We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for airport!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great stay for airport!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Booked this as we had a very early flight in the morning.
Easy to find on main London road and next door to the biggest 24hr Tesco I have ever seen!
I think our floor was being refurbished as the hallway carpets still had dust sheets down ? But our room was lovely. Loved the purple decor, the beds were very comfortable, lovely plasma TV on the wall, etc.
My only complaint would be the shower pressure was pretty pathetic, but it sufficed.
Staff were lovely and welcoming.
Even had a bonus cat that slept in a chair in reception that made me happy lol

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleoface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    196
    54
    12
    12
See reviews for
201
170
37
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk, england
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel was really good centrally located although a bit further from the airport than at first thought but don't let that deter you as the rooms were really quiet. Hotel was being renovated but staff went out of their way to make us have a good stay and our rooms were really nice quite large very airy with plenty of light, good facilities (especially the light up mirror) and most of all really quiet. Beds were comfortable as were the pillows. We stayed with teenagers and was really good and excellent value for money.

The only downside was breakfast next door mainly due to staff so would advise you to seek breakfast elsewhere........Tesco is next door!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley.gibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Premier Inn Southend Airport and was pleased to find my room was on the second floor which as I was alone made me feel very safe, rather than being on the ground floor. I don,t know if this is taken into account for females travelling alone, I for one appreciated it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here from Mar 30-2 Apr. Staff friendly and helpful. There was refburbishment ongoing when we arrived but this was not really a problem. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was really comfortable. On our last night we had a problem with a water leak in the bathroom and had to change rooms at midnight - but we were not charged for this night of our stay. The location does not exactly offer panoramic views, unless roundabout watching is your thing! Would we stay here again - yes!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centurion5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed here in december for my works christmas party...the rooms were big clean...the shower was fantastic..my only moan is that as so many people were staying there was a wait for an ironing board

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel on 21 Feb. Arrived at hotel to be informed we had been allocated a new refurbished room on floor 2 that had just been released. Proceeded to room with new key, corridor floor covered in protective paper and smelling of paint. Could not get access to room. All the way back to reception then all the way back up with receptionist - she could not get in !! All the way back down to reception was then allocated another room - not refurbished ! Not enough towels, back to reception as no telephones in room. Thankfully, food next door is good.

Hotel needs urgent upgrade to comply with Premier Inns normal standard and requires Management guidance to help receptionists to run the place. Receptionists were good in trying to sort out problems but were devoid of any relevent information to help then in carrying out their work.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank freddietriffid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel is was very poor vaule I paid top price and the only room available was an invalid room The was an wall herater attached to the wall as the means of heating the room and it would not stay on during the night.
The brakfast next door was good and the hotel was on a roundabout and the traffic was noisy

Room Tip: Book weel in advance to get the lower price last minute booking is costly
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank silverjet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards as we endeavour to meet all of our customers needs. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Address: Princes Avenue | Thanet Grange, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catch a flight, head to Adventure Island or grab an ice-cream in Southend-on-Sea, just 15 minutes away ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex
Hotel Southend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing