We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok but wouldnt rush to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“ok but wouldnt rush to return”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Room was clean and comfortable, staff nice and helpful. Maybe I wasnt as lucky in getting one of their better rooms as some of the other reviews but my room was average quality, very clean , windows rattled a lot and had to wedge a piece of cardboard to stop rattling. Fridge in room but didnt work. Central heating kept me awake as radiator was noisy .Walls quite thin so can be noisy. Breakfast was ok but evening meals were edible but mediocre . Have to say that I have stayed in better in Southend. More like 3 star rather than 4 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    89
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
52
103
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We booked this hotel blind on the Internet and we were extremely pleased with it, would recommend it any day.
It was in a good place for walking into the town . We only stayed one night but would easily stay have stayed longer . Yes the bathroom was not big but the cleanliness was exceptional . Our only regret was that we did not have a evening meal, because the breakfast was very good . The staff were very welcoming and the atmosphere was very homely we found

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Good location for Central Southend.
Minimal parking space so be prepared to park a block or so away.
The room had all the basic facilities and felt homely. We did have to ask for the room to be dusted though as it was clearly not cleaned properly.
The breakfast experience was a little disappointing. Staff didn't notice that we had dirty used cups and missing cutlery on our table and that we hadn't been offered tea or coffee.
A little more attention to custmers would make a diiference.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedrick85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

A group of 4 of us stayed at the Ilfracombe in October 2012, and enjoyed the hospitality of the owners and the comfort of the accommodation. The rooms were sizeable and clean throughout and the breakfasts were excellent. Overall good value for money. Some distance from the station if travelling by rail, and in our case warranted a taxi as two of us are in our 70's!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

A great place to stay in Southend-on-Sea. The eating area was spacious and the food was delicous.
The bedroom (room 21) was small but sapcious in a odd kind of way. Bathroom was a bit pokey but ok,
the surrounding area seemed a but suspect, but all in all a good nights stop over

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Definitely posher hotels in Southend but you won't get better value. Room facilities 10 out of 10, all staff 10 out of 10. overall value for money 10 out of 10. A five minute walk to the Cliffs Pavilion and five minutes into the centre of town. Let's find a quibble... small hotel car park... can be tricky getting in and out of it! However there is parking on the surrounding streets. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Checked in by helpful receptionist and upgraded to Room 1. She also let me know the wide range of food available and the bar facilities. Not a conventional 4 Star hotel and common areas a little cramped, but many more facilities than you might expect in a guest house. Room had desk, Sky TV, storage space, toiletries. Breakfast was a buffet with OK range of hot and cold foods. Clean, and everything worked - radiator, hot water, electric points.

Room Tip: Room 1 Double has a bath as well as shower, in a separate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthendEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
1.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe House Hotel

Property: Ilfracombe House Hotel
Address: 9-13 Wilson Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilfracombe House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'AA' Rated 4-Star Guest House which combines spacious and comfortable accommodation with a prime location close to Cliffs Pavilion Theatre and Southend's Adventure Island Funfair Park. • 20 en-suite Bedrooms & 6 fully serviced Apartment Suites • Walking distance to High Street, Cliffs Pavilion & Seafront • Free Car Parking • Free Wi-Fi • Free Full English Breakfast • SKY SPORTS in all Rooms & Bar • Fully Licensed Bar & Restaurant • Less than 7 minutes drive from Southend Airport • 1/2 Price Wristbands to Adventure Island Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilfracombe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Hotel Southend On Sea
Ilfracombe House Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing