We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

The Esplanade Public House
Ranked #117 of 655 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Visited the Esplanade for afternoon tea and had a fantastic time. My partner and I had different teas and were surprised to get our tea in ornate teapots, each holding 3 cups of tea - mine was a pub and my partner's was a Charles Dickens themed one - not necessary, but made the experience all the more enjoyable. Plenty of cakes to go around, nice variety and large warm scones.

Our food was served by a well dressed, friendly and efficient waitress. We were asked on several occasions if everything was to our satisfaction - it was and we answered so.

Would we go back? Without a shadow of a doubt and would like to try the Wednesday afternoon tea dance.

Well done Esplanade for giving a wonderful experience that we are able to share with others.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashgaroth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant valentines night”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Had a really lovely evening at the Esplanade for Valentines night and all for £25 per couple including a bottle of Prosseco . Three courses all lovely and served by really friendly efficient staff. The pub was beautifully decorated for the theme as were the tables. All round a really brilliant night.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at The Esplanade on a Weds!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Each Weds The Esplanade cannot be beaten for value,content and atmosphere ! Delicious afternoon tea ,consisting of sarnies,various pastries,scones,trifle etc etc plus a choice of teas....all served by welcoming staff and whats more..accompanied by a different singer/entertainer each week!..ALL FOR £15 for two persons ! You can choose to be seated near the music..or,if you prefer,away from it in a quieter area! Many get up and have a dance..sometimes a waltz..and sometimes a more energetic dance ! haha, Bookings definitly adviseable... as this event is proving so popular! I go nearly every week! See you there !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Excellent good value lunch”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very nice food and quick service. Our food arrived shortly after ordering and was piping hot. Very tasty and good value for money. Pub us a bit dated but that doesn't matter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hemmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips! .... But didn't need a large.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Visited for lunch on Sunday, ordered two main meals from the menu and a carvery meal.

My mother had the homemade lasagne, which she said was beautiful (I tried a bit, it was!)

The carvery was plentiful, good selection of meat and fresh veg and came with a starter of homemade minestrone soup.

I went for the large fish and chips as was ravenous. It was BEAUTIFUL! The fish was fresh, the batter was perfect but wow I didn't need large! So much food on the plate I couldn't finish it.

Lovely big pub, newly taken over. Great atmosphere and vibe.

The staff are friendly and professional.

Will be going back, highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank nuttybird007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Esplanade Public House also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to The Esplanade Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing