We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, everything overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Pool facilities average. No loungers available due to guests reserving them when not in the pool area. Food was overpriced and distinctly average. Room was average, our bed consisted of two beds pushed together so was very uncomfortable. Wi-fi barely worked, TV kept losing signal, lots of noise early in the morning. Will not be rushing back anytime soon. For the price we paid we were expecting a really nice experience. Unfortunately this did not live up to expectations. That said the staff were lovely and all really friendly. Bitterly disappointed...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LewisFisher89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review of an overnight stay with us at Greenwoods. We are very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with any aspect of your visit and have made sure that all of our staff and management are aware of your comments.
Our spa and fitness teams do ask clients not to 'reserve' loungers for the duration of their days and as well as having signage in place to remind guests, we also make regular checks of the pool facilities throughout the day. We do offer guests use of our luxurious relaxation room, which features private sauna and steam rooms and comfortable loungers.
I have reminded our staff how important our checks of our pool room is to ensure that all of our guests can make full use of all of our facilities. Thank you for mentioning this.
We are soon to begin our renovations of our bedrooms- and have noted your comments regarding the beds. Although this style of bed is standard for hotels we will make sure that we investigate the very best design of these to furnish our new bedrooms. Our televisions were newly installed when our new owners took over earlier in the year and have over 100 free view channels. We do have maintenance staff on hand throughout the day who would be happy to come and assist with any such issues that may arise and we do plan to replace the televisions for larger versions when we renovate the bedrooms.
Our head chef has very recently redesigned our restaurant, lounge and room service menu to ensure that we are offering an excellent range of dishes, all cooked to the best standard for a reasonable price. We are always happy to listen to feedback and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your thoughts in more detail, should you wish to contact us directly.
We look forward to speaking with you.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Arrived with a group of friends to find the refurbishment was not yet completed. Compact gym, warm indoor pool and good changing facilities. However, refreshments were expensive. Slow service in dining room, even though there were only two tables of two present. An expensive day and very few guests present.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank 9jaybe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback of a visit to Greenwoods. We value all feedback from our guests and have made sure that all of our staff and management have been made aware of your comments.
Our spa renovations have all now been completed and we have unveiled our new juice bar and new look spa area earlier in the summer to very positive feedback from our guests. This offer clients a more relaxed choice, with very reasonably priced snacks and beverages as an alternative to our main lounge bar.
We have also recently changed our restaurant menus to reflect our new branding of the hotel and have made sure that all of our dishes are fairly priced, but still offering the very best quality. We have not increased our beverage prices since our new owners have taken over at the beginning of the year. I have passed your comments along to our Food and Beverage Manager however to ensure that we are always offering our clients the best value for money.
We appreciate your comments and would be happy to speak to you directly regarding any of the issues that you have outlined in your review. Our staff are always on hand and will be happy to explain our new packages and offers should you wish to re-book again soon.
Thank you for your positive comments about our gym and spa facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Was looking to come here for afternoon tea for a birthday but having read reviews I've decided not to. The management responses are disappointing too - not really taking any criticism as fact and customers comments are being 'refuted'. Last time I came here the public toilets were horrible, very dark, and smelt terrible. Fancy soaps and no airfresh - why?

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review of Greenwoods hotel. We were very surprised to read your comments about our ladies toilets; which were relocated and re-designed when the new owners took over 6 months ago. As a result the new ladies toilets are brand new, light and very spacious and not dark or dingy at all.
We take on board all feedback from our guests and have made many changes and improvements to the hotel since our new owners took over, all to the benefit of out customers.
We do hope that you will visit us to see the improvements for yourself soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my friends booked afternoon tea here as a suprise treat for one our friend's birthdays. Greenwoods is beautiful and room in which we had our tea was lovely! The Staff are very friendly and on hand to help, the food was delicious. We also were offered extra tea and sandwhiches throughout our meal which was very good service. The cakes were not quite as good as some places I have been before, a little basic, though i will point out the macaroons were excellent and we loved the salmon sandwhiches especially. I would fully recommend it here. I am sure I will be back again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Clairevc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent afternoon tea experience with us at Greenwoods. We are always happy to learn that our guests have enjoyed their experience and we are keen to hear feedback from all our clients to ensure that we are offering the best standards and hospitality at all times.
We have taken on board your comments regarding the cake selections; all of which are made in house by our team of dedicated chefs and will look at ways of introducing different varieties in the forthcoming weeks to see which items prove most popular.
We have recently renovated our lounge area and will shortly be re-launching our new look Restaurant and menus, which we hope will be equally as popular with our guests.
I do hope that you will come back and see the improvements for yourself soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I booked Greenwoods Hotel and Spa for our wedding celebration a few days ago. I've been to this hotel before when we had a work leaving do for our manager, I thought then the place was very "posh", they had a marquee which looks very nice and I thought how lovely it would be to have a wedding there. I never imagined I'll be able to have "my wedding" held there but the wedding coordinator gave me a pretty good discount and so a working class citizen like me and my husband managed to afford it. Kelly the wedding coordinator was very helpful to me and supportive. I had the best day of my life! Their marquee is so lovely, and they have a partition hiding the dance floor and the stage, the roof of it has small lights like stars - absolutely beautiful. The waiting staff service was high class very professional, everyone was polite and accommodating to our needs on the day. Food was perfectly cooked, and I had good responses from our guests. My friends and colleagues who attended the wedding are still talking about the day and I owe thanks to their lovely staff.
We had a complimentary bridal suite, it was spacious and the bed was very soft and comfortable. It would've be nice to have a small bottle of bath soap there or shampoo like on other hotels but other than that, it was terrific!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bernicebread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent wedding. We are delighted that you choose Greenwoods as the venue for your very special day and Kelly and our team were thrilled with your positive feedback.
We enjoy hosting occasions such as yours as our staff do their utmost to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable day with us celebrating with their friends and family.
Our marquee is very popular and looks very pretty with its black and white dance floor and star-lights.
We are so pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your experience, the room and food and found our staff attentive. We have recently introduced a new chef to our team, who has a fabulous background in events catering and we look forward to introducing new menus as the year progresses.
On behalf of Kelly and all the staff at Greenwoods we wish you a very happy life together and hope that we will see you on your anniversary next year; if not before.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Visited Greenwoods for a spa day experience which was bought as a gift for us. The spa is set within a gorgeous estate. Thoroughly enjoyed the facilities which have just been renovated. The booking included a mini facial which I thought would only last 10mins but in fact was 20mins which was great. We had lunch in their new juice bar which was nice although I would recommend you eat in the restaurant if you would like something a bit more special. I would also recommend that you book a treatment or take a good book as once you have used the gym, pool and sauna there is not much else to do but relax.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Eroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review of our spa. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your day and have been impressed with our recent renovations. We are delighted that you opted to eat in our brand new snack bar, which we added after requests from many of our guests who wanted someone to relax and not get changed to use. We are glad to be offering the choice and our fabulous new-look restaurant has received lots of positive feedback from our guests.
I do hope that other users find your review helpful and that you will come back soon to see even more improvements for yourself.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have stayed at Greenwoods on many occasions with various people and have always had a brilliant experience. With our previous visits in mind there was no doubt about where we would hold our wedding reception as food, staff, grounds and general ambiance are fantastic.

When staying at the hotel I had on a number of occasions mentioned to my family/friends that the hotel, although beautiful, could gain from some small refurbishment works to freshen the look. I was delighted to find out that the new owner had immediate plans to do so and so far the transformation is great.

We held our wedding reception in the marquee in June (after a couple of years of planning with the fantastic co-ordinator Kelly) and could not fault Greenwoods or the staff at all. We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful meal the evening before the wedding and were very well looked after for the entirety of our stay. The wedding breakfast and buffet were delicious and well presented, the marquee was set up stunningly by Kelly and our suppliers and the staff were extremely friendly and attentive. The hotel was booked out by our guests and all commented on how lovely Greenwoods is as a venue.

One of the reasons that we chose Greenwoods was due to the fact that they hold only one event per day and this makes it very appealing to anybody planning a wedding/party. We have never experienced any issues with the staff, food or cleanliness and we would be the first to complain if this was the case.

All in all I must commend Greenwoods and it's staff (especially Kelly), not only for always providing us with an enjoyable stay but, for helping us have our dream wedding day.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetie23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your past experiences and recent wedding with us at Greenwoods. We are delighted that you choose us as the venue to celebrate your special day and are so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your day and the lead up to it.
Our staff work hard to ensure that our guests have a first-class experience and Kelly takes great pride in her work and always goes the extra mile for her wedding guests as you have noticed.
Our new owners have renovated much of the hotel and spa already and our next step is the bedrooms which will be started shortly.
We have upgraded our service, menus and facilities for the benefit of our loyal customers and it is a pleasure to be receiving so much good feedback.
We do hope that you will come back and visit us again soon- to celebrate your 1st anniversary or another special occasion and see the rest of the improvements.
On behalf of all the staff at Greenwoods, we would like to congratulate you on your wedding and wish you a very happy life together.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stock
4.0 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
8.6 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
741 reviews
16.0 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
613 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
376 reviews
17.3 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Hotel & Spa

Address: Stock Road, Stock CM4 9BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Stock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Price Range: £143 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenwoods Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenwoods Hotel is a converted 17th Century Grade II listed manor house with 39 exclusive bedrooms. Other features include beautifully landscaped gardens, an AA rosette awarded restaurant serving exquisite food and a sumptuous lounge bar with an original fireplace where traditional afternoon tea is served. The luxurious spa and leisure facilities include a gym with the very latest Life Fitness interactive equipment, 20m lap heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Greenwoods recently underwent a multi-million pound refurbishment programme, resulting in a fabulous new-look spa, brand new bedrooms, gardens and public areas. We plan our special events with expert attention to detail and care: whether you're searching for the perfect venue for your wedding or corporate event - Greenwoods has everything you need to make your event a success - and more. A warm welcome, exquisite menus and attentive service await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenwoods Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwoods Estate Spa And Retreat Hotel Stock
Greenwoods Estate Hotel And Retreat
Greenwoods Estate Stock
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa Essex/Stock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing