We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Distinctly average hotel - massively overpriced - beware ParkingEye scam” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
VXFoxy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Distinctly average hotel - massively overpriced - beware ParkingEye scam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Yes, the hotel and staff are nice but it's nothing special. £120 for a standard room is too much in my opinion and to charge £6 for 1 HOUR WI-FI is daylight robbery. £16 for breakfast is a joke!!
My room had noisy aircon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VXFoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_clifford_banks, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear VXFoxy,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us. Whilst I appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and staff, I'm sorry we have failed to meet your expectations regarding the wifi and breakfast pricing.

We do offer standard room rates which include breakfast as well as superior room rates which include internet charges and car parking. I'm sorry if these were unavailable on the night in question.Should you be looking to stay in the area again in the not too distant future please be sure to book as far in advance as possible to find the best deal.

Please also feel free to contact me directly at the hotel so I can welcome you personally and ensure your stay is comfortable and more fully meets your expectations.

Kind regards,

Seth Clifford-Banks
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    254
    143
    62
    64
See reviews for
144
188
24
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stebbing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Arranged to meet familly here for a meal. Phoned and told restaurant open till 5pm. Arrived at 4.10 to be told we should have booked, so ate in bar. A week later we have 2 parking tickets for 100 pounds each. Never imagined a hotel would charge for parking (and not tell you). My wife has organised conferances here for 30+ people before, NEVER AGAIN. David Aspin.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank david_aspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_clifford_banks, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Mr Aspin

Thank your for your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. I'm sorry to hear of your issue when trying to dine in our Thyme Restaurant. Whilst we do prefer to take reservations for Sunday lunch, especially after 3pm, we are also very happy to accept 'walk-in' diners at any time as long as we can accommodate the size of party. I am sorry we were not able to offer you a table in the restaurant on this occasion.

I am sorry also that you have received parking fines following your visit. Whilst there are charges for car parking, if you spend in excess of £10 in our bar or restaurant then you qualify for free parking. It is necessary however to register your car at our reception desk to avoid receiving a fine. This policy is displayed on our car park signs as well as on table tent cards within the bar. I am sorry however that you were not made aware or this policy. If you have not done so already, please refrain from paying this fine and contact the hotel's Personal Assistant Jan Goodall (jan.goodall@marriotthotels.com or 01992 717170) with the details of your fine and bar receipt and we will ensure the fine is reversed.

Kind regards,

Seth Clifford-Banks
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waltham Abbey hotels

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

One of the best marriotts I have ever stayed in, reception perfect, room massive and very comfy, restaurant amazing (half a lobster for only £13) bar staff like being in a 5 star Central London hotel.

Ignore the bad comments.

You pay for parking in 90% of hotels these days and it's only £4 for 24 hours

£99 bed and breakfast bargain!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just to follow on from previous reviews...

Took my mother who has a disabled blue badge and forgot to register at the front desk of hotel

To my horror a week later I receive a 100 pound fine in the post !!!!

Spoke to hotel who didn't seem that bothered .... Leaves a very bitter taste

Will not be coming back or recommending

If this hotel was situated in central London I could understand the parking policy.... Given the actual location it's absolute disgrace to even charge for parking let alone 100 pounds fine !!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonb930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_clifford_banks, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Jonb930,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us earlier this month.

I am very sorry to hear that you have received a parking fine following your visit. As you may know car parking is complimentary for blue badge holders, however you are required to register your vehicle with our Front Desk team.

If you have not done so already, please refrain from paying this fine and contact the hotel's Personal Assistant Jan Goodall (jan.goodall@marriotthotels.com or 01992 717170) with the details of your fine and blue badge and we will ensure the fine is reversed.

Kind regards

Seth Clifford-Banks
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tibenham, Norwich
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night earlier this month. The hotel and room were fine, but I really do object at having to pay extra to park my car there and to use the internet. The hotel is just off the M25 in Waltham Abbey. How else are people going to get there? If they must make a charge for parking then why not include it in the bill? As for the Internet, I find it extraordinary in the second decade of the 21st century that a hotel is making a huge charge - £6 for an hour? It spoiled an otherwise pleasant stay.
What made it really worthwhile was the restaurant - see separate review

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_clifford_banks, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Alan H,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and in particular the food.

I am sorry you were not happy about our charges for internet and car parking. Whilst we do charge for internet use in our bedrooms, it is free in all our public areas (bar, restaurant, lobby) and also it is included if you book a Superior room.

As you rightly point out, car parking is also chargeable, however we have kept the overnight charge to a minimal £4. As with the internet we do also include this in all Superior room bookings.

Kind regards,

Seth Clifford-Banks
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Marriott for a friend's wedding, the hotel itself was typical standard for a marriott, nice and clean, a little annoying having to pay for parking. We ate in the hotel restaurant for breakfast and 1 evening meal, the breakfast selection was good and the staff were kind enough to let us come for breakfast 30mins after it was supposed to be closed on the first day (we hadn't realised breakfast was included in the rate- perhaps the front desk could have informed us upon check-in) Overall the hotel was pretty good, the concierge was extremely helpful with the HUGE amount of luggage we had which was much appreciated. One of our friend's was also extremely impressed when, upon realising he had forgotten to bring a belt for the wedding one of the staff members lent him theirs! That's going above and beyond! One compliant would be the fact that I'm 99% sure I left both a camera charger and a rather expensive hair slide in the room but upon contacting the hotel I was informed nothing had been found, this was a little disappointing but my fault I suppose.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieannsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I have no real complaints about the hotel staff, food or quality of accommodation. Everything was good with one exception...£15 for 24 hours internet !!!!!!

The hotel would have scored much higher but in todays world this is far from acceptable. I would recommend getting a room close to the 'Public Areas' in order to access the free Wifi. The bandwidth is not massive and streaming would be difficult during busy periods (early evening).

Room Tip: Close to the public area is better for free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJThatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham Abbey
3.7 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.7 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
18.0 mi away
Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Enfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Property: Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Address: Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Waltham Abbey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Waltham Abbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxed elegance and modern convenience at the Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, helpful amenities and easy accessibility to Essex and Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waltham Abbey
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing