We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but not as great as previous visits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“ok but not as great as previous visits”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I've visited Greenwoods several times and have always had a great and relaxing time. I still enjoyed this time but did experience a few things that spoilt it. I visited with my mum and we started our morning with tea and a pastry in the lounge area, this was nice, however my mum got a mouthful of a partly cooked dietary label within her pastry which was a bit off putting! Lunch was nice, however the choices were not dissimilar to the exact menu we had a year ago, thought perhaps something different would have been nice! We both had a treatment, a manicure. Unfortunately this wasn't done very well at all and even though the beautician was very nice, the result was mine and my mums nails looking patchy and it also didn't really last. You also used to get the remainder of the nail polish to take home but this is no longer the case and they had none of the colour I chose for me to purchase and take home. I would return to greenwoods as I have usually had a great time, I'm hoping that this was just an off day!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank johanna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your review of a spa day with us at Greenwoods. We value all comments from our guests and have made sure that all feedback has been passed to the appropriate staff to investigate.
The hotel is currently under new ownership and we have plans to refurbish all areas of the hotel and spa. The changing rooms and our function rooms will be finished within the next week, and we have plans to do the restaurant and kitchen in the following weeks. This will include launching a new menu, full of fresh, local ingredients, which we hope you will come back and try.
Our Spa Manager has asked me to apologise for any disappointment with the treatments on the day of your visit. We do always have a member of our management team on duty, to assist with any queries that are brought to our attention, so that we can make sure all of our guests leave us completely satisfied with their experience.
Please do contact us directly to discuss the details of your feedback so that a satisfactory conclusion can be made.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    127
    79
    36
    49
See reviews for
154
203
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Having booked the "traditional afternoon tea and jazz" event at this 17th century 4star manor house I was very much looking forward to taking my mother there my sister and niece made a special trip from London to attend . On arrival we were directed out out of the hotel and into a bland, cold marquee. There was no music, the 2 piece jazz band were still setting up in a stage that looked like it was set up and left from a wedding the night before. We waited and we waited with no music or any kind of service. The crockery was mass catering white. We had to pull a waiter aside to order a drink who then announced how much that would be instead of putting a chitty in the table. After waiting an hour we had one cup of tea served from a plastic flask. No one told us the order of the afternoon until I questioned the head waiter. We had no food whilst other tables were having their sandwiches topped up. Finally after guests on another table also speaking with a waiter we received our stand of tea. The scones were burned. We returned three of them. Two were brought back. None of the waiters seemed to be properly trained. All in all the whole afternoon was the worst afternoon tea experience ive ever had. I didnt pay for the extra drinks. Difficult to argue for your money back on the tea as we foolishly paid upfront. Very very poor experience, in a marquee (which was not mentioned when booking). Shame on you Greenwards for charging that price. What a con!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LoopsterEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding the afternoon tea with jazz we hosted for Mothers Day. We were very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with any aspect of the afternoon and have discussed this with all the relevant staff and management.
We do make all of the cakes, scones and bread from fresh each day and just before service and as such, I am sorry that you did not enjoy this aspect of the afternoon.
Our front of house staff and management have apologised if you were disappointed in their services.
We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you directly to ensure that your faith in our brand can be restored.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I spent the last weekend at Greenwoods Hotel while I was over from Geneva visiting family. Overall experience was great. I can see they are in the process of making renovations and improvements to the hotel. The hotel has great potential and the new gym is very nice. The service was good and efficient. The evening meal in the restaurant was pleasant. Now the hotel is under new ownership, with time I can see the hotel will only get better and I am looking forward to spending another weekend there in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 787rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding a recent visit. We are in the process of sympathetically renovating all of the hotel and spa and we are delighted that you have enjoyed our new facilities.
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay: I have passed your comments along to all of our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Came here with my husband for a spa afternoon with afternoon tea.
The outside of the hotel looks lovely but the rest of it isn't so great. We used the spa which felt old, tired and wasn't very clean. In fact the ladies showers were full of mould and disgusting. The robes were old and threadbare. We ended up not staying in there for very long as it didn't feel like a spa should feel.
Afternoon tea was served by a very pleasant waiter but the food tasted cheap and the scone was stale.
Staff kept telling us that this and that was being renovated but to be honest they shouldn't even be accepting paying guests with it in this state of limbo. They should close it and wait for the renovations to be done instead of taking customers money.
We would not recommend it and will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your message regarding a recent visit to our spa. We are always grateful to receive feedback from our guests and I was very disappointed to learn that you were unhappy with any aspect of your day.
Our new owners took over at the end of February and have replaced all of the towels and gowns we use in the spa and work to the changing rooms will be completed in the next week.
We have been mindful of our guests throughout the renovations and we are sure that customers will be pleased with the results.
All of the cakes we serve for afternoon tea are made freshly each day by our chefs and our staff are on hand and would be happy to deal with any issues that are brought to our attention at the time.
I do hope that you will return soon to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is the second time I have visited Greenwoods for afternoon tea. Service was slow and it was very busy. The sandwiches and cakes were very cold as if they had been kept in the fridge. Not a very exciting selection and the scone was very hard. On the positive side we were offered refills of coffee. With a few small changes it could be a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenquy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review.
We do not keep our sandwiches and cakes in the fridge so I am surprised
to hear that they were cold and I will look into this.
We constantly review our cakes selection and appreciate your
feedback as it helps us to meet our customers requirements.
I hope that you will come back again in the future and look forward to
seeing you.

Best regards
House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Came here with friends on a spa day, the hotel is lovely with very friendly staff, had tea & Danish (just over £6 - bit pricey) to start. The spa is very clean & well laid out, the pool water was nice and warm, my only complaint would be that the treatments felt a bit rushed and over priced.

Lunch was amazing I had soup, pork & then eaton mess and it was 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed the day, I would return & I would recommend

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pumpinicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Greenwoods.
I have passed your comments to the spa manager with regard to
the treatments. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our food
I will pass your compliments on to the chef he will be very pleased, we
feel that he does an excellent job too.
Thanks for your review and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have not been to Greenwoods before so I went with an open mind after reading the mixed reviews on here. As I arrived the first thing I thought was how lovely the outside view was and how charming the building looked. The reception staff were helpful and attentive and although I could see there were building works going on this did not affect our day.

We then went down to the spa and again the reception staff were very nice and happy to help. I think a refurbishment on the spa itself is much needed as it is dated and the sunbeds around the pool are a bit tatty and there were also loose tiles in the pool, but I hear it will all look excellent when finished. However one thing that I found a bit improper was hearing the manager shouting at one of the girls in front of other guests, I thought this was very unprofessional and quite frankly uncomfortable to witness. Treatments were lovely and I was able to completely switch off.

Lunch was very good, I was a bit apprehensive after reading reviews on here about the food but we liked our meals, good portions so would definitely come to the restaurant again.

Overall I think Greenwoods is a lovely place and with this refurbishment it should look brilliant, so I will probably wait and come back when it is all finished.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank deeA5568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
I will look into the situation that you have brought to my attention as I agree this is not acceptable. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit to Greenwoods and I agree we
serve some delicious food in our restaurant.
I hope that you will visit us again in the future to try our new refurbished spa and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stock
4.0 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
10.8 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
16.0 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
17.3 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
8.1 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Hotel & Spa

Property: Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Address: Stock Road, Stock CM4 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenwoods Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenwoods Hotel is a converted 17th Century Grade II listed manor house with 39 exclusive bedrooms. Other features include acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, an AA rosette awarded restaurant serving a wide array of exquisite food and a sumptuous lounge bar where traditional afternoon tea is served next to a roaring fire. The luxurious spa and leisure facilities include a fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Greenwoods recently underwent a multi-million pound refurbishment programme, resulting in a fabulous new-look spa, brand new bedrooms, gardens and public areas. We plan our special events with expert attention to detail and care: whether you're searching for the perfect venue for your wedding or corporate event - Greenwoods has everything you need to make your event a success - and more. A warm welcome, exquisite menus and attentive service await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenwoods Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwoods Estate Spa And Retreat Hotel Stock
Greenwoods Estate Hotel And Retreat
Greenwoods Estate Stock
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa Essex/Stock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing