We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Working away (again)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Working away (again)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have stayed here before and have never had an issue.

I was put into a disabled room (as thats all that was available) which was ok until the person in the room above flushed the toilet. I should not be able to hear this at all but I could, it woke me up at least 3 times during the night.

Informed reception & they refunded my money.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in a disabled room, very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IRW1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    186
    51
    11
    12
See reviews for
190
161
33
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Family day out in south end on sea, i taught it would be nice to stay over night so i went to booking.com to find premier inn south end airport quadruple room for family of x4 which i judged that it was promising. Premier inn as you see in adverts and brocures in the room there slogans "garrenteed best night sleep or your money back" horrible experience for me and my family. Room was a sweat box the heat made me have a headache the whole night and ridiculously NO AIRCON, we was in the ground floor footsteps from upstairs 10pm till 2am and doors outside corridors doors next door slamming consistently! Reception offered to change room when I complainted at 1am in the morning but whos moving at this kind of hours when 3 infant children are asleep?! They was apologetic and they kept blaming the area manager saying they have already brought it to his attention and still no action. The fan in the room generated the hot air circulation all night, in result made my wife have a sore throat and my 1 year old weezing the next morning. Had to sleep naked too. Reception offered to refund my money and of coarse I accept but it is not easy like that and they are not gonna get away with it just offering money back, people need to know to stay away from this hotel unless it is a snowing outside! Breakfast was another story it was not in the hotel it was a next door in a pub. waited 45minutes for cooked breakfast my kids was getting agitate when I was about to leave it had arrived very unorganised you had to order your food and waited to get seated also. Awful experience but my opinion be afraid be very afraid!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards and meet all customer needs. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very modern and clean hotel. Efficient check in, close to a large 24 hour tescos..perfect for those midnight snacks. Stayed here for a wedding and was very convenient for the town of Southend as well as Southend airport. Parking is available and there is a pub next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Have used this hotel in the past which was value for money & good nights sleep. Not now. Used to have the odd light plane landing at near bye airport but now that Easyjet has moved in all that's changed. Disturbed most of afternoon by jets taking off but with triple glazing bearable. Very hot night, no air con just small fan supplied so windows left open. Didn't expect to shaken out of bed in the early hours of morning by Easyjets first flight taking off 100mtrs above hotel roof on full throttle. This is making of mockery of the "guarantee to have a good nights sleep" claim. I will be staying at Premier Thorpe Park (15 mins away) in future.

Room Tip: Be warned of Plane noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stay here 17th August 2013. Good clean hotel, staff friendly. Didnt use restaurant as going to a party. Reception booked cab for us which was there on the dot.

Southend airport next door which means setting your alarm clock unneccesary if you wnat to get up at 7:15. Triple glazing nearly blocks out the first Easyjet of the day.

Overall good hotel for one night.

Room Tip: Don't book on the restuarnat side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelfcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The staff at the hotel were friendly, we stayed in room 79. The room was clean we found it hot both day and night. A fan was in the room but it didn't make much difference. The main problem was the restaurant next door. The staff were not very friendly and on the sunday we had to wait 40 minutes for cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I was hesitant about booking here, but it is great. Relatively cheap compared to most places in Southend... has been recently refurbished - bright and clean, super comfortable bed and selection of really good pillows, large flat screen TV, big bathroom. Really can't complain!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTBrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.1 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Address: Princes Avenue | Thanet Grange, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catch a flight, head to Adventure Island or grab an ice-cream in Southend-on-Sea, just 15 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex
Hotel Southend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing