We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food...small prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Legend - Deli

Legend - Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Fusion, Street Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Legenddeli Restaurant is a tiny backstreet bistro/cafe with a huge passion for food, having featured in the newspapers, radio and on TV, catered for Jamie oliver, jimmy, star guests and the crew on the set of the Friday night feast show. Legend deli has a huge emphasis on making everything from scratch with pure ingredients and zero preservatives or additives. The Legenddeli restaurant serves brunch and lunch everyday and a secret dinner menu on Friday and Saturday nights (booking is highly recommended) Chef jay and his partner jojo provide an attentive service and perfectly prepared restaurant dishes and desserts every single day and also offer a very, very popular brunch/lunch menu that is different to anything in south Essex. Basically if you fancy something different...try legenddeli. Give us a call for evening reservations or large private party bookings for any night of the week or visit our Facebook page at legend deli south end on sea for more of an insight. P.S WE ARE A B.Y.O RESTAURANT....PLEASE FEEL FREE TO BRING YOUR OWN WINE OR BEER.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing food...small prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Went here on a Sunday lunchtime and had the miss piggy sandwich...it was sensational for the price (£5) and as a side, some of the best onion rings I've ever had. A true gem

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    53
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for dinner! (and lunch)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Having eaten regularly at Legend Deli for lunch, we thought we'd try their dinner menu. I had high hopes and I wasn't disappointed! Whats more? It's bring your own! How to enjoy: 1. Pick up the phone, book table for you and your partner/friend/parent * delete as applicable. 2. Turn up. 3. Eat. It really is that simple!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, can't praise it highly enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Great food, sublime saltbeef melts, its clear a great deal of care goes into these dishes, Legendeli is always worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank co0lbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had to try this little place after reading the reviews. Booked a table for 4 - took our own wine - and some beers for Chef J, no corkage. We all really enjoyed our food and it made a change to see some interesting things on the menu - Saturday night was the "street food menu".

Among the food we ordered was - Starters: Mini fish and chips - great fun dish and perfect for a starter - loved the pea fritters! Banh Mi - great flavour, the chili sauce has a real kick - needed more chili peanut butter (that was just divine). Mains: Jerk Chicken - really succulent and spicy, great flavour rice and peas and the Jamaican seafood platter, i didnt have this but two of the party said the calamari slightly chewy and a bit tasteless, but the rest was delish! Side order of chips with brisket chili and cheese were great and went down a storm with the side of buffalo wings. Desert: OMG - the men ordered the Elvis Desert - never seen or tasted anything quite like it, heart attack on a plate but very very delicious! Oreo cheesecake - mmmmmmmm, the best by far.

Great night, great service with a smile (thanks Jo), great chef, good fun - Will be going back to try the lunches asap!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shazz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Legend - wait for it - deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Jay makes a mean menu, and that's just the all-the-time menu. The daily menu of worldwide treats with a modern and local twist are definitely where he excels, and he makes the food with passion and warmth - much in the same way he welcomes patrons to his restaurant. Tuna ceviche soft flour tacos and the korean pork steamed buns were amazing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank thebelber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legend - Deli also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Legend - Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing