautiful surroundings, on weekends there is a buffet, this is my one negative part of my stay - the food was luke warm on both mornings. However, it would not be a reason for me not too return. I would definitely like to try the suites with a balcony next time. At the time of booking, I was not aware such were available.
I will book direct with the hotel the next time. I would not consider staying anywhere else in Southend other than here. Well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazzi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Camelia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Booked up the hotel for 1 night but decided to stay for 2 at the last moment. No problems said the manager plus free parking. We arrived to find a nice clean spacious room just off the main hotel. My only grumble was being asked to pay up front for the whole stay before we even saw the room! Breakfast was included in the room rate and was ok. A small decked area with table and chairs on the front of the hotel looked a fine place to have a smoke, but no, smokers have to stand the other side with no chairs. Not a bad place and deserves its 3 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOBBYten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed on top floor room with sea view , great room and view. The room was very modern with flt screen tv , nice bathroom .
Stayed three times before and upon every occassion all members of staff helpfull and welcoming.
Last visit they had a wedding party which was a bit noisy but since on third floor did not hear much noise at all ... Definate a well worth choice of places to stay at !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A great hotel that has got it right.

We booked at short notice after looking at the Trip Advisor ratings and reviews and we were not disappointed. On arrival we parked to the rear of the hotel in a large carpark and entered the hotel through a very smart and welcoming entrance and were warmly greeted to find we had been upgraded to a better room in the Annex. Everything was immaculate in a fresh and bright room. We also took advantage of the meal deal offer, wow! Great food as well.

We enjoyed the Hotel and Southend so much that we decided to extend our stay, more great news, a lovely kingsize suite to the front of the Hotel with a fabulous view for our second night. Great breakfasts on both days left us completely satisfied for our onward journey..... Thanks Camelia!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank tourist089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

we have returned to this friendly hotel once again-exellent cooked breakfasts , fresh fruit salad, choice of white or wholemeal toast,choice of cereals, fruit juices, clean and comfortable rooms, convenient parking, good seafront location, we are sure that we will be returning again and again

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the seafront also overlook the road, but not too much traffic overnight
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very nice stay. Room was ok and was clean. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was ok, it was a very busy weekend so I think the staff members were a little stretched. I would recommend as location is great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Thank you for a wonderful four night break. Nice clean room, excellent food and brilliant staff. Special thanks to Jenny, Abbey, Jamie and Doreen(?) who made us, and particularly Millie, feel so welcome. Convenient and ample free car parking was also appreciated.

Room Tip: Room 20 is ideal for a couple with a small dog.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ski_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
778 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#13 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run Boutique hotel situated right on the seafront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Camelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing