We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legend - wait for it - deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Legend - Deli

Legend - Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Fusion, Street Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Legenddeli Restaurant is a tiny backstreet bistro/cafe with a huge passion for food, having featured in the newspapers, radio and on TV, catered for Jamie oliver, jimmy, star guests and the crew on the set of the Friday night feast show. Legend deli has a huge emphasis on making everything from scratch with pure ingredients and zero preservatives or additives. The Legenddeli restaurant serves brunch and lunch everyday and a secret dinner menu on Friday and Saturday nights (booking is highly recommended) Chef jay and his partner jojo provide an attentive service and perfectly prepared restaurant dishes and desserts every single day and also offer a very, very popular brunch/lunch menu that is different to anything in south Essex. Basically if you fancy something different...try legenddeli. Give us a call for evening reservations or large private party bookings for any night of the week or visit our Facebook page at legend deli south end on sea for more of an insight. P.S WE ARE A B.Y.O RESTAURANT....PLEASE FEEL FREE TO BRING YOUR OWN WINE OR BEER.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Legend - wait for it - deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Jay makes a mean menu, and that's just the all-the-time menu. The daily menu of worldwide treats with a modern and local twist are definitely where he excels, and he makes the food with passion and warmth - much in the same way he welcomes patrons to his restaurant. Tuna ceviche soft flour tacos and the korean pork steamed buns were amazing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank thebelber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    53
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things about this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I felt it was time to big up this fantastic gastro cafe again. Recently Chef J has been showcasing a great street food menu, my sisters and I visited on a Friday evening ( and countless Saturday lunchtimes) and the menu was so good we just ordered as much as we could fit on the table and shared it all. Highlights included the selection of bhajis: cauliflower, pea and brocolli in feather light batter, jerk pork and the best chilli fries I have ever had!
This is one place I can never get enough of, the food is inventive and delicious and the staff are awesome.
If you can ever get a table for an evening at the weekend its more than just a meal, its a great night out!
Thanks again Chef J and Jo :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babbers1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You've just got to try this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A little gem in a big town full of eateries that more than holds it's own. Imaginative food that's cooked with a passion. Proper good food & not poncey.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PollyB224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilled atmosphere and just great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Tried pretty much everything on the menu now and have to say that it's all excellent. If you're looking for somewhere different form the usual chain pub/restaurant, you really can't go far wrong here. I'd recommend the Chickwich with Oink from the sandwich menu or the Hashtag if you're looking for a hangover cure or a brunch option.

During my last visit I had something from the world streetood menu (jerk chicken with fried plantain and rice), which was absolutely delicious. The two other people I was with had the tuna tacos and said they were great.

We've always been made to feel so welcome here - I'm thrilled we have a place like this in Southend. Long live Legend-deli!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annejoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yummy scummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Absolutely delicious food, excellent and friendly staff. Outstanding value for money and highly recommended. A must for lunch or early dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolAlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legend - Deli also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Legend - Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing