We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our visit to the Crown Plaza Resort Five Lakes. 20th December 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our visit to the Crown Plaza Resort Five Lakes. 20th December 2013”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Our company Christmas party has been held here for the last three years now which includes a four coarse Christmas meal which is paid for by my company.The food was nice but we left all the veg which were hard and under cooked , did not complain as i didn't pay for it. I always book a King room for the night which is on the village part of the complex i paid £100.00 this included breakfast for two and cancellation insurance. We love the size of this room it has a huge comfy bed and all the luxury fittings. A huge double shower and a bath and plenty of soft white towels. The staff are the most helpful and polite i have ever come across, from the reception to the bar staff. The English buffet breakfast was high quality and cooked really well i was really hungry so i went up three times. There is so much choice for breakfast from fresh muffins,pastries,fruit,cold meat ,cheeses,cereal's etc it would take all day to list. The waitresses kept us topped up with fresh coffee and were so friendly. My Wife and i love the Crown Plaza its a place where you can go and really relax, we are going too book a night and breakfast as a treat next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
First of all, thank you so much for awarding Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes top marks of five stars.

We appreciate very much indeed your lovely feedback and we are extremely pleased that you found your accommodation in the Village well appointed and so comfortable.

Our team members will be most proud that you found them all to be helpful and polite.

English breakfast at Five Lakes is always a delicious occasion and as you have said, we offer an extensive choice and we are very pleased that your enjoyed breakfast with us.

We are delighted to read that you will be returning during the course of 2014 and another warm welcome awaits you.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    449
    303
    183
    158
See reviews for
250
442
22
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Really nice and peaceful a bit too peaceful for me how ever , I ate in the restaurant really nice and good portions , drank wine in the bar good quality but a bit pricey all in all would go back and would enjoy it, would love to revisit in summer and try the golf as that looks really good

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank burn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and also your most favourable comments regarding your dining experiecne and the quality of the wine.

Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes is a fantastic hotel to visit all year round but in summer the hotel grounds look so beautiful and would be the perfect time to play golf too.

Looking forward to welcoming you back then.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My wife's company had the pleasure of holding their company Xmas party at this hotel and we were looking forward to spending the weekend there.
When we arrived at our room in the village part of the resort out first thoughts were very impressive spacious room comfy bed big bathroom things then started to go down hill.
Firstly as we started to get ready the shower didn't work the connection was broken and water just poured down the wall and over the bathroom floor we were on a deadline and didn't have time to either report the problem at the time or wait for someone to fix it.

We arrived at our inclusive crown plaza Xmas party the quality of the food was very average at best vegetables so hard I doubt if they had been cooked at all.

The breakfast debacle followed the next morning with two rooms being used as according to the restaurant manager there was an unusually high number of people at the hotel?? It's a hotel how can you not cater for the guests you have staying there ??

We had to wait for food even after repeated requests would have expected better for a breakfast that cost over £16 per person.

We found the staff at the spa unhelpful uninterested and very unwelcoming.

On returning we also found that on pre registering my debit card for xtras my account had been debited to the tune of £100 even though I settled the bill on leaving the hotel.

When subsequently discussed I was told by a member of staff this was common practice in all hotels (really!!)

Never had this happen to me before.


On complaining. The reply I received probably examined the poor quality of service we receive.

There are much cheaper hotels with less stars that offer a much higher quality of service and friendliness.

I would not stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xmaarkyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes, although I can confirm that we have held many successful Christmas parties at the Resort duirng the last few weeks and have received many positive comments.

However, I confirm that I shall be responding to your email of 13 December 2013 personally.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tolleshunt Knights hotels

Show Prices
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband and I recently attended a work Christmas party at this hotel and stayed overnight. On the whole we had a very enjoyable time and we were impressed with our room and the service. The check-in was friendly and efficient and our room was quite spacious and very clean. The bathroom was on the small side but perfectly adequate for a short stay and well equipped with a range of complimentary toiletries. The party (in the Wallasea Suite) was well organised and the food was good considering the hotel were catering for a group in excess of 100 people. The grounds are very pretty indeed and even in the depths of December the view from our window was gorgeous. I imagine the gardens would be spectacular in Spring/Summer and a perfect setting for a wedding. I would have happily given the hotel 5 stars but breakfast was a let down. We arrived at the restaurant at about 9.45 am and the queue to get a table was snaking out of the door into the lobby area. After waiting 10 minutes someone from the hotel came to tell us to go to another side lounge for breakfast, where we would be served exactly the same food with no queue. When we got there we found we still had to queue for a table and in fact the only difference was that the people who had been at the front of the queue at the restaurant were now at the back of the queue!! Also, several of the food trays / jugs were empty and wern't replenished until a good 15/20 mins later when we were leaving, so there wasn't any bacon or sausages, fruit juice etc for us. The bread selection was poor too and there were no pastries. To give the hotel their due, they were very busy at the time we visited but I still think the breakfast could have been organised a bit better organised and hence my 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden have a beautiful view and are very quiet for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelliekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review of your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and we are delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas Party.

Breakfast can be quite busy on some mornings, particularly when large numbers of guests all arrive for breakfast at a similar time, which in turn impacts the service and causes delay. However, we take on board your comments and please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in the not too distant future and thank you again for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Held the office party on Friday 6th December following last years success at the same venue.
The Rushley Suite was a lovely sight to behold after being decorated for Christmas by Hotel staff. Food was good and plentiful and all staff helped to make it a night to remember.
The rooms were a very good standard and the Hotel is cleaned to a high level.
Hopefully will be able to book soon for Christmas 2014 !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
We are delighted that your annual Christmas Party at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes was an enjoyable and memorable occasion and we were able to deliver the experience you have always enjoyed.

Fantastic comments like yours, make it all worthwhile and our team members will be very proud indeed, that again we met all your expectations and delivered a fantastic evening for all.

Looking forward to seeing you again next year and we wish you the Season’s Greetings.

Kind regrds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my 40th birthday with 13 friends at the end of October.

Rooms:
Excellent rooms, lovely soft mattresses and everything you needed to hand.

Restaurant:
We had the buffet option, was great with a good mix of meals to choose from, friendly and courteous staff.

Bars:
Not overly expensive at £4 a pint.

Reception:
There is a young lady who works behind reception who can come across as quite rude and abrupt, which I took offence to at first, but it seems that is just her personality.....once used to it, it was quite comical.

Golf Courses:
Links - standard parkland course with a bit of water, ok for all golfers....kept in good condition.
Lakes - main course, immaculate and very challenging. Enjoyed by all.

Overall, we will return in the future!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 5 December 2013

We are delighted to receive your comments following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and we appreciate your point by point overview of our facilities and appreciate the positive feedback.

It is clear that you had a great time and we are looking forward to welcoming you all back to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in 2014.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spent one night (midweek) at the hotel and it was fab from start to finish. We made full use of the pool and health club facilities and also had a great treatment in the spa. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel made a great base to go out for an evening meal and head out shopping after our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Although you visited in October 2013, we appreciate you taking the time to review your visit on Trip Advisor and appreciate very much indeed your high score of five stars.

I was pleased to note that you took advantage of all the facilities available at the Resort and was further pleased that you enjoyed your well appointed accommodation. Our staff continue to receive wonderful feedback and we appreciate your support of our team members also.

We hope to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in the not too distant future. Thank you again for choosing our resort as your destination.

ith kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
532 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
756 reviews
9.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
6.6 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
181 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Lakes Hotel, Golf, Country Club and Spa is a 4 star hotel offering some of the finest and most extensive health, leisure and sports facilities in the area. Set in 320 acres the 194 en-suite bedrooms overlook the attractive countryside and each is spacious and comfortably furnished. There is a choice of restaurants and bars. Leisure facilities include a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and well-equipped gym. Golfers will enjoy the two 18-hole courses. Only an hour from London, and Stansted Airport, the hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Essex/Tolleshunt Knights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing