We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Southend on Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ideal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Absolutely fabulous. Clean and comfortable. We had a family room which had a double plus two singles – perfect. It was also larger than the usual Travelodge rooms.
The front desk staff obviously multifunction as we had to wait for her to arrive to check in, and she was never there when we went in or out, but when she was serving us she was very helpful and allowed us to leave our bags early.
Location was fine. Central to the town, 5 minutes walk to the railway station, various restaurants and food outlets around, etc.
For less than £30 per night for the whole family I don’t think we could do better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haze101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    75
    46
    21
    32
See reviews for
89
71
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The usual travelodge , basic and confortable, but a great location, only one minute from the high street and all the shops and only a five minute walk down to the sights of nthe beach, pier, amusement parks etc, yes there are probably better hotels, but for this price and location is worth a look

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I booked this before reading the reviews, and checked in with some trepidation. However, the September 2013 refit had been completed on time (there was a slight smell of fresh paint in the corridors) and the place was accordingly very smart-looking. The cheery receptionist appeared promptly and check-in was efficient and quick. The room was absolutely standard Travelodge style and was in pristine order with everything present, working and clean. (Don't expect biscuits, shampoos, shower-caps and the like - this is a no-frills chain.) The room was double (not triple) glazed and, being a city-centre location, there was inevitably some noise from the streets and businesses (including pubs) below and nearby. As other reviewers have said, ear-plugs are essential if you need silence to sleep. We never travel without them, and they ensured a good night's sleep on this occasion. Here's another tip: take breakfast in the Wetherspoon's opposite Central Station about five minutes' walk away - excellent value for money there!

Room Tip: Go for the upper floor: it's slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Western_Lord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have stayed here before as we visit Southend regularly and we also agreed with previous comments as the place needed a serious makeover, we booked to go weekend of the 20th Sept when we arrived you could smell it had been recently painted so things started to look up, even reception was having its final touches done. We got to our room and what an improvement the room was excellent new beds and mattress, clean bedding, we asked for a extra pillow when we arrived only to discover not needed as we had 4 plump pillows on the bed, after all these years of staying there the 3 nights we just spent were the best night sleeps. Even a flat screen TV with all freeview channels (nice to have a choice) The only but.....is the noise outside but expected as where travelodge is situated but our room did not experience much oft he noise only traffic noise if window open only things with the windows could do with replacing as catches were broken on them. Let hope these rooms stay in this condition for our next visit :-)

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the side of the Travelodge, the front rooms can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

So after booking prior to reading the reviews and then reading them the night before, we headed off to the Travelodge in Southend with much trepidation, it was far too late to book anywhere else and the reviews where all saying this travelodge is horrible, dirty, noisy and generally uncomfortable. I had received an email from travelodge saying they would be decorating during our stay but I was still worried. It turns out that decorating meant a complete refit, our room had clearly just been done, it had a great new comfy mattress and 4, yes 4 large pillows, and it was very clean. There was a new flat screen tv and 2 chairs. It was still noisy, as there is a pub virtually underneath and a nightclub around the corner, but things settled around midnight when the pub shut. I can't comment on the breakfast as we never bother with them, they are over priced for what you get, there is a rather lovely cafe just down the road instead. so if your not too bothered about some noise, and this was only a problem on fri and sat night, sunday was very quiet, then its worth giving it another look, they are clearly trying to make it better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just stayed here on Friday 20th-Sunday 22nd September with my boyfriend
for a weekend away.

Not sure why the reviews say travel lodge was dirty as our room was very clean and so was the hotel its self. It had just been refurbished so not sure if this is why its different now? bed was very comfortable nice thick quilt and mattress
had two thick pillows new decor was great two chairs in room with flat screen telly
plenty of hangers tea coffee milk kettle and just asked at reception for iron and iron board had it in our room the whole stay. Went out Saturday morning came back in afternoon had all new towels and bed made nicely

Travel lodge is in perfect location 5 -10 min walk to the seafront/adventure island/arcades
and just a road behind the high street shop lots of bars and restaurants near
I am a very light sleeper was only woken once during the nights I was there but that was outside noise so not the travel lodges fault I fell back to sleep quickly so wasn't an Issue
It does state on the booking that the hotel is central and some noise could be heard
so was expected. But we also slept with our windows open so this wouldn't of helped with the outside noise as room was front of hotel
this brings me to the only bad point of the stay It can get very hot in the rooms whilst getting ready or waiting around. I did not find it hard to sleep due to this but did wake up in mornings with very dry throat due to the heat This isn't helped by the fact you can only open the windows a certain amount but again this cant be helped as I understand the hotel rooms are not on the ground floor so Its for safety reasons this wouldn't put me off staying here again as its one of
the nicest travel lodges I have stayed in and will be defiantly coming back to stay here and explore south end again in the next few months!!

:)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlottecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southend on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southend on Sea

Property: Travelodge Southend on Sea
Address: Chichester Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Southend on Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Southend on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southend On Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Southend On Sea Travelodge
Southend-On-Sea Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Southend-On-Sea
Travelodge Southend On Sea Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing