We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Legend - Deli

Legend - Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Fusion, Street Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Legenddeli Restaurant is a tiny backstreet bistro/cafe with a huge passion for food, having featured in the newspapers, radio and on TV, catered for Jamie oliver, jimmy, star guests and the crew on the set of the Friday night feast show. Legend deli has a huge emphasis on making everything from scratch with pure ingredients and zero preservatives or additives. The Legenddeli restaurant serves brunch and lunch everyday and a secret dinner menu on Friday and Saturday nights (booking is highly recommended) Chef jay and his partner jojo provide an attentive service and perfectly prepared restaurant dishes and desserts every single day and also offer a very, very popular brunch/lunch menu that is different to anything in south Essex. Basically if you fancy something different...try legenddeli. Give us a call for evening reservations or large private party bookings for any night of the week or visit our Facebook page at legend deli south end on sea for more of an insight. P.S WE ARE A B.Y.O RESTAURANT....PLEASE FEEL FREE TO BRING YOUR OWN WINE OR BEER.
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you want a quick snack or a hearth breakfast this is the place. Service is excellent. The staff are very friendly and the food amazing. A good selection on the menu which is expertly prepared by the chef to a high quality. We have stopped there for just a coffee and for a sandwiches with sides so our recomendation is based on a number of visits.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrowlerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    57
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Has potential, but attention to detail needed!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

After reading all the reviews we were really looking forward to our meal at legend deli but unfortunately we left feeling some what disappointed, it clearly has potential but attention to detail is needed. The positives, the food was good and had great flavour and we like the BYO policy. Negatives, the food portions were rather small...3 raviolis, unfortunately the waitress was not very knowledgable and looked a bit out of her depth and had to ask the chef questions several times (you would at least expect them to be knowledgable about the menu) the interior is rather shabby especially the toilet! We went to pay by card, the waitress took our card and then went to speak to the chef and then came back and said that they don't accept card payments (surely she should know this) We ordered the osso bucco, the beef was so tender but was served with a smear of sauce, the sauce had a great flavour but we could of done with a lot more!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A really good lunch”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was in Southend for the day and I was fortunate to have an excellent lunch at the Legend- Deli. I was met by friendly waitress who guided me through the menu. I took her advice and started with Scotch Eggs which were outstanding. The outer coatings of minced meat and breadcrumbs were expertly cooked and the yolks were runny. This dish was all that one could wish for! The Osso Bucco, Polenta and rich beef sauce was delightful with the beef melting in the mouth. This was a lunch with food of a high standard which was priced reasonably. I shall return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmywit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome,scrumptious and gorgeous food. What a jewel !!!!!!😃”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I ordered a Rueben and chilli chips.
Absolutely gorgeous and also really well priced, better than other fast food and sandwich outlets.
Will be back with hubby as he loves salt beef and pulled pork. A refreshing change in Southend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHEND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Wonderful food with lots to choose from, great friendly staff. Nothing is to much trouble and chef Jay is so passionate about his food and menus. Have been a few times and will be going back. Would love to try one of the evening menus look amazing :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legend - Deli also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Legend - Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing