We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip off food and drinks”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Camelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camelia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rip off food and drinks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are good but food is over rated restricted in choice and very expensive drinks too, if you are a fussy eater find another hotel. I have worked all over the uk and by far this is the most expensive for food and drinks

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are sorry that you were not entirely satisfied with your recent stay at the Camelia.
Our bar tariff is price-matched to other comparable establishments in the immediate vicinity.
As well as the a la carte menu, we serve Deck and Bar Snack menus and have a daily set menu and daily Specials board, providing a competitively priced, wide variety of fresh produce, prepared to order.
Room service is available across all of these menus, if preferred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    112
    43
    18
    10
See reviews for
96
199
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Camelia numerous times on business trips I thought it was about time I left a review.

The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated & spotlessly clean. Rooms at the front of the hotel also provide great views of the sea. The staff are extremely helpful & friendly & nothing is too much trouble.

The restaurant menu is varied and the food & breakfasts are excellent.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area & will be booking again when I need to visit Southend next.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PKnBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Really nice, clean and well looked after. Staff really helpful, about 20 mins walk from centre of town, went to a gig so it was a nice night walk back. Would Recommend to all couples wanting a bit of a quite stay, nice breakfast included in the price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hackney23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed Friday night, didn’t book till about 1800 and arrived hour and half later (drove from Cambridge), and just wanted to say we had a lovely time . The staff that greeted us Friday night and also the breakfast staff were really good. Siting out on the front with sun and smell of ozone was brilliant start to the day. I was a bit fragile the next morning, so restrained myself to moderate portions of the English breakfast (unlike my girlfriend !), but the unlimited toast (granary was delicious) and jams soon restored me. Will deffo come again when we next visit the theatre.
Please show your staff this and thanks again.

John and Helen.

Room Tip: top floor rooms possibly best as you will be above the others so no sqeaky floorboards above?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in the ground floor king size suite in annex. Better definition king size one bedroom apartment. Front door direct from the Esplanade straight into kitchen (not expected) / dining/lounge. pleasantly decorated in neutral colours, dining table and 4 chairs in bay window facing the beach. 2 seater settee, armchair and large screen tv. Hall gave access to attractive bathroom, kingsize bedroom, and further door which led into a hallway and access to rear of premises and car park.. Altogether, all the benefits of a hotel, but no in the middle of it. Very relaxing. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Food was excellent. Great to have FRESH vegetables. Weekday cooked element of breakfast was made to order and portions were very ample.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritad211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leighton buzzard
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a two night B&B stay at the Camelia. We had a lovely sea view room that was comfortable and well maintained and furnished to a high standard. Staff were wonderfully polite and helpful - nothing was too much trouble to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was very good indeed. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank del1Bedfrdshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My family & I enjoyed a lovely meal as part of the Gourmet Club membership. We enjoyed the set menu, which was varied, & the food was cooked to perfection. I can highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere nice to eat. An added bonus is the sea view which the hotel overlooks.

Helpful?
Thank syefee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Property: Camelia Hotel
Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run Boutique hotel situated right on the seafront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Camelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing