We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely poor standard and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extremely poor standard and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My family and I have often had Afternoon Tea at Greenwoods unfortunately the experience we recently had on the 4th March means we will not be returning and will advise friends and colleagues against the Afternoon Tea for £14.95 each which consisted of six fingers of sandwiches, a small pot of tea which equated to one and a half cups each, with no choice of tea,two very dry cakes, two very thin slices of swiss roll middle removed and part of a strawberry inserted with a blackberry placed on top, there were also four pieces of around one and a quarter inch round approx half an inch high I asked what these were and was informed they were scones. I did voice my complaint and apparently this was brought to the attention of the chef. Upon leaving I again voiced my complaint to which a senior member of staff was called, excuses were made re the new chef and the change of ownership taking place. In my view any changes should not affect the customer. If it were not a prepaid gift we would have left.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your Afternoon tea at Greenwoods.
We receive very good reviews about our teas and I am surprised that you experienced so many problems. I am sure that had you asked for more tea this would not have been a problem and our scones are prepared in house and are usually very good.
I agree changes should not affect the customer and will look into this. We are currently reviewing our Afternoon tea service and our product and I hope that you will come back one day to try it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    124
    77
    36
    48
See reviews for
153
200
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stay at Greenwood from Friday to Saturday and enjoyed it, the room was nice and the facilities were good apart from only one tea bag in the room but I did ask at reception and was given some more . I found the food quite expensive 2 sandwiches & 2 coffees £20 ... but just across the road there was a nice little country pub called hoop that does lovely fish dishes. Breakfast was a disaster, we waited ages to be served there was only one waitresses. There was no cutlery or juicy. But when our breakfast arrived it was very nice. All in all a nice hotel would defiantly book again .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your review we are always pleased to receive feedback good or bad.
We took ownership of Greenwoods on 21/2/14 and are currently carrying out a phased refurbishment of the hotel and facilities. I am surprised at the fact that you only had one teabag in the room and have spoken to housekeeping about this. We are also currently looking at all areas of the hotel operations including menus and service and will certainly look into the problems that you found with breakfast. I hope that you will return to Greenwoods in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Greenwoods is now currently under new ownership.
My husband and I booked direct with hotel, 1 night/Use of Spa/Dinner & Breakfast, I had 2 treatments which I chose from brochure and booked at least 2 weeks before, these were fab, (tip: definitely book any treatments in advance as they were very busy!). Pool area was absolutely heaving with people (mainly groups of women on afternoon tea), could barely squeeze into Sauna or Steam room, there were no beds by the pool as people had reserved them with towels, not as relaxing as we had imagined which was a shame. Our bedroom (36) needed a bit of a spruce up, just a bit tired. Overall can only really rate as average, good value for money with Dinner and Breakfast included but would try another hotel rather than return. We found staff were polite, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your review we appreciate all feedback.
As you have stated Greenwoods is under new ownership and we are currently carrying out a phased refurbishment of all areas of the hotel. The sunbed situation was highlighted by another guest recently and this has been addressed. I am pleased that you found our staff helpful and polite and I hope that you will return to Greenwoods in the future when the refurbishment is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Greenwoods for a two night break, the rooms are clean, if a little tired.

The food differed in the two nights we were there with two different chefs, one much better than the other, but both acceptable and perfectly fine.

The spa was lovely, my facial was the best I've ever had, the only thing I would say is that people reserve beds by the pool, and I really don't think staff should let them, as guests we couldn't lay by the pool as afternoon tea visitors would reserve the beds and not sit on them all day. Very odd and defiantly frustrating.

All in all a lovely hotel that I would defiantly return to and the added bonus is that it's not too far from Central London.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJudithCharmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your review.
We took over the hotel on 21/2/14 and are currently completing a refurbishment which includes the bedrooms which as you have said are clean but a little tired.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spa experience and we were not aware of the problem with saving beds around the pool. This has now been addressed and beds should not be reserved. We have exciting plans for the Spa and I hope that you will return in the future to enjoy the new facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Myself and several members of my family have spent my birthday at Greenwoods Spa for the last 4 years. It has always been lovely but was beginning to tire a little, however, this year was excellent! It looks like a lot of work has gone into an already impressive building. The gardens were immaculate and stunning, the decor welcoming and the pool and spa facilities were fantastic! Eating in the restaurant was an absolute delight and after a great nights sleep we all walked away planning our next visit. Thanks so much to all the staff who made our day so relaxing and keep up the great work with all the improvements.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Visited Greenwoods for afternoon tea. This was served in the Manor Lodge room and the decor was excellent. The afternoon tea however was unimpressive for the price of £30. The service was unattentive, there was no choice of teas and no replenishing of sandwiches or scones. Would not return for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, General Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review of our Cream Tea, Greenwoods Hotel was recently taken over on 21/2/14 and we value all feedback.
I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel but I am disappointed to hear that you did not feel the Cream Tea was good value.
I will look into the points that you have raised and at the current Cream Teas that we serve.
I hope that you enjoyed our cakes which guests frequently tell me are delicious these are all home made in house. I am sure that had you asked for more tea this would not have been a problem, but I take your point and we will consider offering this to our customers in future.
Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The spa was beautiful and we loved every second. We were helped by Sam who couldn't have helped us more and really made everything easy and relaxing on our day. If you can, I would suggest to hire the private room, this is so lovely if there is a group of you and it is worth the extra money! Loved every second and I will be booking up again very soon! Thank you Sam and all the other girls!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosannaP5984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and spa. I will
pass on your kind words to Sam and her staff they will be thrilled as it is there
intention that every guest leaves relaxed and happy.
I am sure that she told you about the exciting changes which are planned for the spa and hopefully we will welcome you back to enjoy the new refurbished spa in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stock
4.0 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
10.8 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
16.0 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ivy Hill Hotel
Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
17.3 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
8.1 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Hotel & Spa

Property: Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Address: Stock Road, Stock CM4 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenwoods Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenwoods Hotel is a converted 17th Century Grade II listed manor house with 39 exclusive bedrooms. Other features include acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, an AA rosette awarded restaurant serving a wide array of exquisite food and a sumptuous lounge bar where traditional afternoon tea is served next to a roaring fire. The luxurious spa and leisure facilities include a fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Greenwoods recently underwent a multi-million pound refurbishment programme, resulting in a fabulous new-look spa, brand new bedrooms, gardens and public areas. We plan our special events with expert attention to detail and care: whether you're searching for the perfect venue for your wedding or corporate event - Greenwoods has everything you need to make your event a success - and more. A warm welcome, exquisite menus and attentive service await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Greenwoods Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwoods Estate Spa And Retreat Hotel Stock
Greenwoods Estate Hotel And Retreat
Greenwoods Estate Stock
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa Essex/Stock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing