We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Again good for wheelchair guests if you can get in and out of a bath, they really need a walk in shower disabled room. Service was excellent and the staff itted te height extensions to te bed to raise it six inches. All in all very good. Restaurant attached excellent will definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidsgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    190
    52
    11
    12
See reviews for
197
163
34
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our room was on second floor (no 72), was very large and airy and bathroom was spotlessly clean and modern looking. The rooms are very warm, and you arent able to lower the heat setting, but as the weather wasnt summer heat, it was ok. The Hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and we ordered premier breakfasts both mornings, which you go next door to the Hotel for. the breakfasts were very tasty and well worth the money. Both mornings of our stay we were dealt with immediately, no waiting around and were taken to a table, The waiting staff were excellent. We were a little wary about staying here after reading some of the reviews , but after arriving and seeing our room, we felt totally relaxed and feel sure that some people are not happy unless they can find something, no matter how minute, to moan about and give negative remarks on. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here and would have no hesitation in recommending to our friends if they were travelling to this part of the country.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Good location for Southend Airport and good on-site parking if you need it. Tip - the cafe at Tesco's offers an alternative to the on-site breakfast - and the walk makes for a refreshing start to the day!


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were unfortunate enough to get a room without hot water our first night, The staff was excellent at first, giving us the first night free and trying to move us to better accommodations. Somehow we ended up in another room that had something broken (specifically the bathroom fan, making the room very stuffy at night). After several bad nights we felt it was a bit much, and tried to invoke the advertised "bad night, money back"-guarantee for the other nights as well. This was apparently a bad decision. The hotel manager,Dave, met with us, stony faced and with a clear message that there would be no more refunds, but we would be assisted with finding another hotel if we wanted. It was a nasty experience, as there was some hostile tension present. We were told that the receptionist had felt that I was threatening when I had reported the problems with the rooms. I was surprised, to put it mildly, and when I asked how that was possible, I was informed - rather cryptically - that one can be threatening without raising your voice. The pinnacle was reached when I turned to confer with my wife in our native language (Norwegian), and the manager broke in and forbade us to speak in front of him in a language he could not understand. Needless to say, we decided to leave the hotel at that point.

This experience is the single most jarring holiday memory we have, mainly due to the hostility of the manager. Interestingly, he confirmed that all our complaints were factual, but that he simply did not give refunds for more than one night - because "then everyone will demand refunds". To be fair, the general treatment we received from the staff was good, but the overall experience was demolished by manager Dave's finale.

On returning home, we wrote a complaint to the hotel chain, Premier Inn. By now it has been over a year since this incident, and we still have not heard anything from them in the way of apology, restitution, or even an acknowledgement of our existence. Therefore we feel the time has come to share our experience with other potential travellers.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyrre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your comments will be followed up by the Management Team. Your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for the night before our flight from Southend Airport, it is very close and convenient for this purpose. We had a peaceful nights sleep considering how close the airport is. We found the room very warm and that is my only gripe about our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrytms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here overnight en route to Poland on a red-eye flight from Southend Airport, and, as with most Premier Inn hotels, you know what to expect. The hotel is nicely located within a mile and a half of the airport. We used the airport Meet and Greet car parkng service. The hotel staff were very polite and accommodating, the room was fine with great bedding. There was also a lift for the higher floors. (not always available in Premier Inns) There was a Table Table Restaurant next door, where we had an evening meal. It was good value and great service. No problems with staying here, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zggb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stay at this hotel regularly on business. It is good value and the rooms are clean but characterless. You have to be careful if the weather is hot as there is no air conditioning and the rooms can be stifling. I would not recommend eating in the pub next door as the quality of the food and the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. All in all you get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieSue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Address: Princes Avenue | Thanet Grange, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catch a flight, head to Adventure Island or grab an ice-cream in Southend-on-Sea, just 15 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel Southend-On-Sea, Essex
Hotel Southend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing