We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights starting on the Saturday night. We arrived around 4 pm and tried to book a table in the main restaurant but no tables were available until 9.30pm! Instead we ate in the bar from the limited food menu. It was quite good but a little on the expensive side. We booked a table in the restaurant for Sunday evening. You could choose from the menu or a 3 course buffet option for £24.95. We opted for the buffet. The salad starter bar was very good but the main meal choices were uninspiring (cottage pie, hunters chicken or fish) with a poor selection of vegetables. The dessert selection was OK but a bit limited in choice. It was not worth £24.95.

We stayed in a club executive room which included access to the club lounge where you could get complimentary hot and soft drinks all day and wine and beer between 6pm and 8pm. It also included a light breakfast. The hot drinks machine was out of order for the entire length of our stay and you had to go to the bar to request hot drinks. The breakfast consisted of cereals, pastries and chunks of fresh fruit. This would have been nice if it had been maintained and replenished. Every day we had to asked for milk for the cereal and other items had run out such as cutlery, fruit juice and pastries. Dirty dishes and empty cereal packets were left around the room. Certainly did not feel like an executive experience.

In general, we had a nice spacious comfortable room. The hotel has plenty of parking and the reception staff were very welcoming. It is a shame that the restaurant and club lounge were so disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LindiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your four night visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes.

Brasserie 1 is a very popular restaurant and we always advise our guests to book in advance to avoid disappointment and I am sorry that we did not have an earlier time for you to dine. However, I was pleased to read that you did dine in the restaurant the following evening, although from your feedback it appears that we did not quite meet your expectations on this occasion however, your comments are most definitely noted.

I take on board your feedback regarding the Club Lounge and please accept my apologies that this area was not monitored more regularly to ensure that all items were replenished in a timely fashion. Your comments have already been shared with the Food & Beverage Manager and he will ensure that this unusual lapse does not occur in the future.

Thank you again for your thoughts, as it is only by receiving constructive comments from our valued guests that we are able to strive to improve the product and service we offer.

I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights prior to going to another hotel near Harwich before a cruise.

We were in a standard king room and found that we were in the village complex just outside the main hotel. It is about a two minute walk from the main reception.

The room is very large considering it is a standard room. King size bed, settee, desk area and very large bathroom with a full size bath and separate shower. A Juliet balcony finished the room off with views over part of the golf course. The balcony doors were useful at night as we left them open due to no air con in the room. However, there was a portable air con system in the room along with a fan but these were noisy so leaving the doors open was preferable. One recommendation for the hotel would be to have net curtains that close separately to the main curtains so that there is some privacy when leaving the doors open.

Breakfast was good with a great choice of both hot and cold food including your standard cooked English breakfast foods as well as fresh fruit, pastries, jams, cereals and juices. If you found anything missing then you are just too fussy!!!

There is a full gym area along with squash courts, table tennis, and pool table. We used the swimming pool and sauna areas which were great.

We didn't eat there in the evening so can't comment.

All in all a very good hotel with spa facilities but best of all, if you want peace and quiet, it is in the middle of nowhere.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and I am grateful to have an insight into your stay.

I am glad that overall you were happy with your accommodation and large bathroom with separate shower; although I note that due to the recent hot spell, the portable air con system and fan did seem a little noisy in your room. Your constructive comment regarding the hanging of net curtains is something that we will consider and thank you for your suggestion.

Breakfast is always a delicious occasion and I am delighted that you enjoyed the variety offered.

The resort does boast some fantastic facilities and I do hope that you made the most of them whilst here.

I do hope you have an occasion to return one day to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent a weekend at the hotel. arrived late on Friday and got a family suite which i would say was ideal for us. The whole aim was to get away for a weekend somewhere not too far from home and just forget the worries of 9-5.
It was a brilliant place to relax and forget about ones worries and was brilliant place to sit out on the golf course and just reflect on ....errr....nothing.
Disappointingly, no activities locally to enjoy other than the in-house night club and good food and drinks. All in all, we were almost completely satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes as your weekend destination to relax and I am delighted to read that you did just that.

At the hotel, we have a wide choice of facilities for guests to enjoy, ranging from our heated swimming pool, spa bath, sauna and steam room. Guests can book and take part in spin, aerobics or aqua classes. We have a fully equipped free weights studio and also our other gym has Technogym cardiovascular equipment. Squash and outdoor tennis courts are also available. If guests wish to jog or walk , we have route guides for that purpose. Not forgetting table tennis, pool and snooker and of course golf and a golf driving range. The local community is diverse and interesting and our helpful front office team members are always willing to access information on local events.

I do hope that you will take the opportunity to return and enjoy some of the above one day in not too distant future.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Arrived on a Friday night and stayed just one night but could have done with an extra night in the comfy bed! Cocktails were amazing, food was delicious and the staff were exceptional, really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and relaxed.
Had a great spa treatment on the Saturday and only complaint is that I wasn't staying for longer! Really looking forward to going back again with husband and friends to have a relaxing weekend and maybe even get the trainers out for a game of squash while the boys play golf.
Had a look at all the meeting space whilst I was there and feel inspired, exceptional space for meetings, weddings and private functions. Can't wait 'til the new Grill Restaurant opens either!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleBurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Staff and management alike at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes are immensely proud to receive yet another five-star review and please accept my gratitude that you have taken the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to read that your visit was a thoroughly enjoyable one; when you took the opportunity to use and enjoy many of our facilities and dining outlets.

Thank you for mentioning the fantastic space we have for meetings, weddings, exhibitions and private functions and with the newly refurbished meeting rooms this makes choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes an obvious choice for events.

The new Grill Room is soon to be launched and please visit our website for further updates on this fantastic new restaurant.

Thank you again for your lovely comments.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at Five Lakes on the 1st August. Fantastic Location and venue.
Staff professional and friendly. Spa amazing and good food!
Rooms really comfortable and also great meeting or wedding potention!
Ticks all the right boxes, would definately recommend anyone a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for awarding us five stars following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes - this is praise indeed.

Your brief review indicates to me that you had a thoroughly, enjoyable time at the hotel and I am grateful that you would recommend us to others.

Thank you and with kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel for three nights. We were in a king suite in the Village which is behind the hotel. We had our father in law with us who uses a walking stick but were not advised by the staff that it was a distance from the main hotel, if we were aware we would have driven him up there. The rooms are very spacious and clean, the bed was so big and comfortable, the bathroom was huge, however the room was extremely hot, there is no air conditioning although there were fans they did not help. We had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night and the food was excellent. We had ordered a wake up call for early Sunday morning which we unfortunately did not receive. Also disappointed that you had to pay for internet, movies and TV.

Room Tip: Be specific in any requirements you might have, especially if it is in the king Suites i.e ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anthonydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Our reception staff are always keen to ensure that they are helpful and accommodating to all our guests. Our Village rooms are a few minutes walk from the main hotel and please accept my apologies if our reception staff were remiss in not mentioning that these rooms do have their own parking bays and therefore, your father in law could have been driven to his room.

I am glad that you found your accommodation well appointed although I am disappointed to read that you felt some discomfort in your room due to the recent hot spell and the fans were ineffective.

I am glad that your dining experience was excellent and our Head Chef will be very pleased to read your comment as will our Restaurant Manager.

I am sorry that you did not receive your wake-up call and due to the anonymous nature of Trip Advisor postings, I am unable to investigate this matter further.

I do hope that you will choose to return to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in the future. Thank you again for your review. Kind regards#

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The most comfortable bed .. ever !
Large room and great views over the Essex countryside. Staff were very welcoming and the hospitality was superb
An amazing property with spa treatments available, squash and tennis courts, pool and gym.. ideal for a 'getaway weekend' plenty to do but also lots of areas with seating to just relax, both indoors and out
Free wifi, all the newspapers, great food
Going back to try the new grill restaurant opening soon
A great place for a weekend break
Out in the country so a car needed to get there

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SoniaTolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

How kind of you to take the time to comment so positively following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and I am glad that your experience was so enjoyable. Thank you for the five stars you have awarded us. The hotel boasts many great facilities and I thank you for mentioning them.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at some time soon. Thank you again for your lovely feedback.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
5 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
598 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
939 reviews
6 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
250 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range: £56 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Lakes Hotel, Golf, Country Club and Spa is a 4 star hotel offering some of the finest and most extensive health, leisure and sports facilities in the area. Set in 320 acres the 194 en-suite bedrooms overlook the attractive countryside and each is spacious and comfortably furnished. There is a choice of restaurants and bars. Leisure facilities include a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and well-equipped gym. Golfers will enjoy the two 18-hole courses. Only an hour from London, and Stansted Airport, the hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Essex/Tolleshunt Knights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing