We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camelia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ilfracombe House Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Roslin Beach Hotel(Thorpe Bay)
US$148
US$142
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Southend(Southend-on-Sea)
US$94
US$78
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Last Post(Southend-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gleneagles Guesthouse(Westcliff-on-Sea)
US$114
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Rochford Hotel(Rochford)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
374
125
45
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
125
45
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewupgraded to a suitesea frontfamily run hotellovely hotelafternoon teaan evening meallovely foodsmall hoteltop floorcar parklast minute bookingfamily roomstaff were lovelya lovely staysandwichesbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2010

we had a mixed experience lovely dining room ,good location and friendly staff ,the one evening meal we ate was good and food of a good quality and catered well for the nut alergy. .
Disappointingly after visiting the hotel the previous week to our stay we ask to look around the hotel to see if it was suitable for our stay we ask about how the hotel could cater for our grandaughters nut alergy and ask about evening meals we were shown a menu with no mention of them not being available on some days , When we arrived at the hotel on the Friday evening the restaurant was shut as there was a wedding party and again closed on the Sunday evening because there are only lunches available on this day-- despite a private party using it during the evening ,it also stated in the info about the hotel in the room meals were available every night .We felt let down as it was the owner we saw when we booked the hotel on our visit the previous week , we also booked a room in the main building however when we arrived another group were occuping the room and we were given another room across a narrow service road .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dartford9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Had a fantastic stay at the Camelia, my room was lovely and clean, very spacious and newly refurbished with a amazing view of the Thames . The food in the restaurant was superb! The staff are very welcoming and friendly! Will defiantly will be booking up to stay again very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Our stay at this hotel was again extremely pleasant its our second time. We booked a small double room and upon arrival the hotel was not fully booked and so the lady on reception kindly upgraded us at no further cost. We had a superb large seaview room probably the most conftable bed we had slept in. Dinner was lovely they specialize in local produce and there was catch of the day on the menu. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice. We can only thoroughly reccomend the Camelia to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beebeeBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Food excellent superb rooms staff lovely cannot fault. I stay away a lot on business and its allways a pleasure to return to the Camelia

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauliboySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

The hotel has clearly been refurbished and is presented well. Indeed, our first impressions were high, as the hotel was easy to find, clean, spacious, and had paid attention to detail. However, the first diapointment was the fact that the room we were in was in an annex building next to the hotel. This meant going through a dark alley way to get to our room. There was no help with this, and because of the rain, we had to find the door and lug our luggage through a massive puddle. Needless to say we were drenched and would have appreciated some more help from the staff (who we seemed to be disturbing when we arrived, and were actually not welcoming at all).

The room itself, again with first impressions, seemed extreamly pleasant. Indeed, for the money I paid it was actually suprisingly big and had a wide range of facilities. However, having spent the night in the room it was clear that there were two key faults 1) the heating was turned up too high (which was the case with most of the rooms judging how many windows were left open all night). 2) The water pressure in the shower was very poor, and turning the taps seemed to have little affect on temprature and pressure.

With regards to breakfast it was a perfectly acceptable spread - having both hot and cold options. However, once again the staff were unfriendly, going out of thier way to completely ignore us. It took five "excuse me's" to try and get a cup of tea and coffee. In the end we just went back to the room and made our own. Similarly checking out, nobody was at the front desk so we ended up giving the key to a cleaner.

These are of course little things, but given that we were paying customers this isn't the treatment one would expect. It made a perfectly nice hotel appear unwelcoming, hostile and a lot of hassel to be in. We could have done without this, so next time we will stay elsewhere - especially as there is a Premier Inn down the road that I have stayed in for less money and had better service.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozhassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews