We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely discraceful”
Review of The Rose Inn

The Rose Inn
Ranked #406 of 658 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely discraceful”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have never experienced such rude staff. Whilst deciding what we wanted to choose from the menu the waitress approached us and said "if your not going to eat or drink just leave"
We felt uncomfortable from the beginning as the restaurant was cold and unclean. When we asked to speak to a manager we were told there is no manager.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 186338Ruhamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    25
    18
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend on sea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Gardens”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Good pub, very average. the menu looked great but when we ordered we were told that they didn't have certain things which was disappointing. Good range of ales on pump, and fast service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank emzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dog friendly and amazing”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is not always easy when travelling with a family pet to find an eatery that is dog friendly. The Rose Inn delivered on all points. We had traveled from Lincoln to celebrate our sons birthday. The Rose Inn provided excellent cuisine delivered by chefs Chris and Gareth. The steaks were succulent with a delicious char-grilled flavour and the gammon steak was thick and plentiful. Who can resist battered onion rings? Theirs were crispy and delicious and it was a joy to see our son demolish his food with alacrity. Our little dog was treated to his personal sausage meal and bowl of water, what more could a little boy want. Service from Lauren and Tina was amazing. All of us couldn't have wished for more. We were all made to feel special and valued customers especially Teddy our Yorkshire Terrier. Although the deserts looked so appetising we were too full to partake. Thank you Rose Inn - we will be back! John Linda Mark Ford and Teddy the Yorkie.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decidedly Poor”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch during the week and it was a disappointment. Staff are nice enough but the food was a let down. Average and warm sausage baguette with some onions and a side (cost was extra!!!) of white, but at least cooked, chips that you could hold in the palm of one hand. One positive the steak in the melt was lovely and tender. At over £25 for 2 drinks and 2 baguettes and chips definitely not value for money and we won't be back in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank Tony-Southend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Nice pub quite far to come to where I live but looks ok inside though nice staff nice drinks and the staff seem nice enough.

Helpful?
Thank Joe-Lazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose Inn also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Great Wakering, Essex
 
Great Wakering, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to The Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing