We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Short Break”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Good location for shops, restaurants and pier. Parking was a problem as we had to use the public car park opposite the hotel, which required us to feed the meter at 9am! Not ideal when having had a late night.



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    78
    50
    22
    34
See reviews for
94
73
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and was surprised by the entrance. You have to take the lift up to the 2nd floor to reception. I had requested a quiet room at the back but this was not shown when I checked in. The Receptionist had a look at other rooms available and allocated me a disabled room at the back. The room was large and clean and the staff friendly and helpful but I wouldn't stay again due to the noise outside at night from people and vehicles.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel itself is really nice, however we were constantly woken by outside noise, both traffic as it's situated on a main road and people leaving the pub underneath. The hotel should definitely have insulated windows to reduce the noise especially as I imagine a lot of families stay here during the summer season,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank karisgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southend-on-Sea hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel time and again, and its fantastic, the website does mention noise at weekends but dont be put off.I haven't had any problems, the staff are outstanding very unusual to have more than one good member of staff in one place. They really do go the extra mile. Wouldn't stay any where else really convenient near the shops and lots of things near by good for business and pleasure.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We were very wary about staying here after some of the reviews we had read, but all these worries were completely unfounded.

All staff, no matter what time it was, were all very friendly and very helpful.

When we mentioned to the staff that we had read about it being noisy and were told that Fridays and Saturdays could be noisy.

We asked for a quiet room and were given 319, which was on the side of the hotel and the only noise we heard was from the seagulls!!!!!

Excellent value for money, all rooms has been refurbished and in a very good position for the town centre, restaurants and the seafront/pier.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rushwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After booking this travel lodge for 4 days to visit family previous reviews got us worried, we arrived and had trouble checking in as the agent had booked it under the wrong name (Janet was extremely helpful and we were sorted after 2 phone calls), we stayed in room 320 and what can I say, big room for a family of 4, 2 single beds and a double in middle, room was immaculate, towels replaced daily, slightly disappointed that our milks coffee and sugars weren't replaced daily (until last day).... very quiet room (part from the night we arrived (friday night) u cud here room of girls next door to us but soon quietened down) overall excellent stay David and Janet were lovely and we're coming back yearly and would quite happily book here again, frankly and benny's over road, mangetout restaurant below, then a full high street of cafes, Mcdonald, KFC, burger king, clothes shops the works ..... definitely ignore bad reviews xxx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hines1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berne
Level Contributor
171 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel must have one of the most unattractive entrances in this part of Britain. We went into an empty box, and a soulless lift took us to the second floor. But the welcome was very friendly, and the staff extremely helpful. To avoid the noisier rooms facing the street, we took the room tailored for those with special needs - which was very comfortable and spacious, although since we had no special needs, we found the bathroom fixtures rather low! We didn't take advantage of the breakfast boxes. In any case, the High Street is a block away, and there are more than adequate facilities there. The hotel is conveniently and centrally located, clean and comfortable. We would use it again if we were in this part of Essex.

Room Tip: The non-street side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HectorFromBerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southend on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southend on Sea

Property: Travelodge Southend on Sea
Address: Chichester Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Southend on Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Travelodge Southend on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southend On Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Southend On Sea Travelodge
Southend-On-Sea Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Southend-On-Sea
Travelodge Southend On Sea Southend-On-Sea, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing