We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well set up hotel with extras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well set up hotel with extras”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed in the Village complex at Five lakes which is a series of detached blocks at one end of the Hotel. There is a normal hotel rooms in the main building as well but not able to comment on them. The arrangement was good meaning you felt more like you were in a house rather than a amorphous Hotel block. The only concern i had re this area was the mismatch between the number of rooms and the number of parking spaces nearby. It meant that if you arrived back late you had to park at the front of the hotel and walk a reasonable distance to get to the blocks. The facilities are excellent with a pool, gym, spa golf,squash etc all available. The staff were friendly helpful and service quick. I ate in the sports bar and the food was good and hot. It is a little of the beaten track so be prepared to travel a little way if you don't want to stay in the Hotel. There is nothing nearby and the nearest town is 3-5 miles away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
It is appreciated that you have taken time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that overall you were happy with your accommodation and all the facilities the hotel offers. There are over 500 parking spaces at the hotel and I am sorry that at times, parking near the Village complex was not always available to you. Thank you for commenting so positively on the service you received from our team members who provided an efficient service to you.
I do hope you have an occasion to return one day very soon.

With kind regards. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    435
    295
    179
    155
See reviews for
242
431
22
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had an excellent time at five lakes. Two very different golf courses. The lakes being the best. The hotel was brilliant and did not have to leave as had 3 different bars. Also the food in the restaurant was very nice with very helpful staff. Especially the lady who greats you (Aeysha).
all round 10/10.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgewildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much indeed for reviewing your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and in particular your high score of five stars - this is greatly appreciated. .

I am delighted that your stay was so very enjoyable and I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I organised a weekend break for a group of friends (14 adults, 5 children and a baby !!) as a surprise birthday celebration.
I chose Five Lakes because of its facilities (Golf, Spa, swiming pool, Tennis, squash & badminton courts, table tennis, pool and a separate snooker room and even a Night club !! Enough to entertain our sporty group of friends and children alike.
From the very beginning then staff were excellent, particularly Harpreet the restaurant manager and his staff who co-ordinared our weekend so everything ran smoothly.
They housed all our party in one village house , with cots and sofabeds so we could keep an eye on the children and it felt like our own private home, there was even parking just outside !
We played games during the day and made use of lunch brasserie.
On the Saturday night we had surprise champagne reception in the lobby for the birthday boy and were seated in Catch 22 Fine dining restaurant for dinner.
Everything was arranged in advance, including staff to serve drinks and the table and room beautifully decorated.
We were even seated in the same room for our breakfast the next morning.
The whole experience felt like a private event and our friend had a wonderful time. I cannot recommend the service, staff and hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sesh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes for a birthday celebration.

It is clear to me that we met and exceeded all your expectations and ensured that your visit was a most memorable occasion. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the many facilities that the hotel had to offer and thank you also for your positive comments regarding your accommodation and dining experience. I am so pleased that you had a most perfect visit.

We all hope very much indeed that you will return one day in the not too distant future.

Thank you again and kind regards. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The value for money we paid for this place was unreal! We came as a group of 4, paid £124 each and managed to do, and use so much, not to mention being four gents to see the sight of double beds each was fantastic and something we appreciated a lot! Food was top notch, golf was as we expected really good, and the spa we could use was great. We did find £3.50 for a pint of coke pretty steep! Great stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 201Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It is most appreciated that you have taken the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor, following your recent golf weekend at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes.

I am delighted that you and your three colleagues found all elements of your visit to be fantastic. I do hope that you find an opportunity to return one day soon.

Thank you again and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
237 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Sent daughter here with her mate after she finished her assignments to end her degree course.

She fed back to me that that hotel was very nice. Decent sized room and very clean. She said they could do with a little updating but nothing to really complain about..

The facilities were first class and there was plenty to do.

The grounds around the hotel were also very nice.

She ate at the restaurant and again the food was top quality.

She will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Roni2047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes as the destination hotel for your daughter to enjoy some relaxing time.

It is rewarding to read that her experience at the hotel was an enjoyable one and that she found plenty to occupy her time.

We look forward to seeing her again in the not too distant future.

With Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel during the school holiday (29.05) with my daughter for swimming and lunch and it was perfect.
Exceptionally high standard of service and very very welcome feeling.
Went for lunch to the main restaurant - buffet lunch- was delicious. The hostess that seated and looked after us is a real asset for the hotel - very professional, friendly and attentive to every details.
Left the hotel feeling happy - it was only for a swim and lunch, but what a lovely place!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MsDi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It was kind of you to post your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes with your daughter and I am delighted that all aspects of your visit exceeded your expectations.

Our team members and management will be most proud to read your review and once again thank you.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a great stay at Five Lakes. We had room 117 and it was lovely, large, well decorated and extremely clean. I loved the extras like dressing gowns, and toiletries.
The staff were excellent, very polite and helpful. The food was excellent and we enjoyed a lovely evening meal and breakfast.
It was the first time we had stayed there, but will definitely be back and I would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for commenting on your first visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and I am very pleased indeed that your experience was such a positive one. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and the best customer service.

I note that you would definitely return and we look forward to welcoming you back on that occasion.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
17.4 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
9.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Lakes Hotel, Golf, Country Club and Spa is a 4 star hotel offering some of the finest and most extensive health, leisure and sports facilities in the area. Set in 320 acres the 194 en-suite bedrooms overlook the attractive countryside and each is spacious and comfortably furnished. There is a choice of restaurants and bars. Leisure facilities include a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and well-equipped gym. Golfers will enjoy the two 18-hole courses. Only an hour from London, and Stansted Airport, the hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Essex/Tolleshunt Knights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing