We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful”

Old Hat Bar and Bistro
Ranked #281 of 642 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Cuisines: Bar, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

awful, very unwelcome little click of people in there. avoid at all costs. only had one drink and made a hasty exit admist glares from the regulars.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jennie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great service! Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Visited with friends and our kids! Good was delicious! Generous portions! Great atmosphere and value for money! And one of the most child friendly places we have found, staff very helpful happy and a very relaxed atmosphere. Lovely garden area! Can't wait to get back without the kids for a night out as have heard great things!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lousamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Chilled out & great food!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Came here with my 10 year old son today..we loved how chilled out it was and the quirky decor. The lady who served us was very accommodating and we had lovely food. Couldn't fault it. Can't wait for out next visit. :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beaux27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable with great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I've been here a few times and I like it here. Its relaxed and friendly and they are very good with children. The food is superb, I haven't had anything on the menu that I didn't like. On Sunday they have a little cinema room downstairs where the kids can watch a movie whilst upstairs they serve the best roast I think I have ever had! Really friendly, although at first it can seem kind of 'clicky', you need to push past this to really get to know the place.

The prices are great for drinks and the waitresses are friendly and helpful. The location is lovely as its tucked behind the main high street surrounded by little boutique shops which makes it lovely and relaxing.

The ONLY complaint I would make is the owner (mother, I assume, of the daughter she co-owns the place with) can be rude and abrupt to her staff which I cant tolerate! The place is fantastic but this woman does let it down with her attitude and pompousness. Luckily she isnt in the place very often which is a bonus. I would have given this place 5 stars and not 4 if it wasnt for this woman.

Great atmosphere and a good mixture of people eat and drink here. They have live music on a Sunday at about 3pm which is a nice touch. Deffo try this place if you are in Southend next.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsacowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quirky place, tasty food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I can't claim to have tried much of the menu as I'm currently addicted to the baked brie with chilli jam and also their marvellous homemade fish fingers with 'skin on' chips (plus the most amazing mushy minted peas!) I prefer to come on a weekend lunchtime when the vibe is chilled and the music not so loud but it's a place with some life and there's a real mix of clientele which mixes things up a bit. Fabulous outdoor space too but the smoke gets trapped with the high walls so it's quite uncomfortable if you're a non-smoker. It's now a tastecard restaurant which makes it even more appealing and easier on the wallet but all in all it's somewhere I've returned to several times over the summer and I'm looking forward to seeing what winter specials they offer. Generally I've found the staff quite helpful - it's not a pretentious place - more take them as you find them, but with chips like theirs they have me hooked anyway!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tahlula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Hat Bar and Bistro also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Old Hat Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing