We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Colchester Feering(Feering)(Great Value!)
US$73
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Le Bouchon Hotel(Heybridge)
US$147
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Limes(Maldon)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Colchester(Eight Ash Green)
US$98
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,730)
Filter reviews
1,730 results
Traveller rating
493
500
346
212
179
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
500
346
212
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa treatmentslazy sundaya la carte menubuffet styleleisure facilitieslight lunchsauna and steam roomlinks courseplay golfgolf breakexecutive roomgreat weekendovernight stayfull body massagebrasseriegymsquash
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,035 - 1,040 of 1,730 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent a weekend at the hotel. arrived late on Friday and got a family suite which i would say was ideal for us. The whole aim was to get away for a weekend somewhere not too far from home and just forget the worries of 9-5.
It was a brilliant place to relax and forget about ones worries and was brilliant place to sit out on the golf course and just reflect on ....errr....nothing.
Disappointingly, no activities locally to enjoy other than the in-house night club and good food and drinks. All in all, we were almost completely satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes as your weekend destination to relax and I am delighted to read that you did just that.

At the hotel, we have a wide choice of facilities for guests to enjoy, ranging from our heated swimming pool, spa bath, sauna and steam room. Guests can book and take part in spin, aerobics or aqua classes. We have a fully equipped free weights studio and also our other gym has Technogym cardiovascular equipment. Squash and outdoor tennis courts are also available. If guests wish to jog or walk , we have route guides for that purpose. Not forgetting table tennis, pool and snooker and of course golf and a golf driving range. The local community is diverse and interesting and our helpful front office team members are always willing to access information on local events.

I do hope that you will take the opportunity to return and enjoy some of the above one day in not too distant future.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Arrived on a Friday night and stayed just one night but could have done with an extra night in the comfy bed! Cocktails were amazing, food was delicious and the staff were exceptional, really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and relaxed.
Had a great spa treatment on the Saturday and only complaint is that I wasn't staying for longer! Really looking forward to going back again with husband and friends to have a relaxing weekend and maybe even get the trainers out for a game of squash while the boys play golf.
Had a look at all the meeting space whilst I was there and feel inspired, exceptional space for meetings, weddings and private functions. Can't wait 'til the new Grill Restaurant opens either!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleBurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Staff and management alike at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes are immensely proud to receive yet another five-star review and please accept my gratitude that you have taken the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to read that your visit was a thoroughly enjoyable one; when you took the opportunity to use and enjoy many of our facilities and dining outlets.

Thank you for mentioning the fantastic space we have for meetings, weddings, exhibitions and private functions and with the newly refurbished meeting rooms this makes choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes an obvious choice for events.

The new Grill Room is soon to be launched and please visit our website for further updates on this fantastic new restaurant.

Thank you again for your lovely comments.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at Five Lakes on the 1st August. Fantastic Location and venue.
Staff professional and friendly. Spa amazing and good food!
Rooms really comfortable and also great meeting or wedding potention!
Ticks all the right boxes, would definately recommend anyone a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for awarding us five stars following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes - this is praise indeed.

Your brief review indicates to me that you had a thoroughly, enjoyable time at the hotel and I am grateful that you would recommend us to others.

Thank you and with kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel for three nights. We were in a king suite in the Village which is behind the hotel. We had our father in law with us who uses a walking stick but were not advised by the staff that it was a distance from the main hotel, if we were aware we would have driven him up there. The rooms are very spacious and clean, the bed was so big and comfortable, the bathroom was huge, however the room was extremely hot, there is no air conditioning although there were fans they did not help. We had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night and the food was excellent. We had ordered a wake up call for early Sunday morning which we unfortunately did not receive. Also disappointed that you had to pay for internet, movies and TV.

Room Tip: Be specific in any requirements you might have, especially if it is in the king Suites i.e ground floor
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anthonydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Our reception staff are always keen to ensure that they are helpful and accommodating to all our guests. Our Village rooms are a few minutes walk from the main hotel and please accept my apologies if our reception staff were remiss in not mentioning that these rooms do have their own parking bays and therefore, your father in law could have been driven to his room.

I am glad that you found your accommodation well appointed although I am disappointed to read that you felt some discomfort in your room due to the recent hot spell and the fans were ineffective.

I am glad that your dining experience was excellent and our Head Chef will be very pleased to read your comment as will our Restaurant Manager.

I am sorry that you did not receive your wake-up call and due to the anonymous nature of Trip Advisor postings, I am unable to investigate this matter further.

I do hope that you will choose to return to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in the future. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards#

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The most comfortable bed .. ever !
Large room and great views over the Essex countryside. Staff were very welcoming and the hospitality was superb
An amazing property with spa treatments available, squash and tennis courts, pool and gym.. ideal for a 'getaway weekend' plenty to do but also lots of areas with seating to just relax, both indoors and out
Free wifi, all the newspapers, great food
Going back to try the new grill restaurant opening soon
A great place for a weekend break
Out in the country so a car needed to get there

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SoniaTolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

How kind of you to take the time to comment so positively following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and I am glad that your experience was so enjoyable. Thank you for the five stars you have awarded us. The hotel boasts many great facilities and I thank you for mentioning them.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at some time soon. Thank you again for your lovely feedback.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews