We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£98
Fully refundable before Thu, 29 Feb
Priceline
£98
Fully refundable before Thu, 29 Feb
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
£98
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
960 results
Traveller rating
682
178
54
21
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
682
178
54
21
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view family run hotel sea front lovely hotel afternoon tea one night stay free parking an evening meal sandwiches thorpe bay night's sleep food was lovely breakfast was excellent cooked breakfast car park town centre a lovely stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 960 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2023 via mobile

The hotel once again has met every expectation
The bedrooms are lovely and when dining for breakfast the atmosphere is warm friendly and pleasant and all staff make you feel very welcome

Jamie and the team make every effort to engage with all diners in the evening and it is a lovely warm place to have conversations when your a solo traveller
The food is lovely whatever the selection off the menu
I have stayed there 3 times and every time you are made to feel even more welcome

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Shauny49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Thank you for your comments, Shaun - they are much appreciated. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stays with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2023 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a couple with a voucher for bed breakfast and evening meal.The room was really nice,decorated nicely with a good bathroom.The bed and pillows were the best we have had in a hotel.The friendliness of the staff was excellent at check in,dinner and breakfast and all requests were met quickly and efficiently by all staff members.Everywhere was so clean.The two course dinner was excellent.Breakfast was just as good and of good quality.We intend on coming back and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Parking at rear of hotel and free of charge
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JuGravesendKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2023

Thank you so much for sharing your comments following your stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience here at the Camelia and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. If considering a return visit, please contact us direct for the best rooms/rates/availability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Afternoon Tea

Wanted to acknowledge a lovely afternoon we had yesterday. It was extra special as it is the first time my sister and I have been able to take my mum out to enjoy herself due to ill health for over a year.
Brandon was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble, ambience was welcoming and view beautiful as it was a sunny day.
The actual afternoon tea itself was delicious and plentiful - we had to take some home.

Mum thoroughly enjoyed her afternoon out and we loved to see her smiling! We will be back again and maybe next time book a cheeky overnight stay too! Special Thank you to Brandon! Best wishes Denise, Catherine & Gabrielle 🙏🏻

Room tip: Parking at rear of hotel Stones throw from beach and lovely walk
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Thank you for your very kind comments - we really appreciate the feedback and will pass the comments on to Brandon.
We are pleased that you all enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and that we were able to play a part in the special day out for all three of you.
We hope that you will return and if considering an overnight stay, would recommend that you contact us direct for the best rooms/rates/availability. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2023

Went with a Red Letter Day gourmet break so dinner bed and breakfast included. Room was cold on arrival, but staff immediately sorted this out for us.Lovely location right on the seafront with free parking at the rear. Not a great deal of choices for veggies on the menu, luckily my hubbie eats fish. Maybe add something a bit different a nut cutlet or aubergine lasagna as a choice. We had £25 voucher each for food so paid extra for additional choices. Breakfast the next day was great. Staff were very friendly and efficient.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Allis0n8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit, which we are pleased that you enjoyed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. If considering a return visit, please contact us direct for the best rooms/rates/availability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2023

This is bit of a strange one, L have been to the location before and it is lovely there cannot fault the.Rooms, food and the internal decor.

But today, l was completely amazed on what l witnessed.Family friends have travelled around a total of 160 miles to meet up.They was celebrating a special occasion. So when l arrived we wanted a coffee to catch up as its been a while. So our friends who are in there 70's and not of good health, meet me outside.So as it was bitter cold there was nowhere indoors we could sit.So we had to suffer outside sipping our hot coffee to keep us warm. We had an heater above, but after a while this stopped working. In the summer l can understand but its November.There was other people suffering the same situation as my friends.
Its not as though it is cheap either. The staff was very professional and apologetic.Please management can you provide somewhere where residents can spend in your location instead of freezing their bits off. Please cater for your staying guests who are not eating early.I can understand the restaurant is vital to a successful part of any business but so are the staying people.

Room tip: Answers arefrom what l saw and our friends hotel room, as l was visiting only
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were unhappy with the situation as you saw it but feel that we must provide clarification.
The heaters on both sides of the outside, covered and sheltered decking areas were working during your visit. To comply with our Environmental Policy and to limit unnecessary power usage, the heaters automatically switch off after approximately 10 minutes. There is a push button for guests to re-activate the heaters whenever they wish to. Or if preferred a member of staff will do this on request. Other, regular customers were perfectly comfortable, and no other complaints have been received.
We were exceptionally busy in our restaurant/bar/lounge on Sunday lunchtime with a large, group booking in addition to the usual Sunday lunch bookings. Unfortunately, we are not able to keep tables aside on the off- chance that residents may wish to have a drink, but our rooms are all equipped with complimentary tea/coffee facilities. Had we been notified at the time of the room being booked that a table was required, we would, of course have reserved this.
As soon as a table became available on Sunday afternoon, we did offer this to you, but you had already decided to go elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews