We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't want a week there”
Review of Camelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camelia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

The outside looks lovely and when you enter the hotel it is modern, clean and inviting. The lady on reception duty was not very pleasent and gave the impression she would rather be at home. We were given room 16 and told to go through door in hall and up stairs. What a difference, open the door and your in a grotty b n b in blackpool. The carpet had seen better days and would most certainly benifit from a shampoo. The walls were all marked and scuffed, not surprising as the stairs are steep and narrow and manouvering a heavy suitcase up them is quite difficult. Suggest may be once a week a lick of paint on the marks or even a wipe with a damp cloth. The paint work was also in need of refreshing. After climbing one set of stairs we realised that we were on the next floor up. We did however have a sea view which was nice but the room was small and cramped. The carpet was plain beige and covered in stains. The tea making tray was hard to use as it was five feet of the ground on a little shelf near the window. The bathroom was very basic and compact leaving no space to put your things. There was a cupboard under the wash basin but I was glad I didn't use it as it got flooded and so did the room below when a pipe started to leek in the night. The management did in all fairness act promply when told. The bed linen was clean and the bed quite comfortable but the pillows needed replacing. They don't last forever. Breakfast was lovely, lots to choose from, hot and nicely cooked. Good fruit juice and warm toast. The car park at rear is rough and if you want to park your car after ten at night, good luck. We stayed two nights there but we are glad we hadn't booked a week. Downstairs is lovely but upstairs needs some attention. Some paint and clean carpets a priority.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cookie550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

We had been to the Camelia about 2 years ago, when apart from a fight between two couples in the room below in the middle of the night, didnt really spoil the experience. We booked again for a one night break and paid the extra for a Saturday night studio in the annexe. When I booked I was told that we would have the top floor in the annexe as it had a balcony. We booked in and then were told we could not have that room and they put us in the annexe on the floor below. The room was clean and tidy, but the balcony to this room did not have a table/chair to sit out (and it was about 30 degrees). There was a huge dining table with chairs but no kitchen (which is what we wanted), so what was the point of the table? The bathroom was clean but the bath had seen better days and had tape all across the bottom of it. The window did not open so it was very stuffy. Breakfast we were told was 8-10 so we got to the restaurant around 8.10 and we were the only guests there, we were given some toast and coffee. We were told that the breakfast was only just being cooked and would be a further 20minutes! No apology or anything. The other thing which was really offputting was when you opened the door to the annexe it was full of moskitos/wasps and flies! We definitely would not go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpion149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Hotel staff very helpful, room very nicely decorated, although a small shame a bit of wall paper was coming off under a window but the room and bathroom was very good. Breakfast was fantastic. I Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Having previously phoned up this hotel to book their ground-floor apartments as a wheelchair user........I was deeply disappointed to find that I could not actually ACCESS the apartment.
The receptionist was helpful and understanding, this is commendable and encouraging. Just don't say here if you are a wheelie !!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We have stayed at the Camelia three times and one year the family booked with us.and have enjoyed it very much. We have had a standard room and another room and this year it was our weddinga nniversary and we booked an apartment with a seaview with the balcony. It was light airy and very pleasant and clean. I could have not moved far from it but only had two nights booked so we had to do alot in that time.
The staff are pleasant and attentive and Doreen remembers us from our other visits and is most pleasant. and helpful. as she nism to all guests. The hotel is quiet and relaxing, The breakfast was good and the meal we had in the evening one year was very good.

One query I should have asked about, was the intercom in the apartment; I tried it and got no one on the other end and heard birds twittering and background noise. I should have asked at reception but did not bother as I did not want reception and was just curious about the phone. LOL!

We are hoping to book an apartment at the Camelia in the house next door as it looks lovely. Cant wait for next visit!

Thanks!

Marly 43 and hubby

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Marly43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

we had a mixed experience lovely dining room ,good location and friendly staff ,the one evening meal we ate was good and food of a good quality and catered well for the nut alergy. .
Disappointingly after visiting the hotel the previous week to our stay we ask to look around the hotel to see if it was suitable for our stay we ask about how the hotel could cater for our grandaughters nut alergy and ask about evening meals we were shown a menu with no mention of them not being available on some days , When we arrived at the hotel on the Friday evening the restaurant was shut as there was a wedding party and again closed on the Sunday evening because there are only lunches available on this day-- despite a private party using it during the evening ,it also stated in the info about the hotel in the room meals were available every night .We felt let down as it was the owner we saw when we booked the hotel on our visit the previous week , we also booked a room in the main building however when we arrived another group were occuping the room and we were given another room across a narrow service road .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dartford9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Had a fantastic stay at the Camelia, my room was lovely and clean, very spacious and newly refurbished with a amazing view of the Thames . The food in the restaurant was superb! The staff are very welcoming and friendly! Will defiantly will be booking up to stay again very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,640 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
790 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelia Hotel

Address: 176-178 Eastern Esplanade | Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £73 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run Boutique hotel situated right on the seafront ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Camelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelia Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing