We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a seaside stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We visited this adorable seaside town on a wintery night to see a concert at cliff's pavillion (a quick walk from the hotel) and booked a room at Ilfracombe purely for location.

We were so pleasantly surprised! The room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable. We were in a room just at the top of the stairs above reception and the dining room, but it was completely noiseless.

When we returned from the concert, we had drinks I the lounge which is for guests only. It was cozy and fun. I think the hotel manager would have served us all night if we had wanted him to! Breakfast the next morning was delicious, generous and included in teh price of our room.

This would be an ideal spot for a summer beach vacation, but we found it wonderfully cozy on our one night there. If you're visiting in winter, there are great pubs nearby and Oldham's fish and chips is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

Room was clean and comfortable, staff nice and helpful. Maybe I wasnt as lucky in getting one of their better rooms as some of the other reviews but my room was average quality, very clean , windows rattled a lot and had to wedge a piece of cardboard to stop rattling. Fridge in room but didnt work. Central heating kept me awake as radiator was noisy .Walls quite thin so can be noisy. Breakfast was ok but evening meals were edible but mediocre . Have to say that I have stayed in better in Southend. More like 3 star rather than 4 star.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We booked this hotel blind on the Internet and we were extremely pleased with it, would recommend it any day.
It was in a good place for walking into the town . We only stayed one night but would easily stay have stayed longer . Yes the bathroom was not big but the cleanliness was exceptional . Our only regret was that we did not have a evening meal, because the breakfast was very good . The staff were very welcoming and the atmosphere was very homely we found

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Good location for Central Southend.
Minimal parking space so be prepared to park a block or so away.
The room had all the basic facilities and felt homely. We did have to ask for the room to be dusted though as it was clearly not cleaned properly.
The breakfast experience was a little disappointing. Staff didn't notice that we had dirty used cups and missing cutlery on our table and that we hadn't been offered tea or coffee.
A little more attention to custmers would make a diiference.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedrick85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

A group of 4 of us stayed at the Ilfracombe in October 2012, and enjoyed the hospitality of the owners and the comfort of the accommodation. The rooms were sizeable and clean throughout and the breakfasts were excellent. Overall good value for money. Some distance from the station if travelling by rail, and in our case warranted a taxi as two of us are in our 70's!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

A great place to stay in Southend-on-Sea. The eating area was spacious and the food was delicous.
The bedroom (room 21) was small but sapcious in a odd kind of way. Bathroom was a bit pokey but ok,
the surrounding area seemed a but suspect, but all in all a good nights stop over

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Definitely posher hotels in Southend but you won't get better value. Room facilities 10 out of 10, all staff 10 out of 10. overall value for money 10 out of 10. A five minute walk to the Cliffs Pavilion and five minutes into the centre of town. Let's find a quibble... small hotel car park... can be tricky getting in and out of it! However there is parking on the surrounding streets. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,264 reviews
1.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
301 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe House Hotel

Address: 9-13 Wilson Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range: £63 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilfracombe House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'AA' Rated 4-Star Guest House which combines spacious and comfortable accommodation with a prime location close to Cliffs Pavilion Theatre and Southend's Adventure Island Funfair Park. • 20 en-suite Bedrooms & 6 fully serviced Apartment Suites • Walking distance to High Street, Cliffs Pavilion & Seafront • Free Car Parking • Free Wi-Fi • Free Full English Breakfast • SKY SPORTS in all Rooms & Bar • Fully Licensed Bar & Restaurant • Less than 7 minutes drive from Southend Airport • 1/2 Price Wristbands to Adventure Island Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Ilfracombe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Hotel Southend On Sea
Ilfracombe House Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing