We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pontlands Park(Great Baddow)
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel(Chelmsford)(Great Value!)
US$113
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel(Chelmsford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
851 results
Traveller rating
503
151
94
47
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
503
151
94
47
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon tealovely afternoonmy mumsandwiches and cakeschristmas decorationsvisited greenwoodssteam roomthree course mealfull body massagebirthday treatmini facialrelaxing staywedding venuean overnight staychanging roomsjuice barrelaxation room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
784 - 789 of 851 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a girlie trip to Greenwoods Hotel and Spa, we had a great time. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Daniel was particularly charming. We enjoyed afternoon tea on the patio, which had much improved since my visit last year with my husband. We have booked to return!! Keep up the good work.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank annedaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review of your recent visit: we are so pleased that you have enjoyed your visit and like all the improvements we have made since your last visit. All the patio and gardens have been upgraded to compliment the changes to the hotel and spa.
I have made sure all the staff - especially Daniel, have seen your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having visited Greenwoods for spa days before and always having most lovely time I was very excited inviting my two friends from abroad for an afternoon tea. It was a special occasion as they were on their first visit to England and the traditional English afternoon tea was going to be a special treat for them. Once again Greenwoods did offer the best service and food.
Staff as always friendly and very attentive.We had four yummy finger sanwiches each together with a selection of cute, little cakes and lovely scones.There was plenty of delicious food for all 3 of us, everything was fresh and nicely presented and we had the most lovely time. While we were settling our bill at the reception desk a really nice receptionist took her time to tell us all about newly refurbished Greenwoods spa which I was very curious to see as my last spa visit was some time ago.Nothing was too much a of trouble and we were shown around and even allowed to take a few pictures.I must say NEW SPA looks amazing, very modern and professional and I certainly will be booking my next spa day very soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Izabella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for writing a review of our traditional afternoon tea after your recent visit. We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and choose Greenwoods as the venue for your overseas visitors.
We are very proud of our new-look spa and all the improvements we have made to the hotel. Our guests have all been very impressed and we would like to thank you for adding the pictures.
I have made sure that all of our staff have seen your comments. It is a pleasure to learn that our warm hospitality and service has been noted- our staff dedicate lots of time and effort to make sure that our guests enjoy their experience and I am glad you have appreciated their efforts.
We look forward to welcoming you again for a spa day. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My friend and I booked a Spa day and we had a brilliant day . The staff were very friendly and professional and the treatments were really good.
We had afternoon tea which was delicious nothing was too much trouble and the food was very nice.
Would definitely return next time for an overnight stay .

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Pettsy1193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review of a recent trip to Greenwoods. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your time at Greenwoods visiting our new-look spa and pool areas.
Our afternoon tea menu has also recently been upgraded and we are pleased that so many of our guests have commented on how lovely it is.
We would be delighted to welcome you back for an overnight stay in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you need any assistance with this booking.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

20 of us stayed at Greenwoods together this week for a work related gathering. We had a great time and could not fault anything.
The rooms were beautifully decorated and very spacious. The food was excellent, our evening meal covered everyones needs perfectly. The starters were all delicious, especially the asparagus and the beef fillet was perfectly cooked. I particularly liked my fresh strawberry and vanilla pudding. The service for dinner was efficient and friendly and they managed to keep the 20 people happy and everyone got what they had ordered and enjoyed. Vegetarians and vegans were happy too.
The terrace is very pleasant to sit out on and the service there was low key so that you didnt feel watched over but they were there when you needed them. Over the 24 hours we were there we walked in the garden, sat on the terrace and had breakfast coffee served in the pleasant sunshine, had a great buffet lunch and then a cream tea which was delicious.
Some of the group used the pool and spa facilities and were very happy with them.
I really cannot understand the experience the other reviewers on this site described. We loved it all and will book our next years staff function here for sure.
Thanks to Hannah for sorting out all the arrangements for us. The village is pretty and the journey from London was very easy. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They were all good but I think the ones overlooking the terrace had the nicest view. You can hear the road traffic in the morning if you are on the car park side.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laplandbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for the positive review of a recent visit to Greenwoods We are pleased that you choose Greenwoods as the venue for your staff meeting. Our function team work hard to ensure the smooth running of all our events and as such were delighted to learn that we exceeded your expectations.
We have recently refurbished our meeting rooms and introduced brand new menus, which I am glad you and your guests enjoyed. Our chefs use locally sourced, fresh produce to ensure that our dishes are first class and we regularly change items in keeping with current seasons.
Hannah has asked me to thank you on her behalf, for taking the time to share your comments with us and looks forward to assisting with your next event.
We hope to have renovated the bedrooms by your next visit and hope you will be impressed with them.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having been to Greenwoods many times under previous ownership (not through choice) for afternoon tea I was always disappointed. Having been advised new ownership is under way I had high expectations. The afternoon tea has improved- not on the sandwich side; there are stiill 3 very tiny sandwiches with very bland, tasteless filling but the cakes were defiantely an improvement. However, what has not improved is the service. It is appauling. Why keep on previous staff that can't do their job? Customers should not have to repeatedly ask for tea and coffee, then again ask for top ups, customers should not have to ask for the actual food, customers should not have to ask for more cream as surprisingly the tiny egg cup portion didn't stretch enough for four adults whom have two scones each, customers should not have to ask for the bill, all of this is such trivial but very important things. This was the same problem before and again now. Staff need to constantly be checking on customers and ensuring they have everything both they have paid for and deserve. Customers should be asked if they want any fresh beverages. Customers should be asked how their afternoon tea is. Service was and still is appauling. I appreciate you have a lot to do but this is something that should of been addressed and rectified months ago the moment you took new ownership. It is a shame as you have made the exterior and interior look much better, however you won't fill an empty building based on poor service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANNIEWILKS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review of recent afternoon tea with us at Greenwoods. We were sorry to learn that you were disappointed with any aspect of the food or service you received.
The new owners of Greenwoods have implemented several changes to the service and facilities we provide to our guests and we have received a great deal of positive feedback about these changes.
We will assure you that we will continue to upgrade all the services we offer our guests to ensure that we are offering the very best standards of care and hospitality.
We welcome all feedback from our guests and would always encourage guests to speak to a member of our management team at the time, if they are disappointed with any aspect of our service. This would allow us to investigate and rectify any issues immediately.
I am pleased to note however that you did notice an improvement to the afternoon tea itself and have passed your comments along to all of the relevant staff.
We would be delighted to speak to you directly about your feedback and would ask that you contact us at the hotel directly to do so.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews