We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilfracombe House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
pinawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2009

Found the entire staff extremely friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was better than we expected,and in a very peaceful atmosphere. The staff went out of their way to make sure that our requests were met. Would highly recommend this hotel, and will use it again.

  • Liked — self catering
  • Disliked — Fist room
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PinawaRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    89
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
52
101
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

The Ilfracombe Hotel is a very nice B&B, it's one that is almost a cross between a B&B and a full on hotel as it has a total of 20 rooms, a reasonable size dining area, bar etc.

The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and have a bit of character to them which is nice. I have stayed here twice and went for a luxury room both times as it wasn't much more. Some people have complained about these rooms but they have to remember that this isn't some 5 star resort, take the rooms for what they are! The luxury rooms are meant to be a bit more spacious and a bit better than the usual rooms not some super deluxe suite.

The first time I stayed I had a four poster bed at the front, that room was very spacious indeed, the second time I had a smaller room at the back but still had plenty of space and was equipped to meet my needs.

It's 4 Diamon rated I believe which is a slightly different scheme to star but I think the prices are very good value.

Both times my room had a TV and DVD player, the first was a 21" coventional and the second was a 19" flat panel, came in handy as I brought DVD's both times to watch!

Breakfast is good quality and I also ordered some room service dinner this time which was quick to come up and was very nice too, homely cooking! and Burger, Chips, Salad, Garlic Bread and a pint of coke for less than £9, not bad!

Would definately come back here and would recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — Friendly environment, cosy but with good facilities
  • Disliked — Car park is small, 5-6 spaces for 20 rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

As an engineer out on the road I stay in a variety of accomodation. The staff at the Ilfracombe House Hotel were really welcoming and helpfull. The rooms are comfortable and the food great. It makes a big difference to have a pleasant place to stay when you're working away and missing those home comforts. This is deffinately somwhere I would come and stay at again when I'm in the area and I would happily recomend it to others.

  • Liked — Helpfull staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EcoEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

Booked a single room which actually had 4 beds in it. Clean and spacious room. Breakfast was good but they changed the times without telling us.. Walking distance from the seafront although the less mobile might struggle getting back up the hill.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Heating boiler outside my bedroom door.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank timttrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilfracombe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilfracombe House Hotel

Property: Ilfracombe House Hotel
Address: 9-13 Wilson Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilfracombe House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'AA' Rated 4-Star Guest House which combines spacious and comfortable accommodation with a prime location close to Cliffs Pavilion Theatre and Southend's Adventure Island Funfair Park. • 20 en-suite Bedrooms & 6 fully serviced Apartment Suites • Walking distance to High Street, Cliffs Pavilion & Seafront • Free Car Parking • Free Wi-Fi • Free Full English Breakfast • SKY SPORTS in all Rooms & Bar • Fully Licensed Bar & Restaurant • Less than 7 minutes drive from Southend Airport • 1/2 Price Wristbands to Adventure Island Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilfracombe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilfracombe Hotel Southend On Sea
Ilfracombe House Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing