We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwoods Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Went with friends for Saturday to Sunday stay. The check in staff were very good. The room was ok, the bed was very small despite being told it was king size. We have been members of the gym previously and had stayed previously. The gym has been refurbished and now looks very good - would reconsider joining.
There are things that haven't changed - the bar service / staff attitudes are very poor. Staff just can't be bothered.
Breakfast came very slow and we had to ask for tea & coffee couple of times and 3 T bags in very small pot. Breakfast staff treat guests as after thought which is same as previous experience.
Lovely hotel and hopefully with planned refurb it will only get better. But please do some staff training on customer service!
Go to the Hoop for food - lovely!

Room Tip: No double glazing so try to get a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne_2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review we appreciate feedback good or bad.
I will address your concerns regarding customer service and will
look at our current procedures in the bar and restaurant areas.
The hotel is under new management and customer satisfaction is very
important to us.
I hope that you will return in the future to see the completion of our refurbishment
as you said the Gym looks amazing we are very pleased with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    118
    77
    36
    47
See reviews for
147
196
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and some girl friends purchased the £30 spa day and some of us upgraded this with treatments. Treatments were great, albeit a little expensive, but the spa itself was a bit underwhelming. Pool ok and sauna ok, jacuzzi a little small, steam room not very steamy.

Lunch was nice, but supplements chargeable on most things and portions were a little small. And there was a good wait for for good. Drinks with lunch aren't included in the price of the spa day. Dining area was stunning.

Staff very helpful, and very smart.

It's not quite 4 spots for me, but better than 3.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claireybooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We appreciate your review and will look into any points raised. The spa package is very good value and would not be viable if drink was included . We could however look into a new package which would include a drink if this is what our customers would like . We are always looking at new packages and ideas.
Thanks again for your review and I hope that you come back to Greenwoods soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I took my wife to Greenwoods for a birthday surprise this weekend just gone (8th March) on a deal that was actually recommended by one of the reception team, when I rang up to enquire about availability - which was a nice touch.
On arrival we waited for 10 mins or so to be checked in, but as check in was at 2 o'clock, and everyone turned up at the same time, this was to be expected. The check in was easy, polite and nothing was to much trouble. We saw a sign saying that refurbishment was going on, and both had visions of drilling and banging going on all day, but we didn't hear anything.
The room was ok, a bit tired but it was clean and tidy and there wasn't anything to make us unhappy. The bed was REALLY comfy and The shower was very nice with jets cleaning you in places I didn't know we're dirty!
So far, so good.
Now to the Spa......
Robes on, slippers on, no kids - relax time!
So we found a few loungers and set up our base for the afternoon. We went to the sauna and it was Luke warm. Possibly due to the 3inch gap under the door blowing cold air in, so we went to the steam room ...... Same same, cold!
So we got in the jacuzzi. And that was Luke warm at best.
So that was that.
Dinner was delicious we had to pay a small (£1) surcharge on some items on the menu. The surcharge was so small, you kind of wonder what the point of it is, but anyway it was great, the waitress was so so friendly and made us welcome.
Same with breakfast.
Then we went to the spa for our massages and that melted away my disappoint from the day before. It was wonderful. The girls were very professional and good at their jobs.
So that's it! Overall fine, but the spa let us down a bit!

Ps pop over to the bear pub for lunch......lovely!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased that were happy with your room, dinner and breakfast.
And I am pleased that your stay was not disrupted by our refurbishment which we have kept to a minimum. We are currently addressing the points which you have raised regarding the spa and I am sorry that you were not totally happy with your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your treatments as I think that they are excellent too. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Greenwoods, and was impressed by our experience of it all. A beautiful building with very efficient reception staff, and a delightful room for our stay. Everything was to a extremely high standard including robes and slippers waiting for us to get to the best bit . . .the Spa!

We had a very nice couple massage in the premium suite which was very relaxing with perfect room temperature and soothing music.

The swimming pool was warm and a lovely size, the hot tub/Jacuzzi was very warm and bubbly as one would wish for.

The restaurants were very good for lunch, dinner and breakfast. The waiting staff were very efficient, and the food was excellent, all cooked and presented to an extremely high standard.

We would thoroughly recommend greenwoods, and would certainly come again ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.
I hope to welcome you back to Greenwoods in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and I visited Greenwoods Hotel for a much needed spa day . I have to say that although the hotel is in the throws of a refurb which I'm so pleased about because it's such a beautiful place and location, this did not by any means effect our amazing day. The staff have to be congratulated as they are and I find have always been so helpful and accommodating and my friend and I had full body massage and facial finished off with a manicure and a bottle of bubbly and a superb salad off the day menu in the relaxing bar area. And without mentioning any names there were a few celebs wafting through which made it ever more exciting.

It's good to see changes going on at this gorgeous place including some of the managers mentioned a new restaurant to be built in the spa area and refurb in public areas so I look forward to coming back and seeing the changes and it will be worth the wait I'm sure. I highly recommend a visit and stay at Greenwoods.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JamesClarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review we appreciate all feedback.
We try very hard to please our guests in the hope that they will return in the future and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I were bought an overnight stay at Greenwoods as a gift. We love going away and staying overnight at spa hotels as you come away feeling refreshed and revitalised. Unfortunately, this was not the case at Greenwoods.

Firstly I need to say that the receptionists are exceptional and I hope their efforts are recognised by management. Secondly, the therapists and staff in the spa area are also excellent.

Our experience was mediocre and the excuse of "we're under new management" and "we are currently refurbishing" was used constantly. Our room which was directly above the newly relocated gym was very noisy. So much so that we asked the manager (who was very helpful) to come and listen to a gentleman pounding the treadmill below us.

The spa pool area was untidy and not in the least relaxing. The beds around the pool were empty and were covered in towels and gowns left by guests. We decided to pop into the steam room but were unable to because of people lying down on the seats. We eventually got changed, went for a walk in the tired grounds and returned to the lounge for pre-dinner drinks.

The restaurant is ok. The same cannot be said for the menu. A bland choice of food that most people could cook at home, - not inspiring. The artificial blue flowers in vases by the windows were dated and unnecessary.

The following morning we were woken up at 6am by banging doors. Another uninspiring visit to the restaurant for breakfast followed.

My Tangle Me Up wrap was sensational and Katherine, my therapist was very good.

All in all, my husband and I would not return to Greenwoods, - nor would we recommend them. We are both astonished to find the hotel and restaurant has four AA stars and assume they did not actually get a visit from the AA!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Greenwoods.
It is very difficult to accommodate everybody's needs and its is a shame that you found so many things not to your liking, I am currently investigating and addressing the problems that you experienced but with all change there is an element of disruption and we feel that we have kept it to a minimum. We have had many good reviews during the refurbishment so I am sad to hear that you would not return. Hopefully you will reconsider and .try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Greenwoods gets better and better with the new management. The reason my mum and I go so often is not just to do the aqua class with Robin but also to chill out. The reception staff are always so friendly, they have a great team of beauty therapists, to name my favourites, Karen and Jessica. We always feel so welcome. The place has a great atmosphere as its classy with members who are very friendly rather than some other local places that can be clicky and posey. I highly recomend Greenwoods.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank neveragain30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I am pleased to hear that you enjoy our facilities at Greenwoods and I thank you for your feedback. We are making exciting changes throughout our hotel and I am sure that you will enjoy the new facilities even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stock
4.0 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
10.8 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
16.0 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
8.1 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Hotel & Spa

Property: Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Address: Stock Road, Stock CM4 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenwoods Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenwoods Hotel is a beautiful converted 17th Century Manor House. Offering a range of exclusive Rooms, exquisite fine dining in our Restaurant, traditional afternoon tea and luxury Spa packages. We also boast a fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool and modern spa facilities. Greenwoods has also just completed a multi million pound refurbishment programme, which includes: new-look spa, brand new bedrooms, gardens and public areas. We plan our special events with expert attention to detail and care: whether you're searching for the perfect wedding venue or a Corporate & Banqueting function - Greenwoods has everything you need to make your event a success - and more. Enjoy the Afternoon Tea next to a crackling fireplace, indulge in a drink in our Manor Lounge, order a snack or an a la carte meal in our fabulous restaurant- Greenwoods will ensure your visit is one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Greenwoods Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwoods Estate Spa And Retreat Hotel Stock
Greenwoods Estate Hotel And Retreat
Greenwoods Estate Stock
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa Essex/Stock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing