We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not the best Premier Inn”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed here for business needing to be close to the airport. Not the best premier Inn I have stayed at - its dated and run down:

Room - given a ground floor room - they are refurbishing the rooms above, not quiet at all. The TV channel 3 had no sound - when i reported it they said sorry its not working any rooms! Bathroom at least clean.

Restaurant - Food clearly microwaved, would have been better going to MacDonalds.

Staff - Friendly but knowing the faults with where they work.

Overall cheap and cheerful but given some premiers Inns are exceptional this one scores low.

OK for one night but not for longer.

Room Tip: I think all rooms were the same, hope thay get ITV sound back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Many thanks for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated by the Management Team at this hotel.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    190
    52
    11
    12
See reviews for
197
163
34
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, E. Sussex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed there for two nights after deciding that Adventure island would be our next trip out.
Room catered for us brilliantly. The room was clean and tidy and although there was some refurb going on, it was quiet and comfy for everyone. Best thing is the price...cheap as chips.

Water was warm, so get a shower early.

Do not under any circumstances eat in the restaurant next door. Awful food, cold, overcooked, microwaved rubbish. service a struggle and everything was from a box. Travel out into S'end on sea and go the the American diner.Kids loved it.

Room Tip: Not near the car park...noise from people, cars and planes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiercePanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel with another adult and a 15 and 19 month old in a family room which consisted of one double and single bed along with a travel cot. The staff were very friendly and keen to answer any questions you may have. Refurbishment work was going on during our stay, apart from dust sheets along the corridor we was not affected by this. The room was clean and simple, no frills or wow factor. Breakfast was included as part of our stay, which consisted of continental and full English. The continental breakfast is laid out buffet style whereas full English has to be ordered, which could end up with you not having as much as you want due to having to re-order and then wait again. The only issue I had a breakfast is that staff were not very attentive to me it seemed they were keen to take your first order for full English but were making themselves scarce after that so as to deter you from re-ordering. The cleanliness of baby highchairs were very low, not one highchair on the three days we attended breakfast was clean and there were about 10. Overall a pleasant stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Booked this as we had a very early flight in the morning.
Easy to find on main London road and next door to the biggest 24hr Tesco I have ever seen!
I think our floor was being refurbished as the hallway carpets still had dust sheets down ? But our room was lovely. Loved the purple decor, the beds were very comfortable, lovely plasma TV on the wall, etc.
My only complaint would be the shower pressure was pretty pathetic, but it sufficed.
Staff were lovely and welcoming.
Even had a bonus cat that slept in a chair in reception that made me happy lol

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleoface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk, england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel was really good centrally located although a bit further from the airport than at first thought but don't let that deter you as the rooms were really quiet. Hotel was being renovated but staff went out of their way to make us have a good stay and our rooms were really nice quite large very airy with plenty of light, good facilities (especially the light up mirror) and most of all really quiet. Beds were comfortable as were the pillows. We stayed with teenagers and was really good and excellent value for money.

The only downside was breakfast next door mainly due to staff so would advise you to seek breakfast elsewhere........Tesco is next door!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley.gibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Premier Inn Southend Airport and was pleased to find my room was on the second floor which as I was alone made me feel very safe, rather than being on the ground floor. I don,t know if this is taken into account for females travelling alone, I for one appreciated it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here from Mar 30-2 Apr. Staff friendly and helpful. There was refburbishment ongoing when we arrived but this was not really a problem. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was really comfortable. On our last night we had a problem with a water leak in the bathroom and had to change rooms at midnight - but we were not charged for this night of our stay. The location does not exactly offer panoramic views, unless roundabout watching is your thing! Would we stay here again - yes!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centurion5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
721 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
672 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Address: Princes Avenue | Thanet Grange, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
#5 Family Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catch a flight, head to Adventure Island or grab an ice-cream in Southend-on-Sea, just 15 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex
Hotel Southend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing