We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Facilities - a great time had by all!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Facilities - a great time had by all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is the best spa hotel i have stayed in. Excellent value for money, service and facilities. Enjoyed a full day and night at the hotel with spa package. treatments were wonderful, food was lovely, staff were helpful, friendly and on the ball. Will definitely be booking again. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 977clairef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and I am really pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing Five Lakes as your preferred hotel destination and looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    433
    291
    177
    154
See reviews for
237
427
22
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I recently stayed here as part of a group of around 20 people (annual work trip) we opted for a spa package and were blown away at how organised and wonderful this hotel was. Truly a fabulous stay and I wouldn't hesitate yo book another stay with my husband ASAP! Food was delicious (we opted for Buffett) rooms were clean, comfortable & quiet and the pool & spa facilities were top notch! 10/10 !!!!

Room Tip: Apparently rooms in the village are very quiet but I was in a standard room over the car park &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perfectly_Imperfect0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you most sincerely for your wonderful review of Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes, following your recent visit to enjoy a spa weekend.

I am glad to read that all elements of your visit met and exceeded your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Spent 3 days playing golf on the 2 courses, 5 lakes is the better course, but link is also good.
Rooms and facilities were excellent, the service in all areas really attentive, would be happy to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric_adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for awarding us a top score of five stars - thank you.

It is a pleasure to read that your golfing weekend was enjoyable and that the service you received from our team memebrs was helpful and attentive.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night whilst working locally.
I booked a room with 2 double beds and the room was large and spacious with a large TV and good choice of channels - Sky Sports included. The bathroom was large with separate bath and shower. The room was very clean and modern and the beds very comfortable. The air con was very good and enabled me to get a great nights sleep.
The only disappointment was the food.
I ate in the bar in the evening and found the menu to be very limited in terms of choice. Whilst the food was good, portions were small and overpriced. Also, the bar lacked air con and it was very warm.
Breakfast was buffet style with a great selection of food, I had bacon on toast but the bacon was very poor quality, mostly fat. Again, no air con (or turned off) so the room was very warm.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank bsnsjone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes, I was pleased to note that your enjoyed the comfort of your well appointed, accommodation.

I am sorry that your dining experience did not entirely meet your expectations and can assure you that your comments have already been shared with our Food & Beverage Manager and Head Chef, who appreciate receiving constructive feedback from our valued guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and we do hope that you will return soon.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This resort is superb, the place is spotless, they have Sky Sports and a great 2 golf courses, food is brilliant and Kelly the bar manager is brilliant, professional, caring and beautiful - super hotel

Room Tip: 213 is spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Big_G069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I am most pleased that your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes was a positive and enjoyable experience. Furthermore, it was most thoughtful of you to comment so positively on Kelly and the fantastic service you received from her and you can be sure your comments will be shared with her Manager.

We do hope that you return to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in the foreseeable future.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Came here for a spa weekend with a friend after final year exams. The location is beautiful and peaceful, the rooms are nice and spacious and the club lounge was always stocked with nice treats. Dinner at the restaurant was nice and Matt Allum made sure we were well looked after.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the club room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mouthie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I am most appreciative that you have taken the time to post your positive feedback on Trip Advisor and it is clear to me that we met all your expectations during your time with us.

Meanwhile, I will ensure that your comment regarding Matt’s helpfulness is passed on to him and his manager.

I do hope that you will return one day very soon .

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

6 of us stayed on Saturday 31st May. I must say the hotel has improved since our stay last year. Food was good and company even better:-)) disco was brilliant, great music to dance the night away too. I can say for myself and friends who stayed with me we are very much looking forward to our next stay. Oh and my full body message was very relaxing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I am most appreciative that you have taken the time comment on Trip Advisor and also awarded us five stars - thank you.

I am so pleased that your visit was such an enjoyable one for all of your party and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
13.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Property: Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Lakes Hotel, Golf, Country Club and Spa is a 4 star hotel offering some of the finest and most extensive health, leisure and sports facilities in the area. Set in 320 acres the 194 en-suite bedrooms overlook the attractive countryside and each is spacious and comfortably furnished. There is a choice of restaurants and bars. Leisure facilities include a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and well-equipped gym. Golfers will enjoy the two 18-hole courses. Only an hour from London, and Stansted Airport, the hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG and Superbreak UK so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Essex/Tolleshunt Knights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing