We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“QUALITY FOOD WITH FRIENDLY AND EFFICIENT SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marriott's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marriott's
Ranked #424 of 642 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Mainly Fish & Chips
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“QUALITY FOOD WITH FRIENDLY AND EFFICIENT SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We first went to Marriott’s Restaurant just five years ago on our wedding anniversary. This was on our first visit to Southend, and was just about the same time as we moved to Essex from the North of England. We now live only 22 miles away from Southend which we visit several times a year. On each visit to Southend we always enjoy a lovely tasty meal at Marriott’s – we have never yet had a meal that we were not highly delighted with.

Five years since our first visit to Marriott’s, we have just enjoyed a really fantastic meal for our wedding anniversary today (Tuesday 25th March). The meal, as always, was absolutely perfect and the service friendly and efficient. We certainly recommend Marriott’s Restaurant to anyone wanting quality food with friendly efficient service.

We are however perplexed by some of the previous Trip Advisor reviewers who complain of having to wait a while for their meal. Do they not realise that each meal is cooked fresh to order and that is why the meals are so tasty. I can assure anyone that the meals are certainly well worth waiting for. Perhaps these impatient customers should try one of the many fast food outlets!!!!! (I’m afraid however that the quality or service would not be the same).

Speaking personally, we just can’t wait for our next fabulous meal at Marriott’s.

Stewart & Hilary
Essex

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    2
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“50 minute wait for one breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stopped off at the Marriot on Sunday morning as we have had takeaway fish and chips from here before and were impressed. Ordered one breakfast, a tuna sandwich and 2 glasses of fresh orange juice with ice. After 20 minutes one glass of juice (definitiely not fresh, more than likely out of a carton) minus the ice arrived. We waited a further half an hour for the food to arrive. My daughter's sandwich was lathered in margarine and the side garnish was inedible. My breakfast was okay, mushrooms had clearly been left to dry out under a heat lamp of some kind as they were tough. The second glass of juice had to be fetched separately as it had been forgotten.
When I went to pay, the owner asked if everything had been ok, so I told him that the food had been adequate but I didn't think that a 50 minute wait was acceptable. He then said that it was very busy and anywhere down the sea front would entail a wait. Looking round the restaurant, I would say that 5 or 6 were occupied with a further 3 or 4 outside. If 50 minutes is acceptable to him when half full, I hate to think how long you would have to wait if the place was heaving. In that 50 minutes I also saw him outside smoking on at least two separate occasions. My daughter used the toilets before she left and said they were appalling. This is the first time I have left a review, but just to warn people the service is very slack and if you did visit, make sure you've fed your car parking meter well, you could be some time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helebore100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just came back from a walk along the Prom at Southend. Popped into Marriots. November 11th, the sun was shining and warm so we sat outside and ordered a large cod and chips. We had a 15 minute wait for our food to arrive. The reason was obvious. Everything was Fresh and cooked to order. Huge fish, lovely batter and chip shop chips the way they used to be.
Sure it was a little more expensive but how many times have you paid the going rate and been disappointed. The staff were really friendly, the place packed and you can see the reason why. Would go to Southend just for the fish and chips alone

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haventravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“cod at its sublime best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I had takeaway cod and chips last Thursday night and walked along Southend prom savouring them before ascending to the Cliffs Pavilion to see Jools Holland and his Rhythm and Blues Band.

The cod was thick and flaky, and the chips just right.

I don't get some of the reviews on here: the food was great, and the guy who served me at their takeaway window was friendly enough.

And at £7 for large cod and small chips as well as a "free" can of Pepsi it was good value and the start of a great evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not for the faint hearted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Marriott's "No1 full English" is the traditional deep fried version with a half tomato (fried) the only nod towards healthy eating. But who goes for a fried breakfast expecting any different? Service was friendly and yes, the owner does stand outside smoking much of the time but overall this delivered all we expected - an average English seaside breakfast

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FormerFlyer19560415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marriott's also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Hadleigh, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Marriott's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing