We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drunken women!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Drunken women!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the Travelodge, Southend On Sea on Saturday 22nd March. After reading some reviews on this site we discovered that there were a number of people writing about the level of noise coming from the nightclub at the front of the building. I telephoned and arranged with a very helpful member of staff (David)to have a 'quiet' room. The room was fine and there was no noise from the night club. We discovered though, during the early hours of the morning, that the 'family' room close to ours had been booked out to a group of women, who after returning from a night out proceeded to drunkenly shout, scream, continuously slam their door and parade around the corridors whilst on their mobile phones. This went on until approximately 5am. Not wishing to cause trouble, we remained in our room expecting the reception or security staff to deal with the problem, which they didn't. On checking out, and being asked if we enjoyed our stay, we informed the receptionist of our experience, who, whilst apologetic, did not seem overly concerned or surprised. It seemed as if this kind of thing happened every weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    78
    47
    21
    33
See reviews for
93
72
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

One night booking needed for an early flight on a Monday night. Booking/price/checkin all good.

Room clean, hotel receptionist friendly & helpful, although lack of receptionist after 8pm when finding we only had one towel.

Settled down for the night at 9.30pm only to be disturbed by club music downstairs until 2am. Just what u need with a 4am alarm.

Note to self, read trip advisor about area and ask for a room away from road.

Other than that, an ok stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

warm and friendly travel lodge close to central locations short walk to seaside beach area perfect for a good nights sleep, only draw back no lodge parking have to use public parking across the road and charges apply.all in all not a bad place to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Booked a double room in Oct 2013 for £27.50p for a night.
Excellent stay, friendly staff, great room, very clean and good location for our nights stay, looks like the hotel has had extensive work done to it and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were in room 327 which was at the back of the hotel so we got no street noise or heard any other guests returning from their evenings out, I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Southend for any reason! Thanks to Travelodge for making our stay a pleasant one!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade,Beds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a very good Travelodge in an excellent location. Recently refurbished to a good standard, everything was modern, clean and inviting. On arrival the friendly receptionist was extremely helpful, even coming down to the street to point out where the best car parks were situated. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed for our overnight stay. The only criticism is that they charge £5 to go onto their Wi-Fi, a bit greedy to say the least.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Hugh_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

A nicely refurbished hotel that is much better inside than it looks from the outside. But very noisy, great if you are young but not if you are mature. Club outside closes about 4am and you will know it. Guest running along corridors till 5 ish.Ask for a room on the side,not on the road side

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Bennysbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We've stayed in this travelodge for three consecutive years for a girls night out and every time we've had no problems whatsoever. Admittedly as 21 year old girls we don't mind the noise from the nightclub below and local bars yet for some people the noise and location may be off putting. Great location for shopping on the high street, going to a restaurant and going clubbing. The travelodge is recently refurbished and the beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are decorated tastefully. Basic accommodation but for the price that's all you expect. The refurbishment has definitely improved the whole travelodge! The stand out feature of this travelodge is David who worked on reception. He was extremely helpful and cheerful and was a refreshing change from the boring monotone types you normally find on a reception desk. He also lent us wine glassss which was a nice unexpected touch. Overall great experience at the travelodge in Southend made all the better by David on reception!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky2014x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southend on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southend on Sea

Property: Travelodge Southend on Sea
Address: Chichester Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Southend on Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Southend on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southend On Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Southend On Sea Travelodge
Southend-On-Sea Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Southend-On-Sea
Travelodge Southend On Sea Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing