We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I had a great 4 day stay all the staff were excellent they even help with any dinner queries (ie spicy or non spicy foods which is important to some of us) soooo helpful.

The barman Leigh always went that extra mile and made you feel special nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and I am delighted that you had a most enjoyable visit and your dietary requirements were catered for.

Your favourable comments regarding Leigh are most appreciated and you can be sure that your feedback will be passd on to him.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    431
    291
    177
    154
See reviews for
234
427
22
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed for 1 night at the Crowne Plaza Colchester Five Lakes, One night too long!
Did not enjoy the Urine stained sheets and covered in hairs (see pics)

Took nearly two hours to have room and beds re-cleaned/changed.

Manager was very defensive and offered little apology - in fact came up with poor excuses!

Next time you stay - check under your sheets!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrJacksonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear MrJacksonUK,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I humbly extend an apology for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tolleshunt Knights hotels

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Two great nights, reasonably priced and lovely food and service throughout. Spa was great and just what we needed and all the staff were very helpful which is rare in big hotels. Room was fabulous, very comfy, very quiet and lovely view.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecram73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Your feedback is truly appreciated and I am happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found so many positive elements.

I am delighted that the great food, accommodation, spa and the service you received from our dedicated team members all contributed to an enjoyable visit.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in the not too distant future.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

A group of us booked a spa day for my mother in laws 60th Birthday, its a very nice hotel in a country side setting, Lunch in the Brasserie was the highlight of our day, although it felt short staffed when it came to serving drinks, a young man, Joe, very good and doing his very best serving every one in the restaurant, he made us all feel very welcome and a credit to the place. We were very impressed with the lunch time selection too.
The only real down side to the day was the pool area, it was very cold and not very relaxing, I think there is real room for improvement here, we gave up and didn't get to use the area at all and opted to sit in the bar instead, so a bit disappointed, but other than that we did have a nice day and the staff at the spa were very friendly too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morcs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
It was most kind of you to share your feedback on Trip Advisor and following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes and we are very pleased to read that your celebratory visit was enjoyable and your positive comments regarding Joe from the restaurant and our spa staff are noted and will be shared with their respective managers.

I am sorry to read your feedback regarding the pool area and we thank you for your constructive comments, which in turn will be shared with the country club manager.

I do hope that you have an opportunity in the future to return to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

With knid regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Me and partner booked a two night spa break. The room we booked was lovely, massive bed, bottle of wine waiting for us, golf view.
We then went down for our evening meal which was pre-booked and included in the price of our stay. The restaurant was not busy however the food took ages to arrive. The staff were very pleasant & helpful & the food itself was nice but we waited nearly an hour for our main course.
The second disappointment were our spa booking, they had got the times wrong so my 3pm treatment was booked in for 5pm. Thought we could kill a couple of hours in the pool, steam room etc.. Well it was like going to your local grotty swimming baths. Horrible, it was cold, the changing rooms were hideous, even the jacuzzi was cold, plastic garden chairs/beds along the poolside. Did not make me feel relaxed at all!
The hole layout of the spa/pool was weird, felt like maze.
All in all the hotel side was lovely but the spa massively lye it down & I was so disappointed with the spa that I would not come back. Very disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
It is appreciated that you have taken the time to review your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and please accept my apologies for the challenges you have highlighted within your feedback.

I regret to read of the service shortfalls you have detailed in your review. It is in our interests to ensure that our valued guests have a most enjoyable visit and going forward your feedback will be shared with the appropriate managers, so that similar situations do no occur in the future. Again, I am sorry that your visit did not entirely meet your expectations.

We do hope that you might reconsider returning to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and should that occasion arise, we look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I booked an upgraded Club room for our first night away from our little girl in 7 years to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had visited the hotel previously I believe about 7 and a half years ago as I remember being pregnant!

We checked into our Club bedroom which was lovely with a nice view, unfortunately there was a problem with the air con/heating. Reception advised us that it could not be fixed and they had no other club rooms available so we had to leave our lovely room with a sofa, 2 large windows, kingsize bed, dressing gowns and slippers! They told me I would be upgraded to a garden room. This was definitely not an upgrade, we had to walk out in the rain to get to the room, the room was tiny with a double bed and there was no lovely view or dressing gowns and slippers!

We ate in the brasserie and the meal was lovely, as was our breakfast the next day. The food is always very nice at the hotel.

The spa is now a little dated and in need of some investment to bring it up to date and maintain it.

If you are booking a stay it is certainly worth upgrading to the Club Room as you get unlimited soft drinks/tea/coffee in the club lounge and between certain hours in the evening this includes wine and beer and the bedrooms are much nicer.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club room if you can....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmerryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes as your destination to celebrate your 40th birthday.

I note that there was a problem with the air con/heating in your accommodation and unfortunately, our engineers were unable to remedy it at that time and therefore, to ensure that you were comfortable we relocated you to another room and I am sorry that this room did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for commenting so favourably on your dining experience during your visit and I can assure you our Food & Beverage team will be delighted to read your feedback.

I do hope that you will return to Five Lakes one day in the not too distant future.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel on 27th April looking forward to the one night spa break that my Daughter had booked for us for my Mothers day gift. The first problem we encounter was the news that although my Daughter had booked the spa break costing £198.00 the hotel had not charged her credit card as she had asked.We were advised by the receptionist that we would have to pay the balance on our departure. Not wanting to course a scene we agreed to this and planned to sort it out later with my daughter which was very embarrassing.

We made our way to our room which was very nice with all we could ask for in a room and with some thoughtful little extras put in place such as sleep enhancing sprays.

We made a bee line for the spa area really looking forward to a relaxing couple of hours. To our surprise we had to walk right over to the other side of the hotel through the bar area where people were enjoying the football. We found the spa reception deskt after a while and were given towels that were more like hand towels than towels you could effectively dry yourself with. We were then told that we could get to the spa area through the gym which was most confusing. Once we got there we both agreed it was not worth the effort. The steam room and sauna were so tiny you felt like you were sitting on top each other. The pool was nice but it was so noisy in the pool area and no chance of getting in the jacuzzi it was full of people and again very small for the size of the hotel that clams to be a spa hotel.

Later on we went down to dinner, as we descended the stairs we could clearly see a member of management reprimanding a member of staff, not a pleasant atmosphere. We found the Brasserie which looked promising, nice eating area with candles and relaxing music.We arrived just five minuted early and were told by the person at the counter to come back in a few minutes as they were still stetting up the buffet. It would have been nice to have be shown to our table and offered a drink whilst we wait rather than being treated like an inconvenience. Dinner was nice apart from the luke warm vegetables. Although the staff were helpful they just seemed so unhappy and mechanical not the best atmosphere.

Not to be put off we made our way back to our room looking forward to a good nights sleep. Unfortunately this was not the case as the mattress was obviously in need of replacement and was sagging so we did not get much sleep.

In the morning we were really tired so skipped breakfast and headed straight for the treatment rooms looking forward to our treatments. We found the treatment to be fine but it would have been nice to be invited into a relaxation room afterwards but this was not the case.

we found the whole layout of the hotel very disjointed with very little thought being put into the convenience of the guests.

On checking out the receptionist showed very little interest in my concerns that my Daughter may have paid for the spa break, again very mechanical.

we won't be coming back, very poor value for money especially when there are other spa hotels in the area offering far superior facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes .

I appreciate very much the time you have taken to highlight some of the issues that were concerning to you during your stay and please accept my sincere apologies that your Spa Break did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Going forward, your constructive comments have been taken on board and have already been shared with the departmental managers so that appropriate resolves can be put in place to ensure that similar experiences do not occur in the future. We will obviously action resolves to any issues where we can impact satisfactory improvements, again thank you for your insight.

Thank you again for feedback and I do hope that you reconsider returning at some time in the not too distant future.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
13.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Lakes Hotel, Golf, Country Club and Spa is a 4 star hotel offering some of the finest and most extensive health, leisure and sports facilities in the area. Set in 320 acres the 194 en-suite bedrooms overlook the attractive countryside and each is spacious and comfortably furnished. There is a choice of restaurants and bars. Leisure facilities include a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and well-equipped gym. Golfers will enjoy the two 18-hole courses. Only an hour from London, and Stansted Airport, the hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Essex/Tolleshunt Knights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing