We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is still appauling- big disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Service is still appauling- big disappointing”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having been to Greenwoods many times under previous ownership (not through choice) for afternoon tea I was always disappointed. Having been advised new ownership is under way I had high expectations. The afternoon tea has improved- not on the sandwich side; there are stiill 3 very tiny sandwiches with very bland, tasteless filling but the cakes were defiantely an improvement. However, what has not improved is the service. It is appauling. Why keep on previous staff that can't do their job? Customers should not have to repeatedly ask for tea and coffee, then again ask for top ups, customers should not have to ask for the actual food, customers should not have to ask for more cream as surprisingly the tiny egg cup portion didn't stretch enough for four adults whom have two scones each, customers should not have to ask for the bill, all of this is such trivial but very important things. This was the same problem before and again now. Staff need to constantly be checking on customers and ensuring they have everything both they have paid for and deserve. Customers should be asked if they want any fresh beverages. Customers should be asked how their afternoon tea is. Service was and still is appauling. I appreciate you have a lot to do but this is something that should of been addressed and rectified months ago the moment you took new ownership. It is a shame as you have made the exterior and interior look much better, however you won't fill an empty building based on poor service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANNIEWILKS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review of recent afternoon tea with us at Greenwoods. We were sorry to learn that you were disappointed with any aspect of the food or service you received.
The new owners of Greenwoods have implemented several changes to the service and facilities we provide to our guests and we have received a great deal of positive feedback about these changes.
We will assure you that we will continue to upgrade all the services we offer our guests to ensure that we are offering the very best standards of care and hospitality.
We welcome all feedback from our guests and would always encourage guests to speak to a member of our management team at the time, if they are disappointed with any aspect of our service. This would allow us to investigate and rectify any issues immediately.
I am pleased to note however that you did notice an improvement to the afternoon tea itself and have passed your comments along to all of the relevant staff.
We would be delighted to speak to you directly about your feedback and would ask that you contact us at the hotel directly to do so.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    127
    79
    37
    49
See reviews for
154
204
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Booked a spa day with a friend as we were both desperately in need of a rest. To put it bluntly I think we need even more of a rest after our visit to Greenwoods.
This hotel should be closed whilst the refurb is being carried out, they can't justify paying guests with the state it's in. There were workmen all over the spa and it was filthy. The treatments were being carried out on what were basically camp-beds in empty bedrooms. There was noise and dirt everywhere. I felt so sorry for the therapists who were doing their best really quite degrading circumstances, and the standard of the treatments was poor as a result.
We'd had no warning this was happening aside from being told that there might be a 'little disruption' when I booked over the phone.
We complained at the time and couldn't have been pushed away more forcefully; they did not care.
I have asked for a full refund as we spent £100's but left early as there was no point in staying; I've been completely ignored which I think tells you everything you need to know.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review of a recent visit to Greenwoods. We value all the feedback our customers give us. The renovations to the spa were completed last week and we are pleased to have launched our new-look manicure bar, waiting areas and brand new juice bar. We have been operating the spa as usual and have received lots of positive feedback from our guests about the improvements we have made.
I am sorry that you were disappointed in any aspect of your visit and can assure you that any client feedback we receive is investigated by a member of our team. I would encourage you to contact us directly at the hotel with your full name and confirmation number, so that we can verify your stay and address any issues you may have had.
The new management of Greenwoods have been keen to make much needed improvements to the hotel and spa as quickly and discreetly as possible, for the benefit of all of our guests and members and have made sure that the facilities have been upgraded to a very high standard, using previous feedback we have been given.
We do hope that you will come and visit us again and look forward to speaking with you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel for two nights (Friday & Saturday) with my partner for a nice break away! The grounds of the hotel are lovely, the staff are very pleasent and nothing was too much to ask for! We made use of the facilities including the gym, pool, sauna and steam room. All of great condition and we had everything we needed! The spa area was being refurbished but this didnt cause us any trouble, we had a look at some other areas of the hotel which has recently undergone improvements and they look amazing! I am looking forward to returning to see the new spa area when it is complete! The food in the restaurant was superb, and the lounge area is perfect for chilling out! We had a great weekend and look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review of a recent trip to Greenwoods. We are delighted to hear that so many of our guests are happy with the improvements we have beening making to the hotel and spa.
We have made sure that the work has been carried out as discreetly as possible and are glad that you and your guests made full use of our facilities during your stay.
We have now completed the work to our spa and brand new juice bar; which we are sure will be popular with our guests who wish to sit and relax in the spa all day without having to get dressed for lunch or drinks!
We do hope that you are able to come back soon to see for yourself.
Our fantastic new head chef has re-designed all the menus and was very pleased to receive your compliments.
Do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance with future bookings. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I was taken to Greenwoods by my friend for an afternoon tea .
It was really lovely lots of different cakes and lovely fresh sandwiches and
Scones.
I was talking to a really nice friendly waiter who told me that hotel was only taken over
In February by the new owners and he showed me some of the
Refurbishment that has and is being done in the restaurant and other
areas from these I could see it is going to be really nice.
I will definitely return and have a spa day as I am also told that has been worked on too.
The staff are really welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for the review of a recent afternoon with us at Greenwoods. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found our staff helpful and welcoming.
The new owners of Greenwoods have invested a great deal throughout the hotel to improve and modernise all the facilities as well as the service we provide to our guests.
Our restaurant and kitchen has been newly refurbished and our excellent new head chef has introduced new ideas and menus to ensure that our popular afternoon tea packages remain a favourite with our guests.
Our new spa juice bar will also provide healthy snacks, smoothies and juices for guests to have during their day: without ever having to leave the spa!
We do hope that you will come back and see the improvements for yourself soon. Please let us know if we can be of any help with your next booking.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I went to Greenwoods for a Spa day experience on New Years Eve 2013 and what an experience it was too...! I picked up a viral ear infection from the very dirty pool and spa which was not helped either by the non existent steam room and poor sauna... To this day six months on I am still suffering from the effects of this viral infection and although I had written a complaint to Greenwoods and also various reviews on here not one person had the decency to acknowledge my complaint or reply!
Did anyone else experience any awful health repercusions from their visit to this dreadful place in December or during this last few months whilst they were redecorating?
Would be interesting to hear from anyone who did.
I found the reception staff rude and in need of training on how to speak to and deal with the public. Although the service of food in the restaurant was very slow it was good once it appeared. I seriously wish I had never heard of Greenwoods via Wowcher and Wahanda and for sure will never be spending any time in Greenwoods ever again for fear of what else might happen to my health!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review of a stay at Greenwoods in early 2014. Greenwoods was actually taken over by new owners in February of this year and have been making improvements to the service and facilities ever since.
Whilst the issues you had on New years eve 2013 were nothing to do with the new ownership we are happy to explore your comments to ensure an investigation can be carried out.
We have not been able to find a record of your stay however and so would ask that you urgently contact us directly at the hotel to confirm the details of your visit, so that we can carry out the required investigation.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a beautiful hotel and gardens, a truly lovely place to stay. My daughter & I visited last summer and the spa was lovely we can't wait to go back very soon when they have finished renovating I'm sure it will be amazing. One of the best full body massages & pedicures we've ever had. The pool & gym were also really good. Such friendly helpful staff couldn't do enough for you & hardly noticed the painters making it look even more beautiful. Breakfast & dinner were both exceptional such a lovely menu thoroughly spoilt just got home relaxed & refreshed to enjoy our weekend. Can't wait to go back well done to the new owners this place will be truly amazing

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolN-Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for the positive review of your recent stay, our new owners are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your visit and have been impressed with the recent changes we have made.
We are pleased that the renovations to our spa, gym and public areas have been completed to a very high standard and we have already received so many good comments from our guests.
The new owners are working hard to improve the standards throughout the hotel and spa and are sure that our guests will appreciate the effort that has been put in.
We do hope that you will be able to come back soon and see the rest of the improvements for yourself and make use of our new, relaxing spa areas.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with planning your next visit.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I went here to have a quiet day with my sisters on the first anniversary of our mothers passing. Dirt, noise, builders, paint fumes, spa closed, no relaxation area, treatments done in dis used bedrooms with beds piled in the corner, feet not even washed pre pedicure and told to get stuffed (basically) when we complained. And ignore the pretend message from management re notes below - they have already refused to discuss refunds or compensation TWICE so that response is for your readers only. No warnings given pre booking. Do not ever go here

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LydiaLilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding a recent visit to Greenwoods. I believe our management team have spoken with your sister already regarding this matter. We would be happy to speak to you as well if you wish to contact us at the hotel directly.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stock
4.0 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
10.8 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
16.0 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
17.3 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
8.1 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Hotel & Spa

Property: Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Address: Stock Road, Stock CM4 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenwoods Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenwoods Hotel is a converted 17th Century Grade II listed manor house with 39 exclusive bedrooms. Other features include acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, an AA rosette awarded restaurant serving a wide array of exquisite food and a sumptuous lounge bar where traditional afternoon tea is served next to a roaring fire. The luxurious spa and leisure facilities include a fully equipped gym, heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Greenwoods recently underwent a multi-million pound refurbishment programme, resulting in a fabulous new-look spa, brand new bedrooms, gardens and public areas. We plan our special events with expert attention to detail and care: whether you're searching for the perfect venue for your wedding or corporate event - Greenwoods has everything you need to make your event a success - and more. A warm welcome, exquisite menus and attentive service await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenwoods Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwoods Estate Spa And Retreat Hotel Stock
Greenwoods Estate Hotel And Retreat
Greenwoods Estate Stock
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa Essex/Stock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing